www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Gaming Related Plug-ins > Gaming Related Discussion > Kinect (3P)

Kinect (3P) Discussions related to the Kinect plugin for HS3.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 17th, 2017, 04:55 PM
burnandreturn burnandreturn is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 16
Kinect plugin vs. just using kinect as a microphone

I have bought the Kinect xbox 360, the kinect plugin and Homeseer software. I installed the plugin and got Homeseer to respond voice commands. BUT it is not using the kinect plugin actually it is just using the Kinect as a normal microphone. I disabled the Kinect plugin and everything is still working the same as before.

Will the VR be better if I get the Kinect plugin working or is the performance the same?

If better with the Kinect plugin then I need some help to get it working!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 17th, 2017, 06:49 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,405
yes the VR with the plug-in should be better.

have you installed the drivers and follow the other configuration steps as explained in the user guide ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 17th, 2017, 07:52 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 13,942
Here compared the two (regular VR and Spud's Plugin) on a Pipo X7 (32 bit W10 with some mods / tweaking). I used it concurrently with Spud's Alexa Plugin. Worked well here.

I tested running Spud's Kinect, Alexa and I think I had speaker dot exe running and talking to the main Homeseer mothership running Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit Linux.

I liked mostly that I could tell the Kinect TTS/VR to shut off Alexa whenever.

I was also using an open frame multitouch 15-17" screen. (HSTouch and Kodi and live streaming and recorded TV stuff - tested all of this at the same time and it worked)

Still in limbo though was where to mount the touchscreen with the Kinect over the touchscreen and making this concoction look OK on a wall (even with very low WAF).

Long term plan was to configure in wall touchscreens this way so I purchased 4-5 Kinect's on special here and a few different open frame touchscreens.

I wasn't happy though with the PipoX7. IE: I can do anything today with my current tabletop touchscreens running embedded wintel. The PipoX7's built in network interface is using a USB port. I could put it to sleep but could never wake it up using WOL. Other than that I had no issues with the PipoX7.

The idea here was to velco the PipoX7 to the back of the openframe monitor (and use POE to power touchscreen and PC and Kinect).
__________________
- Pete

Automator

Last edited by Pete; May 17th, 2017 at 11:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kinect as PC microphone? mrceolla Kinect (3P) 6 December 20th, 2016 05:12 PM
How To: Use Kinect plugin with weatherXML CFGuy WeatherXML 16 August 29th, 2015 08:57 AM
Running Kinect plugin remotely kenrad Kinect (3P) 108 June 21st, 2015 04:18 PM
Kinect triggers - do not fire if one kinect not connected JimBob Kinect (3P) 9 February 4th, 2015 04:26 PM
Plugin recognizing Kinect? mtroxell1 Kinect (3P) 3 September 16th, 2014 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC