X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HSTouch for Home Theater

Greetings.

I just purchased the basics for my HA project with HSPro at the heart. I'm eagerly waiting for the various pieces to arrive so I can begin. My background is an IT professional with extensive expertise in networking, OS support, and basic scripting/programming. I can also handle basic graphics editing and use programs like Visio, PowerPoint, etc very proficiently.

I have a Harmony remote I use today to control everything via RF with an IR blaster in my cabinets. To me, handheld, button IR remotes seem antiquated while the expensive touch screen remotes such as those from URC and Sony seem like a waste of overly expensive hardware dedicated to a single use.

I currently plan to buy three or four Android mini-tablets as the primary control of my HA system via HSTouch. I'll have them dispersed around the house including the living areas where the TVs are. My desire is to use HSTouch as my only interface to my AV system using components such as those from Global Cache, Xantech, etc. With the exception of the TV and Blu-Ray player, all the other components are hidden out of sight in a dedicated equipment cabinet in a closet behind the hall. I have no need to send IR within the area itself.

Death to the universal remote and IR in the living room and media room!

Finally my question. Does HSTouch work well enough for control of an AV system to be the app for that? I know it WILL work but does it work WELL? I'd really like to hear opinions from those with multiple components and scenes that are using HSTouch today before I spend the money on the IR gear and extra mini-tabs.

If you're using another product that is Android compatible in conjunction with with HSPro, I'd like to hear about that, too. I know RedEye had some gear and software but they went out of business.

I'll appreciate any tips, advice, or suggestions you have.

Thanks!

-Shannon