Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I publish different topics than my status values in the same device?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I publish different topics than my status values in the same device?

I’m new to MQTT and mcsMQTT. Thus far the combo seems extremely powerful but in spite of reading the manual, I can’t figure out how to create a single status/control device for my OpenEVSE EV charger (yes, technically it’s not a charger but I’m simplifying).

To date, I’ve successfully subscribed to openevse/status where I get 3 potential values. 0=Off, 1=On, 2=Charging and 254=Standby. I’ve created a device that nicely maps the numeric values to status text with graphics and all that.

Where I’m lost is that I want to be able to control the state of the EVSE. To do this, I need to publish to openevse/rapi/in/$FE to turn the EVSE ON, and publish to openevse/rapi/in/$FS to put it to sleep (no payload in either of these cases).

I could probably do this via HS events but I feel like there’s a way to do it in mcsMQTT but I can’t seem to get there. I can publish OFF/ON/STANDBY or 0/1/254 to openevse/rapi/in but can’t equate these to arbitrary topics like openevse/rapi/in/$FE and publishing the text or value is ignored by the device.

In an ideal world, I’d have a single “Toggle” button that sends the $FE when in standby, and $FS when on, but I’d settle for an ON button and a SLEEP button that hit the correct topic.

Thanks for any help!

What I see the difficulty to be is that the topic also contains the payload. The device reports status in the payload, but appears to ignore the payload in the ../in/... topic.