This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Troubleshooting FanLinc

I have a FanLinc that isn't quite working and I'm fairly new to Insteon. I'm not sure where to start troubleshooting or what steps to take. The FanLinc is not communicating with the PLM (usb). Every time I test communication to the device I get 4 out of 4 failed.

I tried to factory reset it. The directions say it should beep X times and flash Y times, but it doesn't do that exactly. When you push the button the light does come on. All of my other Insteon devices are working.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Originally posted by jogentry View Post
    I have a FanLinc that isn't quite working and I'm fairly new to Insteon. I'm not sure where to start troubleshooting or what steps to take. The FanLinc is not communicating with the PLM (usb). Every time I test communication to the device I get 4 out of 4 failed.

I tried to factory reset it. The directions say it should beep X times and flash Y times, but it doesn't do that exactly. When you push the button the light does come on. All of my other Insteon devices are working.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    what kind of light bulbs are you controlling in the fan? fluorescent can cause noise which affects the insteon signal.

also, do you have another rf device close to the fanlinc? this may help comm.
    Mark

HS3 Pro 4.2.19.5
    Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | AD2USB for Vista Alarm | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway | Tuya Smart Plugs
    Plugins: Insteon (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 | Ultra1Wire3 | RFXCOM | HS MyQ | BLRadar | BLDenon | Tuya | Jon00 Charting | Jon00 Links
    Platform: Windows Server 2022 Standard, i5-12600K/3.7GHz/10 core, 16GB RAM, 500GB SSD

Comment

Originally posted by mnsandler View Post
      what kind of light bulbs are you controlling in the fan? fluorescent can cause noise which affects the insteon signal.