Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

room-assistant and mcsMQTT

Hello All,

I've recently decided to start experimenting with room-assistant (from the Home Assistant team) and mcsMQTT. I've been using the BLE integration of mcsMQTT for a few months runing BLEMQTT on a Raspberry Pi Zero, but am looking into room-assistant Introduction | room-assistant as a potential replacement for a couple of reasons:

BLEMQTT has been unreliable on my Raspberry Pi Zero, requiring a restart about once a week.
    room-assistant supports not only BLE but also standard Bluetooth device discovery (what they refer to as Bluetooth Classic) as well as GPIO pins and shell commands, passing everything back to MQTT.

Fortunately, Home Assistant isn't a requirement, MQTT integration is drectly supported as well. The intent of this software is to have multiple instances per room, and your presence will track from room to room using Bluetooth or BLE. There are some youtube videos showing tracking an Apple Watch.

I've setup room-assistant on my Pi Zero, and setup the MQTT broker integration and am working through the many options and configurations. It seems pretty full featured.

Not knocking the direct BLE integration, I'm sure the issues I'm having with it are probably something I did wrong, but I was really interested in the standard bluetooth discovery as well as the BLE. I also may try the shell integration to get some RPI stats.

Thanks to Eman for pointing out this software on another thread.

What specific suggestions do you have for integration of this with mcsMQTT or HS? What install option are you using on RPi?

As an aside I did the room level position identification with the HS3 plugin and set of ESP32 or RPi To achieve trilateration. A rich UI was developed as well. Very little interest in this capability. Likely because of the need to install multiple ESP32/RPi to support the capability.

Comment