Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Autelis works with Amazon Alexa? Autelis Vs Pentair Screen Logic alexa skill...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi guys, sorry, I'm new to home automation and now i'm getting into controlling my pool.

I just moved to a new home and there was a pretty antiquated pool controller, the ones that have dials and little pins to control when it goes on and off. And to turn on my spa, I have to walk outside and turn valves and turn on the heater, then use the spa, then go back and shut it all off.

I talked to my pool guy (I know nothing about pools before this) and he told me I needed a:

Easytouch 8SCH-IC40 (520545) along with a Pentair Screen Logic bundle (522104)

He said this would connect wirelessly and I would be able to control all my pool functions on my phone via pentair's app.

I was reading up on this and saw lots of amazon reviews for the screen logic saying it didn't work very well and to consider the Autelis.

My only concern with Autelis is will it work with Amazon Alexa to use voice commands, mainly to turn on my pool lights, or set the spa heat, or something like that?

It seems Pentair recently came out with a Alexa Skill that allows users to use Voice to control some aspects like turning on and off the lights.

https://www.amazon.com/Pentair-Scree.../dp/B01J95QV86

Anyone set up the Autelis for voice control?

Any idea if I should go with Autelis or just stick with the Screen Logic? Price isn't that big of an issue since i'm spending thousands anyway.

Also, does the Autelis need a cat internet cable running directly outside to connect? I do not have any indoor keypads or panels in my system. Everything is outside. Is there no way to get wireless?

Sorry for the long winded post. I appreciate any help!

Bankingdom,

I have a Pentair Suntouch and the Autelis device.

I can control my pumps, the heater and check the air and water temperature via Alexa.