Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Considering Homeseer for New Construction

Hi-

I am just learning about HA and HS3. Building a fairly large house and I planned on using a PC with HS3 and a usb stick. Will have Z-wave + devices scattered throughout house. There will be ethernet drops throughout the house. I am concerned about the distance from the furthest device to the PC.

Question: is it advisable to have an ADDITIONAL hardware interface strategically placed so all z-wave devices can communicate with HS3? In other words, is there a repeater of some sort that I should be considering?

Thank you.

Originally posted by SANDYMAR View Post
    Hi-

I am just learning about HA and HS3. Building a fairly large house and I planned on using a PC with HS3 and a usb stick. Will have Z-wave + devices scattered throughout house. There will be ethernet drops throughout the house. I am concerned about the distance from the furthest device to the PC.

Question: is it advisable to have an ADDITIONAL hardware interface strategically placed so all z-wave devices can communicate with HS3? In other words, is there a repeater of some sort that I should be considering?

Thank you.
    From personal experience, I would recommend 1 or more Z+Nets instead of a USB controller. That allows the controller(s) to be put in optimal location(s) regardless of where your HS server is. They can be Ethernet or WiFi. I have one on Ethernet (primary) and a couple on WiFi (outbuildings) and they all remain reliably connected. This topology puts all nodes within 50 feet of a controller, most much closer than that.

All mains powered Z-Wave devices will act as a repeater, so you can just build out your network without additional repeaters.
    HS4 Pro, 4.2.19.0 Windows 10 pro, Supermicro LP Xeon

Comment

Second That, znet is all you need. Devices do the repeating. Experience with 6500sf with no problem.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

THANK YOU!