Virtual Device for Battery Replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Virtual Device for Battery Replacement

I am not a coder, but think I can tackle this, but wanted to get some ideas from others that might have already done this. I want to create a virtual device with just one button that updates the date when pressed. I can use this to know and keep track of the last time I replaced a battery in a device.

Is there anyone already doing this that could share, or is there a better way of dealing with this? I really just want to see if I am truly getting the battery life I think and this would be an easy way to deal with it i think.

This is simple and dirty, but how about a virtual device with a control of Reset and Not coupled with an event that changes it back to Not whenever you click or press on Reset. That would update the last change date each time you press Reset.

You possibly could eliminate the Not control by using an immediate script to set the device value back to Not.
    Attached Files
    HS4 Pro, 4.2.19.16 Windows 10 pro, Supermicro LP Xeon

Comment

Not a script or separate device, but I use the Battery's Notes section to track battery replacement. Here's one Multisensor Battery device I have:
      Attached Files
      Last edited by rmasonjr; January 27, 2016, 03:36 PM. Reason: added screenshot
      HS4Pro on a Raspberry Pi4
      54 Z-Wave Nodes / 21 Zigbee Devices / 108 Events / 767 Devices
      Plugins: Z-Wave / Zigbee Plus / EasyTrigger / AK Weather / OMNI

HSTouch Clients: 1 Android

Comment

Thanks Guys, I didn't even know there was a notes section .

Randy, I think I will do your idea that way I can just do it from my phone when doing the change.

Thanks again.

Comment