Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WiFi, Tasmota, MQTT…

Hi!

Looking for some help and tips from the community. I have decided to give WiFi devices a serious chance, after being disappointed with the Z-Wave “standard” several times, and the high price of Z-Wave in general.

So, I have ordered some stuff to play with. For starters, I will use Tasmota exclusively, because after watching a lot of YouTube movies, I believe this is the most comprehensive firmware available and it gives me the option to standardize all devices, regardless of brand and model, giving me the most flexibility and power. In a few weeks I will have everything available to flash my devices (using tuya-convert and by using the serial pins on those devices), and a few Shelly dimmers and switches.

For now, I only have 2 smart light bulbs (a small and large one, but technically the same) available, which I flashed with the latest Tasmota firmware (8.4.0). I started playing with them on my dev environment, see how it would integrate into HomeSeer using the mcsMQTT plugin. Let me start by saying that the plugin is great, thank you!

I just configured the bulb without any special configuration, just making sure the basic works from the web interface (which is on/off, dimmer and colortemp). So far so good. Then I configured MQTT with just the mcsMQTT IP address and went into the mcsMQTT configuration. Created a few associations and changed the “Control UI” to slider in the mcsMQTT config. Also set the Publish commands:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	879
Size:	292.4 KB
ID:	1411109

Now the Power and Dimmer works just fine. For the ColorTemp (which has a range of 153-500), I had to edit the association and use the following:

Name:	2.png
Views:	495
Size:	571.1 KB
ID:	1411110

And all works fine now. I can control the lights just fine, and status is being reported back instantly:

Name:	3.png
Views:	477
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	1411111