www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Gaming Related Plug-ins > Gaming Related Discussion > Kinect (3P)

Kinect (3P) Discussions related to the Kinect plugin for HS3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old January 10th, 2016, 07:10 PM
JimBob's Avatar
JimBob JimBob is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 806
That's great, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old February 2nd, 2016, 11:59 AM
AZweimiller AZweimiller is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
I have just posted version 3.0.0.36 in the Beta testing thread
I have also worked on global triggers (i.e. kinect triggers that work for all instances), unfortunately there is a problem in the HS API that prevent this from working, basically a plugin instance cannot fire a trigger that it doesn't own. I have contacted Rich about this but no answer so far.
Spud,

Thank you for the update on the global triggers. Did you ever receive a response from Rich?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old February 2nd, 2016, 12:28 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZweimiller View Post
Spud,

Thank you for the update on the global triggers. Did you ever receive a response from Rich?

no answer, I just asked again
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old March 10th, 2016, 12:13 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimBob View Post
Would it be possible to precede each debug/trace string with the instance name?

I had some remote kinect instance disconnect/reconnect issues recently and it would have made it a lot easier to track down if the HS log debug told me which kinect instance was reporting in.

Thanks for a great plugin
done in version 3.0.0.41 available here
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old March 10th, 2016, 12:26 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
in version 3.0.0.41 available here I have implemented Global triggers (i.e triggers that work for any instance of the Kinect plugin)

there is a new "Global Trigger" option for the "A phrase is recognized" trigger.
Name:  globaltrigger.png
Views: 201
Size:  18.2 KB


For this to work you need to respect the following rules:
  • The instance that created the global trigger needs to always run, if it doesn't run the other instances won't be able to fire the event. I would advise to create a dummy instance that is not connected to any Kinect sensor, which runs locally and from which you can configure all your global triggers
  • Once your global triggers are configured, you need to restart other instances or run a "Rebuild grammars" action before they are active for other instances. I would advise to create a manually trigger event that rebuild the grammars for each instance, and run it every time you change or add a global trigger.
Name:  rebuildgrammars.png
Views: 206
Size:  14.4 KB
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old March 10th, 2016, 12:57 PM
Rotech's Avatar
Rotech Rotech is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 4,236
What will this new feature help? Or for what reason was this new feature was created? Sorry for my ignorance.
__________________
Hector
____________________________________
Win.2003 OS, HS3
BLDSC,BLstat,BLRadar,BLRamdom,BLOccupied
BLups,BLrain8,HSTouch,Ultrajones Weatherbug,
MyTrigger,ACRF2,W800,Zwave
AP800,Honeywell Stat
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old March 10th, 2016, 03:39 PM
JimBob's Avatar
JimBob JimBob is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
done in version 3.0.0.41 available here
Cheers, will give it a try this weekend
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old March 10th, 2016, 05:43 PM
AZweimiller AZweimiller is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
in version 3.0.0.41 available here I have implemented Global triggers (i.e triggers that work for any instance of the Kinect plugin)

there is a new "Global Trigger" option for the "A phrase is recognized" trigger.
Attachment 52819


For this to work you need to respect the following rules:
  • The instance that created the global trigger needs to always run, if it doesn't run the other instances won't be able to fire the event. I would advise to create a dummy instance that is not connected to any Kinect sensor, which runs locally and from which you can configure all your global triggers
  • Once your global triggers are configured, you need to restart other instances or run a "Rebuild grammars" action before they are active for other instances. I would advise to create a manually trigger event that rebuild the grammars for each instance, and run it every time you change or add a global trigger.
Attachment 52820
Thank you so much! Do I need to update HS or were you able to work around the limitations?

Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old March 11th, 2016, 10:48 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZweimiller View Post
Thank you so much! Do I need to update HS or were you able to work around the limitations?

Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk
you don't need to update HS, the only limitation there is (and which cannot be removed easily) is that the instance that created the global trigger needs to always run.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old March 11th, 2016, 10:51 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotech View Post
What will this new feature help? Or for what reason was this new feature was created? Sorry for my ignorance.
if you have several kinect instances, this new feature helps to avoid duplicating triggers. For example you can now have a "What time is it?" trigger that works for all the instances.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old March 12th, 2016, 08:50 AM
JimBob's Avatar
JimBob JimBob is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
done in version 3.0.0.41 available here
The debug prefixed with the instance name is working great.

Thanks very much,
John
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old April 14th, 2016, 03:13 PM
surovich
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hey Spud -

Im pretty sure you have these stats, I thought I saw them in debug mode but I was wondering if you could expose them to scripting -

Just built a house and I connected 6 Kinects around the house, a few are close enough that if its quiet they both hear your request and will answer it. I thought I saw the audio level received in a debug I was looking at from the plugin, so I was wondering if that could exposed to a script so I could simply write a script for all commands (which I had running before I moved, just a large script for all my Kinect commands that was parsed). I would then reply to the speaker client with the highest "volume" received, which should, logically, be the room you are in asking the question....

Thanks
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old July 16th, 2016, 06:55 PM
SBobowski SBobowski is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by surovich View Post
Hey Spud -

Im pretty sure you have these stats, I thought I saw them in debug mode but I was wondering if you could expose them to scripting -

Just built a house and I connected 6 Kinects around the house, a few are close enough that if its quiet they both hear your request and will answer it. I thought I saw the audio level received in a debug I was looking at from the plugin, so I was wondering if that could exposed to a script so I could simply write a script for all commands (which I had running before I moved, just a large script for all my Kinect commands that was parsed). I would then reply to the speaker client with the highest "volume" received, which should, logically, be the room you are in asking the question....

Thanks
Scott
+1
I need this feature too (I've got 6 Kinects, and need to add 3 more)
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old October 12th, 2016, 09:14 PM
AZweimiller AZweimiller is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 18
Spud,

I run the plugin remotely in my theater and it worked flawlessly for a time. Around the time I upgraded to Windows 10 on the host PC I started having issues with it. The Kinect would randomly stop responding to voice commands. I have debug logging turned on and you can see phrases being recognized and then at random it just dies. The plugin is still running but you can sit there and speak commands to it all day long with nothing. Restarting the plugin always fixes the issue...for a while. I figured this was an issue with Windows 10 due to the problem presenting after the upgrade. I recently noticed that I can cause the Kinect to stop responding by physically moving it. I assume I have a short in the USB cable or something. I can pretty reliably make it stop recognizing phrases by wiggling the wire. Restarting the plugin continues to fix it. I will probably be trying a different unit once I swing by Gamestop. That brings me to my feature request:

It seems like it would be a good idea to have the plugin perform some kind of health check with the sensor. Some kind of keep alive or poll to make sure that it can still talk with the physical device. If this check fails the plugin could attempt a reinitialize to try to solve the issue on it's own. This is all in the name of reliability. I feel like an idiot when I sit down and talk to my theater and nothing happens :-D
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old March 31st, 2017, 11:02 AM
smokeycoles's Avatar
smokeycoles smokeycoles is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 445
Would it be able to have gesture and posture control within a zone as a trigger?

Thank you
Chris
__________________
Chris
HS3 3.0.0.313 & HSTouch 3.0.49 with 1038 Devices, 1276 Events, 38 ZWave Nodes
Plugin's:
TouchServer, RFXCom, Z-Wave, GlobalCachePro, NetCam
Envisalink, NEST, Kodi, EasyTrigger, FaceRecognition, Kinect
SONOS, weatherXML, PushOver, BLLAN, BLBackup, CurrentCost3P, PHLocation
ASPXloader, BatteryMonitor, DeviceList, EventList, Links, Grouping, IniEditor, IPupdate, RSS, FileGrabber


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
features, kinect

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Alarm Plug-in Feature Requests mnsandler Vista Alarm Plug-in (3P) 63 August 2nd, 2017 08:20 PM
Feature Requests for the Mark Sandler Insteon PLM Plug-In mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 322 July 23rd, 2017 02:14 PM
EnvisaLink DSC Plug-in - Feature requests spud Envisalink DSC Plugin (3P) 106 July 11th, 2017 07:27 AM
Kodi/XBMC Plug-in - Feature Requests spud Kodi/XBMC Plug-In (3P) 255 June 2nd, 2017 09:23 AM
Kinect Plug-in Features spud HomeSeer General Discussion Area 30 November 8th, 2016 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC