www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Developer Support > Web Server and Interface > Web Server SSL Discussions

Web Server SSL Discussions Support and Discussions related to configuring and using SSL in the standard edition of HomeSeer 2.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 8th, 2017, 10:08 AM
rmorton27 rmorton27 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 433
Passwords and web pages

Aside from the set password for custom page 1 in setup, is there a method where a guest can access a few pages but be restricted from accessing others. For example. I have a page that’s basic overview information for the house. (first image)

Then if there is a need to manually intervene with lighting, etc, there is a page that has this limited ability, you have to access it from the status page (second image by clicking the 2nd column)

There is a third category where HVAC, Security and miscellaneous other and more sensitive devices and no means to access them through the first 2 pages. Yes, I know if someone knows the URL they could just type it in but what I do currently is creating a second bookmark for referencing the URL for this grouping of pages. It works okay but is a little awkward and it would be so much simpler if HS3 has a feature where some pages could be prevented from loading based on the user/password beyond the flat password 1st custom page. Does such a feature exist?
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 8th, 2017, 10:26 AM
sparkman's Avatar
sparkman sparkman is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 6,010
You could use the WebLoggedInUser function (https://www.homeseer.com/support/home...ggedinuser.htm) in your web/asp page and show content based on who's logged in.

Cheers
Al
__________________
HS3Pro 3.0.0.318 on Jetway JBC501F9Q-Q87-B i7 8GB 1874 Devices, 955 Events, 28 Plugins
Z-Wave 3.0.1.131 Z-Net 105 nodes:Leviton Vizia,Kwikset,FortrezZ Valve/Sensors,Everspring Sensors/Modules/Outlets,CT30 Stats,MIMOLites,Aeotec Smart Switches
RFXCom W800,RFXrec433,RFXtrx433|APCUPSD|Pushover|Squeezebox|weatherXML|HS Phone W2C|APCUPSD|UltraLog
UltraGCIR GC-100|UltraNetcam|UltraPioneer|Ultra1Wire|DSC PC1832|BLLED|BLTVGuide|ImperiHome|jon00 Utilities|MySensors

PHLocation|X10 CM11A IOLinc,etc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 22nd, 2017, 09:36 AM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 106
Kudo's @rmorton27 I like your webpage concept/implementation. Dumb question for a Newbie, how did you create the webpages and how do you gain access to them?

I've notice that on the setup>Custom Tab that there is a place to put in up to 4 webpages but never had any reason to do any thing with them, I assume that the webpage is an alternate to using Imperial Home or equivalent? Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 22nd, 2017, 07:16 PM
rmorton27 rmorton27 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 433
You can use any editor you want. Window's Notepad works but is primitive, I use Microsoft's Expressions as they were giving it away for free some time ago. Any web page with dynamic content you create must end in .asp and not htm or HTML.

About loading custom pages. Homeseer on the same page, you found the custom URL is "Use Custom Page 1 as Home Page" if you check this BOX, HS3 will try to load this page instead of its normal page. I suggest you avoid using it though and instead just reference your page directly in the fetching URL like this HTTP:\\HometrollerPro\mypage.asp (Hometroller is the resolvable name and in my system it resolved to 192.168.1.3 HTTP:\\192.168.1.3\mypage.asp is the same as) the IP address I assigned to my Homeseer system) I add it to Chrome's bookmark bar and then no matter where I'm and using Chrome I have one click access to this page. I do the same in Android and add the URL as a bookmark to the homepage. Then my own menuing takes over.

To write your own page you will need a blend of asp and HTML and somewhere I have posted all of my code. Warning I am a hack and know nothing about proper syntax, structure, etc and instead, I have just cobbled together what works (with tons of help over the long time I have used Homeseer) for me and is something I can take of.

Real coders, I'm sure double over with giggles and grins if they look at my code (they are too polite to embassies me here) at my attempts and don't let that discourage you. JUST START really simple!

-rick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 22nd, 2017, 07:29 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 106
Rick, Thanxs for the comeback. Thanxs for the suggestions, I had started using Imperial Home which for the most part works great with phones and iPad but I liked your approach using webpages, being a relative Newbie I've "dipped my proverbial toe into the HS3water" e.g. HS3 Plug-in's, Geo Fences (still working it), scripts and then some and though creating Webpages would be a great learning experience. in your post you made reference "somewhere I have posted all of my code." can you provide your latest examples, helps make the learning curve less steep Not too critical about what others might judge as long as it works! Mike


Update: Took you suggestion to heart and downloaded; Microsoft Expression Web 4,Microsoft Expression Web 4 SuperPreview, and Microsoft Expression Designer 4 as they were free and no longer being supported. Do I need anything else other than a lot of time to figure out the tools!

Last edited by MNB; July 22nd, 2017 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 22nd, 2017, 09:13 PM
rmorton27 rmorton27 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 433
Mike,

Here you go.

I use expression web 4 for web pages and I use notepad for scripts. That admission will get a lot of big yawns I'm sure but it does exactly what I need but make sure to show the status bar from the View tab so you get line numbers...

Go get tenscriptAid too http://tenholder.net/tenWare2/tenScriptAid/default.aspx , it will be very useful trying to figure out Capi for your devices.

-r

Ps. Pretty well all works as far as I know. The button logic works pretty well but reloads are tricky, teach yourself browser back or reload those pages, exit them. You can press as many buttons as you like as you are loading new data. If you do the worst that happens is a refresh with stale data so a light on or light goes off. Our family has no problem with using them. I wrote the pages for display on Samsung's Note 5's and use the same pages for tablets and PC's too.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MyHS3Stuff.zip (27.9 KB, 5 views)
File Type: zip Folder CustomIcon.zip (338.6 KB, 5 views)
File Type: zip Scripts.zip (22.7 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 22nd, 2017, 09:30 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 106
Rick,
Many thanxs for your supporting info and files, I will have to go away for a bit to digest it and figure it out. Obviously I will have questions and I know where you live , Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Username and Passwords isy.taman HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 6 March 9th, 2015 11:47 AM
Passwords and HS Touch kestertonm HS2 / HSPRO 13 June 19th, 2012 02:01 PM
iPhone / ixxx devices and Passwords simonog Clients - Apple iPhone/iPod/iPad 7 June 23rd, 2010 01:34 PM
User Logons and Passwords jginnat Web Server and Interface 8 August 14th, 2002 08:42 AM
User Logons and Passwords jginnat Web Server and Interface 0 January 1st, 1970 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC