Devices RGB Color Picker works but events won't publish color

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Devices RGB Color Picker works but events won't publish color

Greetings. My trouble is with the RGB Color Picker. I am new to RGB lights and not really sure which is the proper way to set this up.

The Power and Dimmer devices are fully functional in events and seem to works well. The Color device color picker works as expected and colors look correct. Nothing is published when I use the Color device within an event. HS event drop down offers a range between -2147483648 to -2147482649 but I do not see anything published in MQTT Explorer. The Status values also do not seem to correspond or convert to the hex color value.
    Thanks for your help

Click image for larger version

Name:	Cap22.PNG
Views:	56
Size:	117.1 KB
ID:	1426364

Name:	Cap23.PNG
Views:	30
Size:	322.2 KB
ID:	1426365

Name:	Cap24.PNG
Views:	31
Size:	48.2 KB
ID:	1426366

I notice the same thing and confirmed with a breakpoint that HS4 never calls the plugin when an event action is executed with a color picker type device. Suggest that a bug report be submitted.

What you can do is use Send MQTT Message action rather than a Control Device action. The syntax of this action is Topic=Payload. Look at what is sent as MQTT message by the Color Picker control and use it as the Topic and Payload in the action. Then change the color value of the payload from the specific one on that message to a more generalized one using the event substitution variables. Likely $$DVRref):

The problem that will occur, however, is that HS provides a number and you will likely want a #RRGGBB format for this number. I would need to add an expression function to convert to this format.

Comment