www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Gaming Related Plug-ins > Gaming Related Discussion > Kinect (3P)

Kinect (3P) Discussions related to the Kinect plugin for HS3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 11th, 2013, 10:31 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Kinect Plug-in - Feature Requests

Please use this thread to ask for new features
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 11th, 2013, 11:37 AM
Automated Automated is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,190
-Recognition of pre-identified/pre-defined persons, so that Homeseer knows WHO is in the room.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 11th, 2013, 03:29 PM
surovich
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Im with Automated on that - just like the XBOX sign on ...

Id like to add :

VR parsing so you can ask different varying phrases (Like the built in VR in HS). (ie : Weather for the next |1|2|3|4|5 days) - I need this for one of my custom scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 12th, 2013, 07:12 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by surovich View Post
VR parsing so you can ask different varying phrases (Like the built in VR in HS). (ie : Weather for the next |1|2|3|4|5 days) - I need this for one of my custom scripts.
with the built in VR in HS, when you say "Weather for the next 3 days", how does your script retreives the number of days you asked for?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 14th, 2013, 07:20 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by surovich View Post
VR parsing so you can ask different varying phrases (Like the built in VR in HS). (ie : Weather for the next |1|2|3|4|5 days) - I need this for one of my custom scripts.
I have added this feature in version 3.0.0.2 available from the Beta Testing thread
so on your example the syntax would be:
Code:
Weather for the next <one|two|three|four|five> days
when the phrase is recognized the plugin sets the global variable kinectvar0 to the number spoken, so that you can get it from a script using hs.GetVar("kinectvar0").
You can add up to 10 multiple choices for the same phrase and get results from the global variables kinectvar0, kinectvar1, ...., kinectvar9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 24th, 2013, 04:49 AM
tonlof's Avatar
tonlof tonlof is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Nordic
Posts: 1,430
Hi Spud, is there a possible to assign a device that show on/off for listening status. If the Attention Phrase is accepted the device status should change to on or similar.
__________________
Please excuse any spelling and grammatical errors I may make.
--
Tasker Plugin / Speech Droid
Tonlof | Sweden
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 24th, 2013, 07:05 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonlof View Post
Hi Spud, is there a possible to assign a device that show on/off for listening status. If the Attention Phrase is accepted the device status should change to on or similar.
why would be the use for such a device?
right now, the way it works is that you have to say the attention phrase before each command: "Computer, turn the lights on", "Computer, stop the music", etc..., so the Kinect is kind of always listening.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 24th, 2013, 07:28 AM
tonlof's Avatar
tonlof tonlof is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Nordic
Posts: 1,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
why would be the use for such a device?
right now, the way it works is that you have to say the attention phrase before each command: "Computer, turn the lights on", "Computer, stop the music", etc..., so the Kinect is kind of always listening.
Okey I thought that "Computer" would activate the listen mode for example next 10 seconds or so. In that case it have been great to have an lamp or hstouch notice to know that hs is waiting for command.

But now I know that I need to say "Computer" before every command whitout any delay.
Thanks for your great work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 5th, 2013, 12:39 AM
jlrichar's Avatar
jlrichar jlrichar is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automated View Post
-Recognition of pre-identified/pre-defined persons, so that Homeseer knows WHO is in the room.
This would be really cool!
__________________
_______________________________________________

HS3 : HSpro (3.0.0.318) on Win2012 (vm on ESXi)
Plugins: HSTouch, UPBSpud, Kinect, Nest, IFTTT, DirecTV, EasyTrigger, Imperihome, Zwave, RFXcom, UltraMon3, UltraWeatherBug3, UltraGCIR3, UltraLog3, UltraPioneer, PHLocation, Pushover, Pushalot, MCSSPrinklers S, JowiHue
Jon00 Plugins: Bluetooth Proximity, Performance Monitor, DB Chart, Links
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 5th, 2013, 10:54 PM
footVOL footVOL is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: US
Posts: 86
Multiple Remote Kinects?

I would love to be able to support multiple remote Kinects with this plugin. Ideally I would install a small PC in remote locations to "feed" HS commands. Similar to the Nitrogen device

http://www.nitrogenlogic.com/product...ontroller.html

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 5th, 2013, 11:53 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by footVOL View Post
I would love to be able to support multiple remote Kinects with this plugin. Ideally I would install a small PC in remote locations to "feed" HS commands. Similar to the Nitrogen device

http://www.nitrogenlogic.com/product...ontroller.html

Thoughts?
support for multiple instances (i.e multiple kinects) will be in the next release which I will post later this week.

you can already run the plugin as a remote plugin, here is how:
  • copy HSPI_KINECT.exe, HSPI_KINECT.exe.config, Kinect.Toolbox.dll to a directory on your remote computer
  • copy HomeSeerAPI.dll, HSCF.dll and Scheduler.dll from your HS3 directory to the same remote directory
  • open a command prompt on your remote computer
  • cd to the directory, then type HSPI_KINECT.exe server=<ip_of_your_hs_machine>
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old December 21st, 2013, 12:53 PM
Mad leal Mad leal is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Beaumont
Posts: 31
VR multiple commands.

I uses homeseer with XBMC and it would be nice for the Kinect to listen for multiple commands for a desired amount of time.

Example:
Like this:
Computer Up - Up - Right - Select
Instead of this:
Computer Up - Computer Up - Computer Right - Computer Select
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 21st, 2013, 01:33 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad leal View Post
VR multiple commands.

I uses homeseer with XBMC and it would be nice for the Kinect to listen for multiple commands for a desired amount of time.

Example:
Like this:
Computer Up - Up - Right - Select
Instead of this:
Computer Up - Computer Up - Computer Right - Computer Select
Yes that's something I'm going to add, I was thinking of allowing users to define and load sub grammars. So for example you would say, "Computer enter XBMC mode", then you would be able to say specific XBMC commands like "Up", "Select", etc without having to say "computer" each time, then after a delay or a special command this sub grammar would be unloaded, and you would return to the regular mode.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old December 23rd, 2013, 02:31 PM
Mad leal Mad leal is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Beaumont
Posts: 31
An easier way to add voice and gesture controls. Maybe have a tab in the plug-in Config where you can configure them.

An empty box were you type the VR phrase and an drop down box were you select what event you would like to run.

BTW The XBMC feature sounds awesome. Thank you all your hard work.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old December 23rd, 2013, 02:34 PM
Mad leal Mad leal is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Beaumont
Posts: 31
Or even better.

VR box and a box were we can put a command to run(hs.RunScript(.....).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 5th, 2014, 08:11 PM
surovich
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How about linking a Kinect with a Speaker client? Im going to use Kinects in place of the Mics for a Speaker client, so directed output would be cool.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 5th, 2014, 10:03 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by surovich View Post
How about linking a Kinect with a Speaker client? Im going to use Kinects in place of the Mics for a Speaker client, so directed output would be cool.
What do you mean exactly?
The speaker client doesn't have any external API, so it's hard to link anything to it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 6th, 2014, 08:10 AM
Nan0Tr3k Nan0Tr3k is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 21
Kinect instance name

Hi Spud,

A couple of suggestions:

Set the name of the Kinect that received the command on a global variable, so that I can use the same command in different rooms to enable the action in that room only (i.e. Play music will turn on the music in the room I am in, rather than having to say Play music in living room)

Able to support multiple Kinect languages at once. I have set up some phrases and by default the Kinect language is English. My wife (native English speaker) consistently gets 98% recognition while I (native French speaker) get around 65 - 70%. When I set the Kinect language to French I then get 98% and she gets around 45%. The funny thing is that my phrases are still in English...Kinect just recognizes my French accent better I thought of trying with a French Canadian language to see if Kinect will understand both of us reliably. I know I can reduce the confidence threshold but then I get a lot of false positive.

Thanks,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 6th, 2014, 02:30 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nan0Tr3k View Post
Set the name of the Kinect that received the command on a global variable, so that I can use the same command in different rooms to enable the action in that room only (i.e. Play music will turn on the music in the room I am in, rather than having to say Play music in living room)
I assume you have one kinect in each room so, you use one instance of the plugin for each room. As each instance is independent and has its own trigger category ("Kinect Trigger - instance_name"), you have to create a different trigger for each room. So you can already know which Kinect has received the command if you create one "Play music" event per room.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nan0Tr3k View Post
Able to support multiple Kinect languages at once. I have set up some phrases and by default the Kinect language is English. My wife (native English speaker) consistently gets 98% recognition while I (native French speaker) get around 65 - 70%. When I set the Kinect language to French I then get 98% and she gets around 45%. The funny thing is that my phrases are still in English...Kinect just recognizes my French accent better I thought of trying with a French Canadian language to see if Kinect will understand both of us reliably. I know I can reduce the confidence threshold but then I get a lot of false positive.
I know what you mean, I'm a native French speaker too, and I always have a hard time when I try to test with the English language.
I don't know if it is possible to load 2 different recognizer at the same time. Even if it's possible it would be difficult to deal with, as both recognizers could recognize the same command or different ones at the same time. Moreover this is not a feature that a lot of people would use, so I can't promise you anything.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old January 7th, 2014, 11:06 AM
Nan0Tr3k Nan0Tr3k is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 21
Thanks for your reply. I was trying to avoid duplicating events, but that will work.

Don't worry about the multi language. Do you know how far apart each Kinects need to be to avoid interference? I assume that this depends on the layout of the rooms, the position of the Kinects and reverberation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
features, kinect

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EnvisaLink DSC Plug-in - Feature requests spud Envisalink DSC Plugin (3P) 107 Yesterday 04:08 PM
Vista Alarm Plug-in Feature Requests mnsandler Vista Alarm Plug-in (3P) 69 November 9th, 2017 02:45 PM
Kodi/XBMC Plug-in - Feature Requests spud Kodi/XBMC Plug-In (3P) 257 November 3rd, 2017 03:55 PM
Feature Requests for the Mark Sandler Insteon PLM Plug-In mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 322 July 23rd, 2017 02:14 PM
Kinect Plug-in Features spud HomeSeer General Discussion Area 30 November 8th, 2016 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC