Tasker TTS with sound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tasker TTS with sound

I'm brand new to Tasker (and HS). I somehow managed to get Tasker to speak text on an old Android phone. However, I can't figure out how to get it play any sounds using the HS3 SAY task. My understanding is that adding <alarm> or <system> should play a sound that is built into the phone (see photo 1). I don't know how to select those sound files. When I go into Task Edit (see photo 2), I see red vertical bars which I am guessing means that something needs to be defined. But when I go into Action Edit, I don't see anything that would allow me to define a sound file.

I was able to create a test Task with Action-Notify Sound. This let me pick a Sound File and plays that sound.

I'm totally missing something
    Attached Files

Hi Fcol, welcome aboard.

SAY task can only be used for Text to speech. The different tags is used to direct the speech to the android mixer. Ex. if you at night have multimedia volume down you can still send alarm message to sound at night etc.
    To play a soundfile you need to store it under Tasker/soundfiles and trigger the command by custom command.
    Ex. play=yoursoundfile.mp3
    or
    play=http://static1.grsites.com/archive/sounds/cartoon/cartoon180.wav
    When using url it will also save the souldfile under Tasker/soundfiles
    Please excuse any spelling and grammatical errors I may make.
    --
    Tasker Plugin / Speech Droid
    Tonlof | Sweden

Comment

Hi I have been trying to use the tts service etc and I have followed all the instructions for setting up tasker to connect to the plugin etc.
      I can choose my device and the action of 'text to speech' but It doesn't load the extra box for 'set device string to' meaning I can't actually type anything in to send. It doesn't come up the device string box on any of the other commands either e.g. Send custom URL etc.

Am I doing something obviously wrong?