Looking for pointers on where to start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for pointers on where to start

At the moment I have a ton of devices/data working with other home grown software and a lot of it is available to me via MQTT. So my goal is to build an HS3 device interface to MQTT and get/set the device via that method. In the meantime I'll proceed with the samples that HS provides.

Can anyone make any suggestions to simplify a complex starting point? Is there one of the samples that would be better to start with ?

I'm using HS3 Beta under Linux (x86_64 at the moment). My dev env consists of emacs and the command line and I really don't want to switch to an IDE if I can get away with it. My background is C/Asm, Perl, Python, JS and many many more languages (typical Unix stuff). I'm just starting to learn C# and VB.net.

I found the HSPI_SAMPLE_BASIC to be the better of the three but it still could benefit from some commenting and/or simplification. I have built my plugins from this sample although if you were only getting/setting devices from another application then is the JSON interface not a possibility?

I know you say you don't want an IDE, I know it is possible to compile VB outside Visual Studio but I doubt using the samples will be straightforward if you start doing this if indeed it is possible. I think most would suggest using Visual Studio...I build all of mine in express.
    My Plugins:

Pushover 3P | DoorBird 3P | Current Cost 3P | Velleman K8055 3P | LAMetric 3P | Garadget 3P | Hive 3P |
    Yeelight 3P | Nanoleaf 3P

Comment

Thanks I'll start there. :-)

Actually I have been working with monodevelop. It helps solve the problem of being able to setup like my C and make env. I can't say that I like it (hey wheres the lisp? ).