www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Gaming Related Plug-ins > Gaming Related Discussion > Kinect (3P)

Kinect (3P) Discussions related to the Kinect plugin for HS3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 25th, 2017, 07:51 AM
smokeycoles's Avatar
smokeycoles smokeycoles is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 445
Kinect over CAT

Hi I am having some troubles getting my Kinect to connect.

So for testing purposes:
USB to CAT converter > Cat5E > CAT to USB converter > Kinect Power Cable

More Detail:
My server USB 3.0 port >
USB to RJ45 adaptor (£15 from eBay) >
2m CAT 5E Standard Ethernet Cable >
RJ45 to USB adaptor >
USB Male & Power and Female Kinnect Connection >
Kinect Connection to Kinect Device

The converter has the Red & Black 5vDC cable and the White & Green Data cable

In the Plugin Config menu, I see:
USB/VID_0409&PID_005A\5&E658374&0&10

127.0.0.1:8078/kinectsnapshot/
I do not see anything, classic can't reach.


If however I plugin my connect direct into the same USB port and remove the converter, I see (after refreshing):
USB/VID_0409&PID_005A\5&E658374&0&10

127.0.0.1:8078/kinectsnapshot/
but this time the screenshot works.


Please can you help me out, I would really like to connect up Kinect in different rooms, using my network wiring within the walls.


Things I have tried:
----------------------
I tried a crossover cable which detects nothing.
I tried another converter, however it showed just a white box with no USB/VID.... http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/USB-Over-R...8AAOSw5ZBWH8wu
I have tried CAT6, CAT5E, Shielded and Unshielded cable.

Thanks
Chris
__________________
Chris
HS3 3.0.0.313 & HSTouch 3.0.49 with 1038 Devices, 1276 Events, 38 ZWave Nodes
Plugin's:
TouchServer, RFXCom, Z-Wave, GlobalCachePro, NetCam
Envisalink, NEST, Kodi, EasyTrigger, FaceRecognition, Kinect
SONOS, weatherXML, PushOver, BLLAN, BLBackup, CurrentCost3P, PHLocation
ASPXloader, BatteryMonitor, DeviceList, EventList, Links, Grouping, IniEditor, IPupdate, RSS, FileGrabber



Last edited by smokeycoles; March 25th, 2017 at 08:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 25th, 2017, 01:03 PM
smokeycoles's Avatar
smokeycoles smokeycoles is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 445
I am wondering if these are USB 1.1, I have ordered another 2.0 StarTech Converter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 26th, 2017, 06:43 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 13,937
A while back when playing with the Mimo USB monitor went to using active USB extenders which worked fine.

The above said if you could run an active USB extender and power the kinect locally that would work.

Googling others have cut an active USB extender cable and used cat5e between the cut ends.

Checking out Amazon and it seems that folks are using these extenders with good luck.

AV Access USB 2.0 Extender 165ft over Cat5e/6, 4 USB2.0 port USB Extenders, Plug and Play,No Driver, Mounting Ear, for PC PS3 Conference,Two Web Camera Work Synchronous
Attached Images
 
__________________
- Pete

Automator
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2017, 09:48 AM
smokeycoles's Avatar
smokeycoles smokeycoles is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 445
Thanks Pete

I will give those a try.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 27th, 2017, 06:27 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 13,937
Yeah here over the years have not had any issues extending RS-232 via catXX but always have had issues trying to extend USB over Cat5XX/Cat6XX.

My only Kinect experiences have been related to large touchscreen implementations for Homeseer plugins. I purchased a few Kinects / touchscreens for this purpose and only have tested one over the last couple of years. I was never much of a gamer. That said I did set up my son's bedroom with this stuff but it was all local to the television in one cabinet or area in his bedroom at the time.

Early Cat5/Cat6 USB extenders were ridiculously expensive for me. Well same as HDMI over Cat5/Cat6 extenders. I didn't want to beta test this stuff an it wasn't worth the expense for me even though I ran multiple catxx to the television sets. Today there is only the two of us in the home (wife and I) and more televisions than needed (so they are never really used much).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 31st, 2017, 10:37 AM
smokeycoles's Avatar
smokeycoles smokeycoles is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 445
Just wanted to feedback, that this works well with the USB 2.0.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kinect 24/7 ...?? Rotech Kinect (3P) 2 May 24th, 2015 06:52 AM
Kinect on the way! kideon Kinect (3P) 59 February 16th, 2015 03:03 PM
Kinect? jlrichar Face Recognition Plug-In (3P) 4 February 11th, 2015 04:43 PM
Kinect triggers - do not fire if one kinect not connected JimBob Kinect (3P) 9 February 4th, 2015 04:26 PM
kinect v1 vs v2 UltimateInternet Kinect (3P) 4 December 24th, 2014 06:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC