www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Hardware > HomeTroller Zee

HomeTroller Zee Discussions related to the HomeTroller Zee automation controller based on Linux.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 1st, 2013, 01:23 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,659
Full desktop on your Zee

Just an FYI for those of you who want to experiment with your Zee.

There is a desktop available, just login with SSH then type "startx".

This will start the desktop where you can do more with your Zee. There is an advanced wifi config app as well as a file manager. It supports accessing Windows shares also.

We don't recommend running the desktop continously while HS3 is running as you may run low on memory. Just exit the desktop when you are done.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 3rd, 2013, 04:38 PM
ebyars ebyars is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 15
I'm guessing you have to hook up an HDMI monitor and keyboard. I tried "startx" in a Putty session and did not get a GUI.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 3rd, 2013, 05:09 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,659
Putty is text only, startx starts XWindows which uses graphics so you do need an HDMI monitor attached to view.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebyars View Post
I'm guessing you have to hook up an HDMI monitor and keyboard. I tried "startx" in a Putty session and did not get a GUI.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 31st, 2013, 10:16 PM
lveatch lveatch is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA - Illinois
Posts: 179
Can MobaXterm be substituted for putty + attached monitor? MobaXterm has a built in X server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
Putty is text only, startx starts XWindows which uses graphics so you do need an HDMI monitor attached to view.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 1st, 2014, 04:48 AM
Phill
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi.

I've not tried MobaXterm. However I had a quick look at the spec and It looks like it should work perfectly well with Zee.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 30th, 2015, 06:20 PM
DESIi1's Avatar
DESIi1 DESIi1 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bloomfield Hills, MI
Posts: 75
MobaXterm connecting to the ZEE S2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Hi.

I've not tried MobaXterm. However I had a quick look at the spec and It looks like it should work perfectly well with Zee.
Was it confirmed if the xserver would work on the ZEE?

If yes, then would it work on the ZEE S2? That would be very convenient.

A quick set of instructions would be appreciated for the Windows guys here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 29th, 2015, 11:36 AM
cbhous cbhous is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Rich
When I enter startx I get "Fatal: Module g2d_23 not found' AND no GUI. I am using MobaXterm.

Thanks Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 29th, 2015, 02:30 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,282
Works here. Very nice program. I just tried the portable version.

Personally do not use the x-windows RPI2 GUI with the RPi2.

I have never used the RPi2 Zee-2 in xwindows mode.

I configured a session and used root to access my RPi2.

I get the same error if I type startx.

Once in typed lxsession and a large GUI opened up 1900X1200 with the RPi2 desktop on one of my monitors.

I use three monitors today but would tweak down the desktop to something easier to look at if I were to use this program.

Try typing in lxsession rather than startx to see the gui...it worked for me.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.435

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT

Last edited by Pete; July 29th, 2015 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full .NET mcsSprinklers Michael McSharry mcsSprinklers 58 April 11th, 2009 10:41 PM
On to full ON dhk HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 1 March 3rd, 2007 07:03 PM
Que Full zap HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 17 January 31st, 2007 10:02 AM
Queue Full zap HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 1 December 6th, 2006 04:01 PM
WeatherPLUG 1.0 Full dale3h WeatherPLUG (3P) 0 December 1st, 2003 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC