www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > MyHS Remote Access Service

MyHS Remote Access Service Discussions regarding myHomeSeer Remote Access Service

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 26th, 2017, 10:33 AM
alexbk66 alexbk66 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 118
Question Strange user names in my HS

Just noticed in my HS network configuration page I have three users which I didn't put there:

aspem10@gmail.com
gfarbolin@gmail.com
john@skyhost.net

Where they come from?
Anybody had this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 26th, 2017, 12:13 PM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 36,973
Please put in a support email request at support@homeseer.com.
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 26th, 2017, 01:21 PM
Kerat Kerat is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Colorado USA
Posts: 689
I haven't seen that in mine. When was the last time you checked setup - network? When was the last time you updated? What version did you update to?

Without knowing if/where your accounts or systems were compromised, I would start by checking all your computers for spyware/virus' infections. I would take a look at the BIOS and last changes to see if it has been compromised.

I would take a close look at any recent changes to your firewall and either revert to last known good or factory default it if you suspect it has been compromised.

Once you are reasonably sure your systems are clean reset passwords on all your accounts. I recommend 2 factor authentication on accounts that you tie to many systems. Email accounts that are used as usernames for other systems are a good example.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 26th, 2017, 09:14 PM
alexbk66 alexbk66 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 118
Thank you @Kerat, I didn't check the settings since I installed HS, neither did update, it's on latest version.
My PC security is always up-to-date too. And I didn't make any firewall changes.

I did log a request with HS support, see what they have to say.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 29th, 2017, 03:00 PM
wb-avl wb-avl is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 4
I also just noticed two strange user names

Under web/hstouch user settings I have:


atwellbl@comcast.net

ckanursery@gmail.com


I will send a message to support@homeseer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 30th, 2017, 11:21 AM
alexbk66 alexbk66 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 118
HS Support suggested to update to latest version, I checked the release log - there was a fix for an issue which was creating a new user for logging from HSTouch
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 30th, 2017, 12:55 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,518
What version of HS3 are you on? If you are not on the latest, this could happen.

Also, you can disable "auto create HSTouch users..." setting in setup under the "MyHS" section. That will prevent this from happening no matter what version of HS3 you are on.

We are pretty sure this issue was resolved, but let me know what version HS3 you are on and if the users showed up recently. Its possible they were put there long ago if you have not checked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbk66 View Post
Just noticed in my HS network configuration page I have three users which I didn't put there:

aspem10@gmail.com
gfarbolin@gmail.com
john@skyhost.net

Where they come from?
Anybody had this problem?
__________________
Rich,


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 1st, 2018, 09:47 AM
alexbk66 alexbk66 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
What version of HS3 are you on? If you are not on the latest, this could happen.

Also, you can disable "auto create HSTouch users..." setting in setup under the "MyHS" section. That will prevent this from happening no matter what version of HS3 you are on.

We are pretty sure this issue was resolved, but let me know what version HS3 you are on and if the users showed up recently. Its possible they were put there long ago if you have not checked.
Thank you, HS support also suggested updating to the latest version. And thank you for info about "auto create HSTouch users..." setting
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Banner under user names rmorton27 Message Board Issues, Suggestion, Problems 2 September 30th, 2017 08:49 PM
Strange Windows EXE's with long names Simonk General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 1 January 2nd, 2017 09:07 AM
Can you add user names and passwords to Image boxes? victory.tl Designer 1 February 16th, 2012 03:58 PM
Request: User assigned names TechHA Direct Input Connector 1 August 9th, 2007 05:52 AM
Internet security and web user names disappearing Bill Brower HS2 / HSPRO 0 November 2nd, 2005 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC