www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware > HomeTroller Zee

HomeTroller Zee Discussions related to the HomeTroller Zee automation controller based on Linux.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 16th, 2014, 05:01 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,228
How To Configure HomeTroller Zee for Multi-Protocol (Z-Wave / X10) Operation

Steps to initialize Z-Wave and X10 on a Hometroller Zee

PROBLEM: HomeTroller Zee includes an automatic port assignment function that's designed to simplify setup for users with a single protocol system (Z-Wave or X10). However, users with a multi-protocol system (Z-Wave and X10) may experience port assignment problems if the Z-Wave or X10 interfaces are detached and reattached to/from the system before being fully configured. If you have a multi-protocol system, follow the configuration steps below to ensure proper port assignment.

SOLUTION
  1. Navigate to the PLUG-INS > Z-Wave > Controller Management page and disable the Z-Wave interface. If there is a white button with a green checkbox at the top of the area, click it. If there is a yellow button with a red circle, no action is needed.
  2. Navigate to the PLUG-INS > Manage page and disable the X10 and Z-Wave plug-ins.
  3. Detach the X10 and Z-Wave interfaces from your HomeTroller Zee. Leave these detached until prompted to reattach below.
  4. Navigate to the TOOLS > System > Restart System page and click the [Restart...] button to restart your HomeTroller Zee.
  5. After the Zee has fully booted, attach the X10 interface cable to one of the USB ports. Navigate to the PLUG-INS > Manage page, select the available port and enable the X10 plug-in. Test the X10 plugin by creating an X10 device in the device management page.
  6. If X10 testing was successful, navigate to then PLUG-INS > Manage page and enable the Z-Wave plug-in. NOW, attach to Z-Stick to the remaining USB port. The system will reboot and assign a port to the ZStick.
  7. Once the box has restarted, navigate to PLUG-INS > Z-Wave > Controller Management page and click the yellow button with the red crossed circle to enable the Z-Stick interface.
At this point, both interfaces should be properly connected and fully functional.
Note: To avoid future port assignment problems, do not disconnect the X10 interface cable.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 12th, 2014, 10:06 PM
zeronsawp zeronsawp is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Quaker Hill CT
Posts: 7
X10 and Zwave Procedure Startup

The setup procedure recommended for X10, Zwave and a T103 works for me if followed exactly and the T103 choice is made. However, if I do a power boot or remove the Zstick for a new Zwave device addition, which starts a reboot, the Zee defaults back to the CM11A choice and there is an X10 device fatal error. The error can be corrected by going back and re-setting the Zee to the T103 again. Nothing is lost but any sort of reboot will require the reset all over again. I hope this Zee behavior can be corrected with a firmware update soon since any power failure will cause the X10 operation to fail.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 12th, 2014, 10:11 PM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeronsawp View Post
The setup procedure recommended for X10, Zwave and a T103 works for me if followed exactly and the T103 choice is made. However, if I do a power boot or remove the Zstick for a new Zwave device addition, which starts a reboot, the Zee defaults back to the CM11A choice and there is an X10 device fatal error. The error can be corrected by going back and re-setting the Zee to the T103 again. Nothing is lost but any sort of reboot will require the reset all over again. I hope this Zee behavior can be corrected with a firmware update soon since any power failure will cause the X10 operation to fail.
Please put in a bugzilla bug ticket on this issue.
homeseer.com/bugzilla/
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 15th, 2014, 09:35 PM
Sgt. Shultz's Avatar
Sgt. Shultz Sgt. Shultz is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 597
The next update should take care of revert to the CM11A.
__________________
Wade



website | products | support | youtube
I know nothing...., nothing!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 14th, 2017, 09:32 AM
Zmanzd Zmanzd is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 1
USB port ?

New to this. On initial setup for x10 interface can't find proper port assignment in dropdown list. Please help.

Current Date/Time: 12/14/2017 8:15:40 AM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 ZEE Edition 3.0.0.368
Linux version: Linux HomeTrollerZEE 3.10.25+ #622 PREEMPT Fri Jan 3 18:41:00 GMT 2014 armv6l GNU/Linux System Uptime: 0 Days 13 Hours 22 Minutes 23 Seconds
IP Address:
Number of Devices: 0
Number of Events: 0
Available Threads: 99

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.0.0.4: CM15A
3.0.0.36: X10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Configure Aeon multi-sensor? picta Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 1 April 20th, 2013 01:57 PM
Questions about Z-Wave handshake protocol Searider HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 0 January 3rd, 2011 09:57 PM
Can't configure WDTC-20 Z-Wave thermostat mikeshapp HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 20 September 13th, 2009 10:38 AM
Custom multi-purpose modules, protocol and HS2 acebillyfr Plug-In Development 0 October 29th, 2007 06:42 AM
Custom multi-purpose modules, protocol and HS2 acebillyfr UK/Europe 0 October 29th, 2007 06:39 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC