How to create a trigger with a group of two motion detectors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to create a trigger with a group of two motion detectors

I am very new to homeseer and coming from Hubitat. My decision to try homeseer is the fact I have a PC always on running Blue Iris camera software, so I thought why not have the system perform some home automation... and thinking homeseer shouldn't be too bad to learn. Yikes.. The programming of events is so different, I'm struggling to get even the simplest events completed. Homeseer feels lacking in programming logic and efficiency for a package that was released in 2020 (HS4). Or its just me! LOL. I am determined to get it working though!

I am struggling with what I thought was a simple 2 motion sensors to control 1 light. Oh, and I also immediately purchased the easytrigger plugin due to all the rave reviews.

To turn on lights with motion, I think I got correctly using Easy trigger event with the motion sensors in a group. I had a trigger "If Any Devices in group changes and becomes 255"

My issue is with an event to turn the lights off.

Turn lights off with no motion
    Easytrigger only allows trigger with "If ANY DEVICE in group with no activity for xxx minutes". But I want "ALL Devices in group" How come it won't allow this. The only time I can get the "ALL" option if the easytrigger follows as a "And if ALL Device in group".

When attempting to turn lights off, I would assume we would want ALL devices in group to be off (inactive)

Any advice?

I too come from Hubitat. Once you get a hang of the event engine it becomes easier. It doesn’t have the else if logic, but what it does have from what I’ve seen is reliability!

you have to make two events, one as you described to turn the lights on, and another one to turn it off.

If

Any device in group Group Name has not changed for exactly x mins

and

all devices in group name are 0

then

turn off lights

Comment