HomeSeer Message Board

HomeSeer Message Board (http://board.homeseer.com/index.php)
-   UltraLog HSPI (http://board.homeseer.com/forumdisplay.php?f=855)
-   -   Is Remote Logging to an external syslog working? (http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=194609)

smith March 14th, 2018 11:00 AM

Is Remote Logging to an external syslog working?
 
Ultrajones,
I am having an issue with sending HS log data to a remote syslog server.
HS3, UltraLog 3.0.6644.26753.

Under Options, I have "Enable Remote Logging On Startup" set to yes, facility is local1, logging severity is debug, and the TCP port is 514.

I have a syslog server that I've confirmed is listening on TCP/514 and can receive messages from other devices. But I see nothing populated from Ultralog, even after rebooting Homeseer.

I have the Ultralog syslog server disabled ("Enable Syslog On Startup" is set to no).

Can you provide any suggestions on how to troubleshoot this further?

Thanks.

Ultrajones March 14th, 2018 08:28 PM

Only one host can connect to TCP port 514. Can you connect to your syslog receiver to confirm no other hosts are connected to the TCP port?

Linux Example:

netstat -an | grep "514"

Windows Example:

netstat -an | find "514"

Regards,
Ultrajones

BigBadBuzz April 28th, 2018 03:30 PM

Ultra:

I'm trying out UltraLog3 due to issues with another Syslog plugin that seems to only be partially working now. HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.428 (Linux) is running on a Lubuntu 16.04 LTS-based server. I have your plugin configured to use TCP port 601 for sending Remote Logs; I do not have the Syslog server function enabled. From a terminal prompt on that Linux server I can type to send test message to my Syslog server:

Code:

nc -w0 synds1515 601 <<< "<14>TCP User Info msg from `hostname` on `date`"
With the 'synds1515' host being my Syslog server - it receives those test messages; yet it does not receive anything from UltraLog3. Do you have any suggestions as to what I might try?

Regards,
BBB

Ultrajones April 29th, 2018 10:07 AM

Try a telnet command from your HomeSeer system to the syslog server to make sure it's not a firewall port that needs to be open. You just need to confirm it's connecting. If that works, then try restarting the plug-in.

Regards,
Ultrajones

BigBadBuzz April 30th, 2018 08:42 PM

UltraJones:

Restarting the plugin did the trick - should have thought of that myself. I found that it did not work by configuring with the hostname of the syslog server - I had to provide the IP address.

Regards,
BBB


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC