Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do groups play in sync, and can I manually setup speaker or cast groups?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do groups play in sync, and can I manually setup speaker or cast groups?

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Google Home and currently evaluating this plugin. I now have 5 Google Home devices. 1 Hub and 4 minis. I have reserved their IP addresses in my DHCP server and manually added them to the Chromecast.ini file. All seems well so far in regards to the plugin being able to send TTS to all of my devices.

The problem... When sending TTS to all devices, they all play at different times. And since a number of them are within earshot of one another, it's annoying.

I'm assuming I can send TTS to a speaker group, and that if I do that they will all play in sync. Is this correct?

If so, I would like to know how to be able to set that up without the Bonjour service. In the user guide, it appears that a Cast Group shares an IP address with an actual device, but the IDs are different. This makes me think the ID is required to work with groups. Since I'm manually editing the ini file, I don't know my device IDs. Are IDs required for casting to a group? If so, is there a way I can retrieve the IDs w/o the Bonjour service?

I have not actually created any speaker groups yet. I wanted to first figure out the proper procedure for manually adding a group to this plugin.

Thanks!

Could someone that uses Bonjour and has groups, please send me a snippet of your Chromecast.ini file?

I read that a recent change to the plugin now uses the group name as the "id". So, I tried adding my speaker group under [CHROMECASTS] with a bogus ID but a name value that matched the group, but that didn't work. Wondering if there is a separate section for groups.

Comment