Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What's better - the hub or PLM for connectivity?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's better - the hub or PLM for connectivity?

So I've been using Insteon for a few years now with HS3, and now moving to HS4, but I've always used the USB dongle for my network.

However, the dongle died at one point but I had a spare. At the time I looked around and it appeared that the dongle is EOL and no longer made, so I started researching other options, and it seems like there's only two: 1) PLM and 2) Hub.

In my opinion, just based on the technology, it seems like the hub would be the most reliable since, as I understand it, it plugs in to A/C and uses power line signaling, as well as an RF signal. I don't know if the PLM is dual band as well but I'd assume so.

But then there's all these stories about how the PLM only lasts 2-3 years and capacitors fry or something goes wrong and it has to be replaced.

Open to thoughts, I'm sterring towards the hub since I have a brand new one and I'd be migrating devices off the HS3/USB dongle setup to a new HS4 machine with the hub attached.

On a totally separate note I don't know if there's an easy way to migrate devices over one at a time. I plan on just deleting the device from the HS3 system and re-adding it into HS4 since the controller is changing.

I should add the main reason I'm considering the hub is that the hardware seems a lot newer than the PLMs I've seen out there, and it "seems" like a cleaner solution.

But then there's stories about hub users wanting to burn their hub after migrating to the PLM, so that's concerning :-)

Comment

you are right, the PLM is dual band

there is a function in the plugin to swap/replace the interface. it will reprogram all your devices and the new (hub or plm) with the necessary links. there are other posts on the subject.