www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > MyHS Remote Access Service

MyHS Remote Access Service Discussions regarding myHomeSeer Remote Access Service

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old August 20th, 2015, 01:34 PM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Asked to log in this am around 10am? Eastern time. The frequency of this has been increasing over the last few weeks. I usually just give up ( no time to tinker) and find another way. This used to be problem free but more and more login screen keeps appearing at random times.


Sent from my iPhone
__________________
Tom
baby steps...starting again with HS3
HS3Pro: Z-NET & 80 Z wave Devices,
HSTouch: 4 Joggler (Android Kitkat), 2 iPhone, 3 iPads
Whole House Audio: 5 SqueezePlay Jogglers w Bose Speakers
In The Works: 10 Cameras Geovision, new Adecmo/Envisalink Alarm, Arduinos
System: XP on Fanless Mini-ITX w/ SSD
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old August 20th, 2015, 02:40 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,517
There was a a problem this morning so it was down for 15 min or so. It has been running on a backup server and was moved back to the primary server at 2:50 PM EST and takes a max of 15 minutes for the DNS to get propagated so it should be fully up on the main server by 3:05 PM EST. We have added some more monitors on the service. This main server has much more bandwidth than the backup server so hopefully you see better results.
__________________
Rich,


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old August 20th, 2015, 03:29 PM
jogentry's Avatar
jogentry jogentry is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 115
I can log in but this is all I get.
Attached Images
 
__________________
HS3 Standard 3.0.258 - Z-wave, Insteon, XBMC, EasyTrigger
Current System:Cisco C220M3 ESXi 5.5 64GB RAM, Windows 7 64-bit

Fighting Lou Gehrig's disease one day at a time. I type with my eyes and can control my home thanks to HS3.
Technology is my cure.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old August 20th, 2015, 03:33 PM
mbreeden's Avatar
mbreeden mbreeden is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY. USA
Posts: 437
Same issue. Can not connect.

***Update: I was able to connect at 4:10 est.

***Update II: Down again at 4:30

- Mike

Last edited by mbreeden; August 20th, 2015 at 04:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old August 20th, 2015, 10:13 PM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Thanks Rich, but wife came home, 5:15 EST, tried to use her phone to open garage door to unload groceries in the heavy rain and dang thing was down. This has been a GREAT service and has high WAF since its introduction. But these days this service falls into the same category as the rest of automation " all this money and never works when you need it" ;-)


Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old August 20th, 2015, 11:08 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,517
The system was up at that time, I was using it, so I need to figure out what would could cause it not to work. Is it working now from your phone? Switching severs causes a dns change so maybe the phone app is not resolving a new ip if its resumed, will have to check that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomTom View Post
Thanks Rich, but wife came home, 5:15 EST, tried to use her phone to open garage door to unload groceries in the heavy rain and dang thing was down. This has been a GREAT service and has high WAF since its introduction. But these days this service falls into the same category as the rest of automation " all this money and never works when you need it" ;-)


Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old August 21st, 2015, 06:09 AM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Rich,
6:15am est just tried again and it still ask to login in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
The system was up at that time, I was using it, so I need to figure out what would could cause it not to work. Is it working now from your phone? Switching severs causes a dns change so maybe the phone app is not resolving a new ip if its resumed, will have to check that.




Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old August 21st, 2015, 09:01 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,517
Try restarting the app and then try to log in again. All appears to be working fine from here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomTom View Post
Rich,
6:15am est just tried again and it still ask to login in.







Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old August 21st, 2015, 09:25 AM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Rich, it is working now. Thanks.
Yesterday I checked the settings and my login n pw were in there. Late last night I updated to the latest hs3touch on the iPhone. In a rush this morning to leave this, I didn't check to see if anything changed. I just looked and saw that the login n pw on the phone became blank due to update?? Anyway it's working now.
My wife's phone yesterday had the latest update and login/pw were in there. I'll have her test her phone this evening.
Thanks again!


Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old August 21st, 2015, 01:28 PM
mbreeden's Avatar
mbreeden mbreeden is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY. USA
Posts: 437
It seems like late morning\early afternoon, the system slows down\stops responding. Like all week, it works great in the morning and then stops. Could it be a load issues (West coast people coming online?).
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old August 21st, 2015, 01:35 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,517
I don't think so, its always fast when I try it, just ran it now and my home device page displayed in about 3 seconds. Note that the server is no where near me either. If you want, when you cannot connect or its really slow, email me a myhs login and I will try it from here. This will tell us if its the WAN connection or the HS connection.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbreeden View Post
It seems like late morning\early afternoon, the system slows down\stops responding. Like all week, it works great in the morning and then stops. Could it be a load issues (West coast people coming online?).
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old August 21st, 2015, 01:38 PM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
1:51 pm Est- no issues. Loaded in less than 3sec.


Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old August 21st, 2015, 02:27 PM
waynehead99 waynehead99 is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,982
I am not sure if this is related at all, but I know i get the failure to connect all the time or hang if I don't force close the app first and open it fresh. This is on my iPhone.

Android does seem to connect/reconnect better than the iPhone app.
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old August 21st, 2015, 02:41 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,517
There is a new feature we added in the HS3Touch IOS app, background refresh. Try turning that off (if its on, or on if its off) and see if that makes a difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waynehead99 View Post
I am not sure if this is related at all, but I know i get the failure to connect all the time or hang if I don't force close the app first and open it fresh. This is on my iPhone.

Android does seem to connect/reconnect better than the iPhone app.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old August 23rd, 2015, 09:11 PM
Rube Goldberg's Avatar
Rube Goldberg Rube Goldberg is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Centreville, Va, USA
Posts: 159
FYI, I had the same problem with the IOS app hanging up and per Rich's suggestion I turned off the background refresh setting and that seems to have helped.
__________________
-----------------------------

Rube Goldberg - accomplishing by complex means what seemingly could be done simply
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old August 23rd, 2015, 10:13 PM
waynehead99 waynehead99 is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,982
Agreed. I disabled it and the iOS app is much more responsive and connects better.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old August 24th, 2015, 07:40 AM
TomTom's Avatar
TomTom TomTom is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Rich so we leave background refresh off in iOS? Is that the consensus? Before we had the background refresh option( pervious version), when you went back to the already open app, it would take for ever to connect and or give error.


Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old August 24th, 2015, 08:57 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,517
I will take a look for the next update and see why the background refresh is causing connection issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomTom View Post
Rich so we leave background refresh off in iOS? Is that the consensus? Before we had the background refresh option( pervious version), when you went back to the already open app, it would take for ever to connect and or give error.


Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old August 24th, 2015, 10:51 AM
collegeboyslive's Avatar
collegeboyslive collegeboyslive is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,125
same issue here today
__________________
detail of setup in profile. Link to videos of my projects there as well. Over 300 scripts running every min and counting
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old August 24th, 2015, 11:14 AM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 36,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by collegeboyslive View Post
same issue here today
Which issue. Many have been covered.
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Connect To MyHS Remote Access Service? Rick Bonari MyHS Remote Access Service 0 December 30th, 2017 02:41 AM
Can I get feeds from home cameras via MyHS service? Alexey Camera Discussion 0 December 18th, 2017 04:42 PM
MyHS Service vs Built-in Server MNB PHLocation Plug-in (3P) 2 November 21st, 2017 06:28 AM
Introducing MyHS Remote Access Service! macromark MyHS Remote Access Service 75 September 5th, 2017 08:19 PM
Error: Creating connection to MyHS service LCrawfo HomeSeer General Discussion Area 10 September 19th, 2014 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC