Questions on cabin with detached shed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions on cabin with detached shed

I am new to home automation, but very savvy with computers/networking/surveillance and am looking to secure/better monitor our lake home. My plan of action/requirements are:
    - Security cameras on both the detached metal building 100 or so yards from the cabin and also on the front and back of the cabin. Looking hard at Hikvision and Blue Iris.
    - buildings would be linked wirelessly with Ubiquiti Airmax products
    - Would like to implement a driveway sensor that detects incoming vehicles and depending on away / present mode would trigger interior lights to come on, along with notifying us
    - would also be nice to have an electronic water valve to shut off the main water line and also have a few moisture detectors around water heaters/pressure tank, etc.

A few questions:
    - Are there any recommendations on a driveway sensor? I have looked around the forums and it seems like the Dakota Alert products are well regarded. Other good options?
    - As the network will be wirelessly bridged with Ubiquiti Airmax products connected to a POE switch in the detached building for cameras, I also would need some type of Z-Wave or other controller to interface with the driveway sensor, as the sensor would be about 200 yards from the house. It looks as though a HomeSeer Z-Net device is best for this?
    - Is it possible in the HomeSeer software to have separate modes, so that if we are away and someone trips the driveway sensor, certain lights / actions take place; versus if we are home, i could have a separate set of actions take place?
    - I would plan to build a "server" of sorts to run the Blue Iris software. Any reason why HomeSeer software wouldn't easily run on the same machine?

Thanks in Advance,
    Andrew