SSL Support for mcsMQTT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SSL Support for mcsMQTT

With 3.2.16.0 encryption support was added. I am a novice with encryption and to my knowledge do not have a way to test it. This thread is setup for me to learn and for others to provide feedback on using it with a broker that supports encryption.

The General Tab adds three user entries. One is for the SSL level with 4 secure options available. There is an entry for the caCert file path and an entry for the Client cert file path.

I have evaluated the the UI works to enter these items and they are used when setting up the connection to the broker. I have confirmed that dummy files for the certificates generate an cryptography error (as expected). In this case a non-secure connection is attempted. which may or may not succeed based upon the broker port entered.

Still in learning mode here with Node Red.

Will give it a try with my newest test 1-wire RPi2 hub.

[ATTACH]68133[/ATTACH]
    - Pete

Auto mator
    Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU 16Gb
    Homeseer Zee2 (Lite) - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e - CherryTrail x5-Z8350 BeeLink 4Gb BT3 Pro
    HS4 Lite - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenovo Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram

HS4 Pro - V4.1.18.1 - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenova Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram
    HSTouch on Intel tabletop tablets (Jogglers) - Asus AIO - Windows 11

X10, UPB, Zigbee, ZWave and Wifi MQTT automation-Tasmota-Espurna. OmniPro 2, Russound zoned audio, Alexa, Cheaper RFID, W800 and Home Assistant

Comment

Configured the RPi Node Red / MQTT with encryption. Should I write a step by step for this here?

It took about 5 minutes. Put the mcsMQTT certs in the /Homeseer/sslcert directory.

I do not see the General Tab three user entries in V.3.2.16.0 and just noticed a 3.2.16.1 update.

Disabled and re enabled plugin and see the entries now.

Node Red / MQTT lets you put in locations or browse and upload the certs.