www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Gaming Related Plug-ins > Gaming Related Discussion > Kinect (3P)

Kinect (3P) Discussions related to the Kinect plugin for HS3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 6th, 2017, 06:44 AM
LML LML is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: KY
Posts: 10
Homeseer not detecting Kinect

So I'm running Homeseer on a Win7 VM on ESXi. I followed the directions and installed all the drivers but I can not get Homeseer to detect the Kinect. I can't imagine I need to do anything special because I'm running on a VM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 6th, 2017, 07:53 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
there is some limitations with the kinect SDK and VM. Read this:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj663795.aspx

Quote:
  1. Only the Kinect for Windows sensor will work on a virtual machine. Kinect for Xbox sensors are not supported.
  2. Kinect for Windows will NOT support multiple Kinect for Windows sensors on the same virtual machine.
  3. If a Kinect for Windows sensor is currently visible to a virtual machine and is in use by an application, and a second Kinect for Windows sensor is connected, the original Kinect for Windows sensor will continue functioning, and the second sensor will be ignored. If the application using the Kinect is then stopped and restarted, NO Kinect for Windows sensors will be visible to the application (because there are now two Kinect devices available).
  4. When using Microsoft Hyper-V, the only OS version that supports Kinect for Windows is Windows 8 Enterprise. The Kinect for Windows sensor will NOT work with Hyper-V on Windows Server.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 6th, 2017, 04:34 PM
LML LML is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: KY
Posts: 10
Well that sucks. I'm not sure why running on a VM would prevent the hardware from running but ok. This is the first time I have ever heard of this issue. Well I just tried to get it working remotely but I'm getting the same issue of Kinect Not Found. I assume this is part of the same issue or do I need to have a kinect installed and running on the host Homeseer machine before I can add remote units?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 7th, 2017, 09:35 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by LML View Post
Well that sucks. I'm not sure why running on a VM would prevent the hardware from running but ok. This is the first time I have ever heard of this issue. Well I just tried to get it working remotely but I'm getting the same issue of Kinect Not Found. I assume this is part of the same issue or do I need to have a kinect installed and running on the host Homeseer machine before I can add remote units?
no, running remotely on a windows host should work.
what kind of Kinect sensor do you have? have you installed the kinect SDK on the windows host? are you able to run the apps that come with the SDK?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 7th, 2017, 07:25 PM
LML LML is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: KY
Posts: 10
I am running the Xbox 360 model. I have gotten it working as I can take pictures with it with 3rd party software. At first when I tried to run the command I was getting the error No Kinect Found in the command prompt. Now when I run it, its saying the app can not run on my PC. In running Win10 if that matters. I can however take pictures with 3rd part apps so I know the Kinect is working.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 7th, 2017, 08:16 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by LML View Post
I am running the Xbox 360 model. I have gotten it working as I can take pictures with it with 3rd party software. At first when I tried to run the command I was getting the error No Kinect Found in the command prompt. Now when I run it, its saying the app can not run on my PC. In running Win10 if that matters. I can however take pictures with 3rd part apps so I know the Kinect is working.
have you installed the kinect SDK on the windows host? are you able to run the apps that come with the SDK?
Could you post the debug logs you get when you start the plug-in?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 7th, 2017, 09:09 PM
LML LML is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: KY
Posts: 10
Ok so one of the main issues it looked like I was having was somewhere long the lines 3rd party drivers got installed. I deleted them and the official Microsoft drivers auto installed and the Dev Toolkit worked right away.



I have attached the logs from the CMD prompt and what Homeseer speaker is displaying and the boot logs for Homeseer are below. Im not sure if Speaker has to be working or not to get the voice controls working, but they still are not working. I can see the Kinect in Homeseer now though.

Quote:
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Plug-In~!~Interface Kinect is running as a trial, 28 days remaining.
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Info~!~Plugin Kinect has connected. IP:127.0.0.1:64912
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Z-Wave~!~Z-Net: The Z-Wave API Execution Thread was Started or Restarted.
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Z-Wave~!~Z-Net: Getting node information from controller...
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Kinect~!~INFO Kinect version 3.0.0.45
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Kinect~!~WARNING No Kinect found
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Info~!~Plugin Kinect with instance KinectWin10 has connected. IP:192.168.1.10:50216
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Plug-In~!~Finished initializing plug-in Kinect
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Plug-In~!~Interface BLOnkyo is running as a trial, 29 days remaining.
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Kinect KinectWin10~!~INFO Kinect version 3.0.0.45
5/7/2017 8:58:03 PM ~!~Info~!~Plugin BLOnkyo has connected. IP:127.0.0.1:64915
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Kinect KinectWin10~!~INFO Kinect initialized
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Kinect KinectWin10~!~ERROR System.DllNotFoundException: Unable to load DLL 'KinectAudio10.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E) at Microsoft.Kinect.NativeMethods.NuiGetSpeakerDevices(SpeakerD evice[] deviceBuffer, Int32 size, Int32& count) at Microsoft.Kinect.DmoAudioWrapper.GetSpeakerDevices(SpeakerDe vice[] deviceBuffer, Int32& count) at Microsoft.Kinect.KinectAudioSource.GetDefaultSpeakerIndex() at Microsoft.Kinect.KinectAudioSource..ctor(KinectSensor sensor, INativeAudioWrapper audioWrapper) at Microsoft.Kinect.KinectSensor.get_AudioSource() at HSPI_KINECT.VoiceRecognition.Record()
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Plug-In~!~Finished initializing plug-in BLOnkyo
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Web Server~!~Local IP address (subnet) is: 192.168.1.31 (255.255.255.0)
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Web Server~!~UPNP Discovery started
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Web Server~!~Web Server started on port 80
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Startup~!~Creating ASP.NET application host...
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Startup~!~Start automation engine...
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Startup~!~Initializing Speaker Client Interface
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Speech~!~Listening for remote speaker connections on port 10401
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Database~!~Opening (Mode=Read/Write) up HomeSeer Energy database C:\Program Files (x86)\HomeSeer HS3\Data\Energy\Energy.hsd
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Startup~!~Updater services starting...
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Startup~!~Starting DDNS service...
5/7/2017 8:58:04 PM ~!~Info~!~Starting speaker client...
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 7th, 2017, 09:37 PM
LML LML is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: KY
Posts: 10
Forgot to include the log from my computer, running the remote program.

Quote:
May-07 21:19:04 DEBUG End Init
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Logger Initialized
May-07 21:19:40 INFO Kinect version 3.0.0.45
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG USB\VID_0409&PID_005A\5&37DFC18F&0&2 status=Connected
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Voice Recognition Initialized
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Drawing Zones File
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Deleting image file Kinect/zones_KinectWin10/zones0.jpg
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Writing image file Kinect/zones_KinectWin10/zones1.jpg
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Visual Recognition Initialized
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Web Pages Registered
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG Starting Speech Recognition
May-07 21:19:40 INFO Kinect initialized
May-07 21:19:40 DEBUG End Init
May-07 21:19:40 ERROR System.DllNotFoundException: Unable to load DLL 'KinectAudio10.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)
at Microsoft.Kinect.NativeMethods.NuiGetSpeakerDevices(SpeakerD evice[] deviceBuffer, Int32 size, Int32& count)
at Microsoft.Kinect.DmoAudioWrapper.GetSpeakerDevices(SpeakerDe vice[] deviceBuffer, Int32& count)
at Microsoft.Kinect.KinectAudioSource.GetDefaultSpeakerIndex()
at Microsoft.Kinect.KinectAudioSource..ctor(KinectSensor sensor, INativeAudioWrapper audioWrapper)
at Microsoft.Kinect.KinectSensor.get_AudioSource()
at HSPI_KINECT.VoiceRecognition.Record()
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detecting string changes baudi EasyTrigger Plug-In (3P) 4 June 20th, 2017 07:57 AM
Not Detecting Anything - Just Installed jvicaai UltraMon HSPI 7 April 3rd, 2017 12:21 AM
Kinect triggers - do not fire if one kinect not connected JimBob Kinect (3P) 9 February 4th, 2015 04:26 PM
Detecting LED donstephens Electronic Circuits and Hardware Modifications 14 March 30th, 2010 10:30 PM
Detecting received X-10 Mike HS2 / HSPRO 4 August 28th, 2005 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC