HS Buddy seems to consuming battery power running in background

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HS Buddy seems to consuming battery power running in background

Is there anyway that HS Buddy can be taylored more to help decrease the amount of power it is consuming in the background? I am by no means a programmer... I do have some experience with geofencing when I used to work for Apple and I remember they were able to decrease power consumption in the background by telling the system to poll less when an SLC isnt detected and to check more once it is moved outside of its static geolocation I believe. Not sure if that is entirely accurate anymore. Just curious if any one else has experienced this issue... Seems like it has become worse this past month, not sure if an update was pushed out though.

Thanks!

Hi gotcl2 - thanks for the post. There has been some work around optimizing the use of location data to preserve battery power. I presume your device is running iOS? I have been running HSBuddy with Geolocation enabled for a really long time now and even after several app and OS updates I have not noticed an increase in battery drain. However, different conditions will likely generate different results. I can offer to look into this more in a future release, there are a couple tweaks I have not tried yet. However, here's a quick rundown of what the app is doing today to attempt to save battery:
    1. In both Android/iOS, the app will request access to Health and Fitness data. That information gives it the ability to detect when the device changes between being stationary to 'active' (whether that is walking/running/driving/etc.). When 'inactive' the app will not try to retrieve geolocation data (nor will it update the server). This setting cannot be changed in the app, it's always on by default. This attempts to save battery by reducing usage of the phone's location services.