Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

HS3 Speaker Client code? I want to make a Pi3 client using Win10 IoT.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi everyone,

I'm new to HomeSeer but I'm loving it so far!

I'd like to have various HS3 speaker clients around my home, so I'm thinking it would be cool to use a Raspberry Pi 3 to host them. I could buy a small cheap USB-powered speaker and plug it into the Pi, and it wouldn't cost me a fortune in power. I'd preferably like to run the client on Win10 IoT. I'm a developer at Microsoft, so I'm partial to their products . Plus, Win10 IoT on the RPi3 is pretty sweet and easy to use, and I'm guessing the Speaker client code is probably already written in .NET so I'd hope it wouldn't be too hard to port it over to a Universal project so that it could run on IoT.

Anyway, a few questions. First, is there already a speaker client for the Pi (Linux, Windows, or otherwise)? Second, is there reference code available for making a speaker client, or would it be possible for me to get access to such code? I looked around for answers to both those questions. I found some references to using Squeezebox on Linux but I was hoping for something more direct.

Thanks!

What a great idea! Win 10 IoT based pi speaker clients would great! I bet you need to contact Rich directly for the code though. I'm not sure how open it is currently, but perhaps something could be done to change that. There is a chance he won't see this post so you should pm, email or (gasp) call him directly.

HS3 : HSpro (3.0.0.460) on Win2012 (vm on ESXi)
    Plugins: HSTouch, UPBSpud, Kinect, Nest, IFTTT, DirecTV, EasyTrigger, Imperihome, Zwave, RFXcom, UltraMon3, UltraWeatherBug3, UltraGCIR3, UltraLog3, UltraPioneer, PHLocation, Pushover, Pushalot, MCSSPrinklers S, JowiHue
    Jon00 Plugins: Bluetooth Proximity, Performance Monitor, DB Chart, Links

Comment