www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old September 4th, 2017, 12:12 PM
peterpc's Avatar
peterpc peterpc is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 598
No events, did not know I could.
I have 17 dimmable Insteon devices, and they all had "Hide device from mobile views" set. All other devices are ok.
Removed the setting and all is ok now.
__________________
Peter

http://ohh.pcgsm.nl
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old September 4th, 2017, 12:31 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
thanks for reporting back.
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.280
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.10 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old September 5th, 2017, 08:08 PM
firtha's Avatar
firtha firtha is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 584
Support status for 2441TH thermostat?

I know this is scattered around the board (I searched) but I can't find anything about this stat in your plugin thread. Is the 2441TH supported? Do you plan to support it? I'm using Insteon 3.0.6.16 from the Beta uploads section... Thanks and sorry for the noob question...
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old September 5th, 2017, 08:14 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Thermostats are supported by a related insteon plugin, see the following forum

https://forums.homeseer.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1183
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old September 12th, 2017, 08:04 AM
timmymac123 timmymac123 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 62
Bug in your latest plug!

Hey Mark!

I updated to the latest beta. Everything was working fine until the update.

The Plugin would load, but it would not actually work.
Restarting Homeseer was the oddest part as it did not remember jack about the Insteon stuff. It was not reading the ini file, it could not see the device, so it ultimately made sense.

When I looked at the log files, your plugin was trying to use:

/opt/HomeSeer/config

When for the past however long the plugin has been out, it was using:

/opt/HomeSeer/Config

So, looks like you made an inadvertent change in the case that adversely affects Linux.

I corrected by doing "cd /opt/HomeSeer; ln -s config Config" and then restarted the plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old September 12th, 2017, 08:21 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmymac123 View Post
Hey Mark!

I updated to the latest beta. Everything was working fine until the update.

The Plugin would load, but it would not actually work.
Restarting Homeseer was the oddest part as it did not remember jack about the Insteon stuff. It was not reading the ini file, it could not see the device, so it ultimately made sense.

When I looked at the log files, your plugin was trying to use:

/opt/HomeSeer/config

When for the past however long the plugin has been out, it was using:

/opt/HomeSeer/Config

So, looks like you made an inadvertent change in the case that adversely affects Linux.

I corrected by doing "cd /opt/HomeSeer; ln -s config Config" and then restarted the plugin.
Thanks for reporting back.

drives my crazy that Linux is case sensitive. And HST doesn't seem to following any standard with folder naming conventions

I'll change the code to use "Config"
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old September 13th, 2017, 07:31 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmymac123 View Post
Hey Mark!

I updated to the latest beta. Everything was working fine until the update.

The Plugin would load, but it would not actually work.
Restarting Homeseer was the oddest part as it did not remember jack about the Insteon stuff. It was not reading the ini file, it could not see the device, so it ultimately made sense.

When I looked at the log files, your plugin was trying to use:

/opt/HomeSeer/config

When for the past however long the plugin has been out, it was using:

/opt/HomeSeer/Config

So, looks like you made an inadvertent change in the case that adversely affects Linux.

I corrected by doing "cd /opt/HomeSeer; ln -s config Config" and then restarted the plugin.
I posted .21 which changes the folder reference to "Config"
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old September 13th, 2017, 11:21 PM
Burrington Burrington is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 122
Mark: as info, all of my dimmable Insteon devices had their "Hide device from mobile views" option turned on, same as mentioned by someone else. None of the non-dimmable Insteon ones were affected, and no non-Insteon devices affected. Everything still worked fine, they just were not visible on a remote. Not sure exactly when it happened, but it was quite recently. It was an easy fix to just go through them all and uncheck the box.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old September 14th, 2017, 07:19 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burrington View Post
Mark: as info, all of my dimmable Insteon devices had their "Hide device from mobile views" option turned on, same as mentioned by someone else. None of the non-dimmable Insteon ones were affected, and no non-Insteon devices affected. Everything still worked fine, they just were not visible on a remote. Not sure exactly when it happened, but it was quite recently. It was an easy fix to just go through them all and uncheck the box.
very strange. I don't believe the plugin messes with that property at all.

if you can replicate the issue, please post the steps.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old September 14th, 2017, 11:50 PM
Burrington Burrington is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 122
I think I read that "Hide device from mobile views" is new feature in 3.0.0.357. If so, maybe its a one-time flaw in the upgrade that for some reason clicks that option on for a dimmable Insteon device but not others...?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old September 15th, 2017, 07:58 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burrington View Post
I think I read that "Hide device from mobile views" is new feature in 3.0.0.357. If so, maybe its a one-time flaw in the upgrade that for some reason clicks that option on for a dimmable Insteon device but not others...?
I spoke with Rich on this. the default is supposed to be off, so not sure how this setting got turned on.

i'm wondering if he is reusing a property bit value that I may be using for something else.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old September 15th, 2017, 10:46 AM
vball61 vball61 is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Mark -

I just installed the 3.0.6.21 Beta, and am noticing a behavior that was not present in the official release.
It looks like the plugin is updating the status and value for an I/O Linc sensor after an unsuccessful polling event (5 retries).
In this particular case, it's indicating that my garage door has opened, and setting off an alarm in my house... at night.
Please let me know if there's a setting or .ini value I need to adjust, otherwise I'll just hang tight until there's another update.

Thanks!

Quote:
Sep-15 4:28:54 AM Event Event Trigger "Notifications Garage Door Opened at Night"
Sep-15 4:28:54 AM Event Event Trigger "Notifications Unsecure System Status"
Sep-15 4:28:54 AM Insteon Setting status and value for device 1F.C3.AA:1. Old status:100 Old Value:100, New Status:17 New Value: 0
Sep-15 4:28:54 AM Insteon Did not get any status response from 1F.C3.AA after 5 tries. No change to database delta value.
Sep-15 4:28:54 AM Insteon Did not receive a response from Access Garage Door (1F.C3.AA). Try #5 failed.
Sep-15 4:28:50 AM Insteon ..Got RF PLM Response 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 06
Sep-15 4:28:50 AM Insteon Sending command 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 to RF PLM, (Expecting 0 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
Sep-15 4:28:50 AM Insteon Did not receive a response from Access Garage Door (1F.C3.AA). Try #4 failed.
Sep-15 4:28:47 AM Insteon ..Got RF PLM Response 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 06
Sep-15 4:28:47 AM Insteon Sending command 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 to RF PLM, (Expecting 0 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
Sep-15 4:28:47 AM Insteon Did not receive a response from Access Garage Door (1F.C3.AA). Try #3 failed.
Sep-15 4:28:43 AM Insteon ..Got RF PLM Response 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 06
Sep-15 4:28:43 AM Insteon Sending command 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 to RF PLM, (Expecting 0 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
Sep-15 4:28:43 AM Insteon Did not receive a response from Access Garage Door (1F.C3.AA). Try #2 failed.
Sep-15 4:28:40 AM Insteon ..Got RF PLM Response 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 06
Sep-15 4:28:40 AM Insteon Sending command 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 to RF PLM, (Expecting 0 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
Sep-15 4:28:40 AM Insteon Did not receive a response from Access Garage Door (1F.C3.AA). Try #1 failed.
Sep-15 4:28:37 AM Insteon Saved ini file. msecs=0
Sep-15 4:28:36 AM Insteon ..Got RF PLM Response 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 06
Sep-15 4:28:36 AM Insteon Sending command 02 62 1F C3 AA 0A 19 01 to RF PLM, (Expecting 0 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
Sep-15 4:28:36 AM Insteon Attempting to update the status for Access Garage Door (1F.C3.AA)
Sep-15 4:28:36 AM Insteon Requesting Insteon status (Polling) for device Access Garage Door Input Sensor: Garage Door Status (1F.C3.AA)
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old September 15th, 2017, 11:11 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by vball61 View Post
Mark -

I just installed the 3.0.6.21 Beta, and am noticing a behavior that was not present in the official release.
It looks like the plugin is updating the status and value for an I/O Linc sensor after an unsuccessful polling event (5 retries).
In this particular case, it's indicating that my garage door has opened, and setting off an alarm in my house... at night.
Please let me know if there's a setting or .ini value I need to adjust, otherwise I'll just hang tight until there's another update.

Thanks!
yes, I made some changes to iolinc polling. if the iolinc doesn't respond, its value will be set to Unknown (instead of assuming on or off)

can you post a screen shot of the trigger you are using?

also can I see a pic of the status graphics tab for the hs device definition
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old September 15th, 2017, 12:37 PM
Burrington Burrington is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
I spoke with Rich on this. the default is supposed to be off, so not sure how this setting got turned on.

i'm wondering if he is reusing a property bit value that I may be using for something else.
If so, it would something to do with dimmable, because every dimmable device was set, but only the dimmable devices.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old September 15th, 2017, 02:24 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burrington View Post
If so, it would something to do with dimmable, because every dimmable device was set, but only the dimmable devices.
i did a test using .357 of creating a new device. it didn't set that hide mobile bit.

so i think this bit (while unused until now) must have been set on dimmers previously

this may just be a one time upgrade issue.

thanks for reporting. i will put in on the next set of release notes.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old September 16th, 2017, 04:58 PM
vball61 vball61 is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
yes, I made some changes to iolinc polling. if the iolinc doesn't respond, its value will be set to Unknown (instead of assuming on or off)

can you post a screen shot of the trigger you are using?

also can I see a pic of the status graphics tab for the hs device definition
Thanks for the follow up. I think I see the problem. The Beta is setting the device value to '0', but a status value of '0' is interpreted as garage door open. 'Unknown' = '-1' according to the device's Status Graphics tab (attached)

Here's a log which captures an actual garage door opening event. The garage door status value is returned as '0':

Quote:
Sep-16 4:54:16 PM Event Event Trigger "Notifications Unsecure System Status"
Sep-16 4:54:16 PM Insteon Setting status and value for device 1F.C3.AA:1. Old status:100 Old Value:100, New Status:3 New Value:0
Sep-16 4:54:16 PM Insteon ProcessGroupBroadcast: Device Access Garage Door (1F.C3.AA) is group broadcast source (tgt group/button:1) sending cmd 13
Sep-16 4:54:16 PM Insteon Received 1F.C3.AA:1 (Access Garage Door Status) Go OFF
Sep-16 4:54:16 PM Insteon Received STX 0x50 (Raw Insteon Rec):1F C3 AA 00 00 01 C7 13 00
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old September 16th, 2017, 05:32 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by vball61 View Post
Thanks for the follow up. I think I see the problem. The Beta is setting the device value to '0', but a status value of '0' is interpreted as garage door open. 'Unknown' = '-1' according to the device's Status Graphics tab (attached)

Here's a log which captures an actual garage door opening event. The garage door status value is returned as '0':
Updated the code, and posted 3.0.6.22 in the beta section of the updater

give it a try
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old September 16th, 2017, 06:21 PM
Burrington Burrington is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 122
Mark, did that error just sneak in recently or was it there for a long time. Maybe this has solved my long-standing problem with IO-Lincs occasionally giving false alarms that we have discussed in the past. If so - YEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old September 16th, 2017, 06:40 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burrington View Post
Mark, did that error just sneak in recently or was it there for a long time. Maybe this has solved my long-standing problem with IO-Lincs occasionally giving false alarms that we have discussed in the past. If so - YEA!!
Possibly. give it a go and let me know
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old Yesterday, 11:12 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,878
anyone have any feedback regarding losing their insteon.ini while using this latest beta?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS3 Insteon Plug-In Version 3.0.5.88 Beta (Win & Linux)..In Beta section of Updater mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 102 November 15th, 2016 08:48 PM
HS2 Insteon Plug-In Version 2.0.0.38 Beta mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 57 November 15th, 2015 12:07 AM
HS3 Insteon Plug-In Version 3.0.5.9 Beta (Windows & Linux Compatible) mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 40 December 8th, 2014 07:59 AM
Insteon PLM Plug-In Version 1.8.0.8 Beta mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 27 February 1st, 2013 09:31 PM
Insteon PLM Plug-In Version 1.7.0.0 Beta mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 130 June 30th, 2012 02:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC