Should I Upgrade My Hub

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I Upgrade My Hub

I've had a HomeTroller Pi hub for a couple of years and, generally, I'm happy, but I'm wondering if I should upgrade. I have 70 or 80 devices in my home, mostly Z-Wave, but I do integrate some other things. I have a few Zigbee devices (I have the Nortek Z-Wave/Zigbee stick in my Pi), I have a MyQ garage door controller and I use the HomeSeer MyQ plug-in, and I've done a bunch of Alexa integration too. I have quite a number of events, and I've also done some C# scripting for some specialty stuff (I've been a software engineer for over 40 years). I have enough events that when I go to the HS4 Events page, loading it is very slow.
    So, I'm wondering if I should upgrade. Should I upgrade to a HomeTroller Plus hub? Sometimes, in my Pi environment, Z-Wave commands fail and, as I mentioned, loading the HS4 events page is very slow. Would the HomeTroller Plus be helpful in this regard? I'm a bit leery of the Windows environment, but do you guys like that (my daily driver is a Mac, and my present work gig is doing a bunch of development on AWS Linux-based instances, so I'm pretty comfortable working with the Pi-based environment). How do you access the Windows box--through Windows Desktop Management? Does the Windows-based HS4 software behave differently than the Pi-based system? Would converting simply entail backing up my Pi-based environment and restoring that to the HomeTroller Plus? Or, should I get my own hardware and roll my own installation?

And should I consider HS4 Pro? Is there something to be gained with that?

Thanks for your help and consideration!