www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area

HomeSeer General Discussion Area General discussion about HomeSeer that does not fall into any other category or are not specific to 1.x or 2.x versions of HomeSeer.

View Poll Results: What do you automate or wish to automate?
Light Switches or Modules 234 98.32%
Thermostats (HVAC) 191 80.25%
Door Locks 123 51.68%
Security System 149 62.61%
Audio / Video Equipment 163 68.49%
Appliances 111 46.64%
Outdoor Vehicle - Intrusion Detection 53 22.27%
Garage Doors 151 63.45%
Environmental Sensors (motion, temp, humidity, light, etc) 200 84.03%
Water Detection and Control 124 52.10%
Energy Management 121 50.84%
Pool / Spa Management 40 16.81%
Media Management - Music 106 44.54%
Media Management - Movies / Videos 60 25.21%
Irrigation System 101 42.44%
IP Cameras 164 68.91%
Other - please post 18 7.56%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 238. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old July 16th, 2013, 07:19 PM
jabrans jabrans is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 356
Here's my list:
10 one-wire temp sensors with Temp08 and mcsTemp: controls duct fan when fireplace insert heats up, turns off box fans at night after the room cools off. Text / email if freezer temp goes above 15 degrees.

Oregon Scientific temp sensors via RFXCom: monitors garden hoop house so we know when to uncover it, monitor temp of Weber grill when smoking meat with iPhone display and announcement when temp is outside range

Lights via Insteon and X-10, turn off kids reading light based on day of week and time, timer on hallway light so it only stays on for 2 minutes. 10, 30 and 60 minute timer buttons on KPL8 to control bathroom fan. Turn off bathroom light when it's daylight since the skylight is enough light but kids can't figure out when the light isn't needed.

Honeywell ZWave tstat

Appliances via plug-in modules, crockpot for slow cooking

IP Cameras displayed on kitchen touchscreen using HSTouch, switch to camera on back yard gate when the gate is open (gate monitored via Elk M1G with UltraM1G plug-in), IP cams recorded with BlueIris

Motion Sensors to turn on lights when rooms are occupied but mostly to turn off when not-occupied. Both X-10 wireless and security hardwired sensors connected to Elk M1G.

Elk M1G via UltraM1G plug-in, some automation in Elk rules, announce if inside garage door is left open, announce if freezer door is left open, disable non-alarm voices during time I leave for work so family isn't disturbed by Elk announcements, text / email when certain users disarm the alarm, close garage doors when system is armed after 8PM, open/close garage doors from HSTouch. Update timer duration for each kids monthly to increase their timeout timer which is activate from Elk keypad or HSTouch.

WGL800 and ACRF2: DS10A to monitor outside rat trap so I know via text when there's a dead rat, DS10 sensor to let the kids know when they've left their sock drawer open, they are always getting out socks... 4 button slimline X10 controllers programmed to turn on lights or activate events to give kids their own control pads, disable buttons based on time of day.

Ocelot & Secu16: IR control of Denon amp and CD player for upstairs music, control 1 irrigation valve to water garden. Keep track of stereo presets so HSTouch buttons can tune Denon to desired preset.

Events: keep track of every other week Recycle or Yard Waste and display on kitchen touchscreen in HSTouch so I get the right cans set out, vacation events to control lights when we are gone, scrape Puget Sound Clean Air Agencies website for local burn bans so I don't start a fire when there's a burn ban. 2 kitchen timers controlled and displayed on kitchen HSTouch
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old July 19th, 2013, 09:54 PM
lveatch lveatch is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA - Illinois
Posts: 179
- Typicial lights based on time of day/week and light levels.
- Bath Fan will turn off after left on for a certain amount ot time. I kept forgetting to turn it off on the weekends and it would run for many hour either sucking out what the HVAC was pumping out. I also would have a certain day of the week where I would have a different morning routine where I would shower, dress and leave for work. It is nice to leave the fan on knowing it would turn off on my way to work - thus removing the humid air.
- My bedside alarm clock. I use HSTouch on my old Droid X sitting in a media stand. It has the standard clock, current outdoor weather info, eg. temp, wind speed/direction, hi's, low's, etc. Also a few common light control buttons, bath fan control (manual override), garage door status. It is very nice to set up my alarm schedule within HS for the weekdays and weekends. No more adjusts a single alarm setting every night.
- While my garage doors are web enabled, this was before swithing my home automation to homeseer. I built my own solution using an Arduino allowing the family to use a web site, hosted on my home network, or text message. I manged to get the Arduino to communicate to homeseer via a web service and update virtual devices. This triggers events, status viewed within HST and will speak to me at night if not closed as well as email notification. This is great in the morning on my way to work. No more turning back to check if the doors are closed.
- This same Arduino monitors for water leaks for the washing machine, dish washer, water heater and sump pump. I use remote water sensors from SkyLInk to a central device monitored by the Arduino. HS is updated with the last time checked. I can receive alerts triggered by the Arduino and HS. I also receive alerts from HS if the last time the water sensors were check was too long ago.
- I am curreenly working on temp monitoring of my garage refrig. I've lost power out there a few times and lost most of what was in the freezer.... and the beer got warm!
- I am also working on a way to monitor the water level of our rather small outside pond. I am wanting to add water to it when the water level is low. I am stuck trying to figure out how to automatically add bleach to the water while filling the pond. I know there are several siphoning techniques available, still considering DIY options. Pretty low on my radar.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old July 22nd, 2013, 07:07 AM
jeff_lawes's Avatar
jeff_lawes jeff_lawes is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 23
Thumbs up

Len, this sounds exactly like what I want to do with Arduino. Can you please share how you go the Arduino and Homeseer talking to each other?

I am planning on having a 12V run for all my LED lights with a battery backup and using separate arduino's for control over a common I2C. I don't want to miss out on Homeseer events like "All lights on" or "Bedtime mode".

I have x10 lights at the moment and I want to get more motion sensors for better automation. I am sick of wireless sensors which don't quite reach the receiver or run out of batteries too frequently. Whether I get an Alarm panel with wired sensors or have something running off the Arduino I haven't decided yet

I also have My Homeseer monitoring my Media Center so that when I start playing a video it switches to Movie Mode and Dims the Lights and stops the motion sensor events. This switches back when the video playback stops.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old July 22nd, 2013, 10:17 AM
Gerard Gerard is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 382
Answered survey for items automated. Outsite the list I monitor salt level in the water softner with an Arduino and the Cat door with a DS10A that triggers a WAV " Meow"
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old July 22nd, 2013, 11:02 PM
lveatch lveatch is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA - Illinois
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff_lawes View Post
Len, this sounds exactly like what I want to do with Arduino. Can you please share how you go the Arduino and Homeseer talking to each other?
.
Jeff, in short, I have the ethernet shield connected to the Arduino. I use the Ethernet library which does a client connection to a web server (IIS) running on my HS box (windows xp pro pc). I wrote a small simple web service which accepts a query string containing a HS device code (V62) and a condition / value. The web service (Perl cgi) validates the query string then establishes a connection to HS via OLE. While I am using Perl for my scripting needs, I used the HS scripting examples as reference material. E.G. hs.setdevicevalue, hs.setdevicestring, etc.

At this time I only have the Arduino talking to HomeSeer. My pond project will have HomeSeer talking to the Arduino. For this HS to Arduino communication, I plan on using the Ethernet library as well. I use this for the web enabled garage door to open and close the door. The same Arduino is programmed to accept http requests (Ethernet server functions), I should be able to use HomeSeer's web functions to send commands to the Arduino.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old November 16th, 2017, 11:25 AM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,713
I checked the things on that list that I currently automate, but there are others I want to automate, but just haven't gotten to yet (like adding a security system and automating that).

Another one, which your "vehicle" one comes close to, is I got a new F150 and it has FordPass with remote lock/unlock and remote start. I've contacted Ford for access to the API to accesss at least Locking (I don't need access to the other two, though remote start could be interesting if you wanted to automate it "Alexa, tell homeseer to start the truck for me").

So far they don't want to give out access (understandably), but I'm hoping they change their mind.
__________________
Thanks,
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old November 22nd, 2017, 08:35 PM
wadesready wadesready is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: cabo rojo puerto rico
Posts: 293
along with all the lights, cameras, motion sensors, door locks etc...one of the coolest things (to me any way) is being able to keep track of the voltage and amp hours on my solar battery bank.

I have extra solar panels hooked to a water heater, and depending on how bad the weather has been I may want to divert the water heater solar panels to charge my batteries. I also have what I call low voltage events where some lights, cameras, etc also will remain off depending on how many amp hours have been used. During the month following Hurricane Maria with no grid power, phones, or internet I learned a lot about power management.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old November 30th, 2017, 01:30 PM
Archcantor's Avatar
Archcantor Archcantor is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: CT
Posts: 46
Besides the regular stuff others do I like to go a little deeper. For example, I created an interface to look at the voltage applied to the hydronic heating system zone valves so HS can know if the zone valves are open or closed. I opened an Oregon temperature sensor, extended it's internal sensor on a long wire, and inserted it into the boiler insulation. I recalibrated it to match the boiler temperature gauge. Now I know if the boiler is hot and if the zone valves are opening. On my Thermostat screens in HSTouch, the thermostat displays its status such as heating, cooling or idle. Right below that I added the zone valve status so when I see the thermostat reporting Heating I also see the zone valve reporting Open. My thermostats, CT-100, are not robust in reporting their status automatically. It was a simple thing to force a poll whenever the zone valve changed state rather than unnecessary polling.

I have successfully used Homeseer ADIO-100, Velleman K8055 and Ardunio for the real-world interfaces including monitoring hard wired door switches from an outdated alarm system.

For my basement office I have a floor AC unit vented to the outside. I created a virtual thermostat for it using Homeseer events, an Oregon temperature sensor, and a power control module on the AC. Fortunately the AC returns to its last setting on power up. The event monitors the Oregon temperature + or - 0.5 degrees and turns the AC power on or off depending on the room temperature along with a two minute non re-trigger delay to prevent restart of the compressor too quickly. The HSTouch thermostat screen looks just like the real thermostat screens.

-Rick
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old December 4th, 2017, 08:56 AM
ServiceXp's Avatar
ServiceXp ServiceXp is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 826
This is in response to the 'other' option of the survey.

I automate fan, fresh air, filtration control, and print status notification in response to 3D Printing. Octoprint >> MQTT >> HS3 >> x
__________________
RJ_Make On YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old February 11th, 2018, 10:49 PM
BeenHeavyinFlorida BeenHeavyinFlorida is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 51
Besides lighting and cameras: Television, sound bar and Apple TV through a Global Cache Wifi2IR, door lock, and water heater. I use the lighting as the alarm clock. The lights ramp up over a time span like a sunrise for the wake up routine.

The GC Wifi2IR makes it easy to switch from streaming to antenna TV, switch channels, and turn everything on and off with voice control (Amazon Echo).
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old May 30th, 2018, 07:37 PM
Rvtravlr's Avatar
Rvtravlr Rvtravlr is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 483
We automate:

All man door locks
Garage door
Lights with HS dimmers and switches
Ceiling fans with GE fan dimmer
Fireplace
Exhaust fans based on humidity in bathrooms
Thermostats using CT-100’s
Cooling and heating based on inside and outside temperatures
Irrigation with OpenSprinkler
TVs and AV equipment using Harmony Hubs
Closet and pantry lights based on in-door sensors
Lighting based on various events and motion sensors - we rarely touch a switch
Cameras with Blue Iris
Location tracking with PHLocation

Next up will be Venetian blinds and when available, sliding glass door locks.

HS3 has a steep learning curve but with the help of this forum’s members you will find that the curve will start to flatten.
__________________
Michael

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.435 | 819 devices | 373 events | OpenSprinkler | BLShutdown | EasyTrigger | NetCAM | Harmony Hub | Sonos | SDJ-Health | BLUPS | PHLocation | BLBackup | BLLock | Z-Wave | weatherXML | Pushover 3P | Blue-Iris |
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old May 31st, 2018, 12:31 AM
mda mda is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 71
Exactly What Do You Automate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rvtravlr View Post
We automate:
...

Fireplace

...

Next up will be Venetian blinds and when available, sliding glass door locks.

@ Rvtravlr

I have been looking to automate my fireplaces (currently have gas fireplaces with RF remotes) and existing Venetian blinds (wasted a lot of money on a kickstarter that never shipped).

If you would not mind sharing if/how you integrate both of those with HS3 I would really appreciate it. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old May 31st, 2018, 09:05 PM
Rvtravlr's Avatar
Rvtravlr Rvtravlr is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by mda View Post
@ Rvtravlr

I have been looking to automate my fireplaces (currently have gas fireplaces with RF remotes) and existing Venetian blinds (wasted a lot of money on a kickstarter that never shipped).

If you would not mind sharing if/how you integrate both of those with HS3 I would really appreciate it. Thanks!
Using this
https://www.amazon.com/NFS20Z-Enable...s=Nortek+fs20z

I wired it in parallel with the existing low voltage line to the fireplace controller.

Venetian blinds are an Indigogo campaign.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/i...t#/updates/all
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old May 31st, 2018, 09:28 PM
langenet's Avatar
langenet langenet is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,642
I too automate my fireplace but use a Fortrezz MIMOLite Zwave Input Output Module.
One a safety side, I also used an event which shuts off the fireplace after being on for 60 minutes. As well, I do monitor the temperature in the family room where I have a sensor on a table close to the fireplace. Should the temperature reach 73 degrees and the fireplace is on, it will turn it off. Can't be too careful...

Robert
__________________
HS3PRO 3.0.0.435 as a Fire Daemon service, Windows 2016 Server Std Intel Core i5 PC HTPC Slim SFF 4GB, 120GB SSD drive, WLG800, RFXCom, TI103,NetCam, UltraNetcam3, BLBackup, CurrentCost 3P Rain8Net, MCsSprinker, HSTouch, Ademco Security plugin/AD2USB, various Oregon Scientific temp/humidity sensors, Z-Net, Zsmoke, Aeron Labs micro switches, Amazon Echo Dot, WS+, WD+ ... on and on.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old May 31st, 2018, 09:37 PM
Rvtravlr's Avatar
Rvtravlr Rvtravlr is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by langenet View Post
I too automate my fireplace but use a Fortrezz MIMOLite Zwave Input Output Module.
One a safety side, I also used an event which shuts off the fireplace after being on for 60 minutes. As well, I do monitor the temperature in the family room where I have a sensor on a table close to the fireplace. Should the temperature reach 73 degrees and the fireplace is on, it will turn it off. Can't be too careful...

Robert
All very good ideas. We, too have many failsafe events. Here are a couple...
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old June 1st, 2018, 02:29 AM
mda mda is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 71
Exactly What Do You Automate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rvtravlr View Post
Using this

https://www.amazon.com/NFS20Z-Enable...s=Nortek+fs20z

I wired it in parallel with the existing low voltage line to the fireplace controller.

Venetian blinds are an Indigogo campaign.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/i...t#/updates/all
Thanks.

How I wish I had wired fireplace switches and cords on my blinds
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old June 1st, 2018, 07:50 AM
langenet's Avatar
langenet langenet is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,642
I don't have a wired switch to my fireplace - actually glad I don't, but rather a remote receiver only which sits on the bottom of the fireplace.
I just followed the wires for the remote receiver and fished a pair from my basement where my Mimolite lives. It's just a contact closure which turns on/off the fireplace.

I doubt that you're out of luck.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old June 23rd, 2018, 10:34 AM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by langenet View Post
I don't have a wired switch to my fireplace - actually glad I don't, but rather a remote receiver only which sits on the bottom of the fireplace.
I just followed the wires for the remote receiver and fished a pair from my basement where my Mimolite lives. It's just a contact closure which turns on/off the fireplace.

I doubt that you're out of luck.

Robert
I surprised that your fireplace has no On/off switch. Mine has a three way switch thermostat/off/manual on. I always put it in the off position when I am away from the house for a day or more. Lightning/power surges/etc. can make strange things happen. I would rather be safe than sorry.

Steve Q
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.368, Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 - Home, Number of Devices: 373, Number of Events: 666, Enabled Plug-Ins
2.0.83.0: BLRF, 2.0.10.0: BLUSBUIRT, 3.0.0.75: HSTouch Server, 3.0.0.58: mcsXap, 3.0.0.11: NetCAM, 3.0.0.36: X10, 3.0.1.25: Z-Wave,Alexa,HomeKit
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old June 23rd, 2018, 04:35 PM
langenet's Avatar
langenet langenet is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,642
I never installed the fireplace - actually, it's an insert. The only way it can power on is with the RF-remote which talks to a battery powered switch(receiver). I just connect to the contacts that are operated by the remote. I'm not sure how to improve safety with that.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old Today, 06:38 AM
Steve Q's Avatar
Steve Q Steve Q is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by langenet View Post
I never installed the fireplace - actually, it's an insert. The only way it can power on is with the RF-remote which talks to a battery powered switch(receiver). I just connect to the contacts that are operated by the remote. I'm not sure how to improve safety with that.

Robert
I think using the remote to control the fireplace is probably safe and that has been extensively tested by the manufacturer. However, you have now connected it to another device which means that a malfunction of the connected circuit could cause the fireplace to turn on. IMHO a manual switch is absolutely needed. Just put a disconnect switch on one or both of the wires that you added.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC