www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer International Forums and User Groups > International Forums & All User Groups > International User Groups > UK/Europe

UK/Europe Discussions relating to the use of HomeSeer in the UK and Europe.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 27th, 2016, 02:25 PM
Traction Tim's Avatar
Traction Tim Traction Tim is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, UK
Posts: 194
iSpyconnect, Json, and HS3 Pro.

I've had a good day with HS3 today. I decided I wanted a CCTV camera connected to iSpyconnect to send a command to HS3 (On the same pc) to turn some outside lights on if movement was detected by iSpyconnect. Now I'm an Electrical Engineer rather than a programmer type of chap, but I'm happy to say it was quite easy with Json and the HS3 help info. I was able to trial the Json commands from a browser on a different pc, and get HS3 to switch things, and then added the commands in iSpyconnect.

iSpyconnect can now send a command to HS3

One virtual device and one event later, and they only come on at night, and turn off after 10 minutes.
__________________
Win 7 | HS3 Pro 3.0.0.313 | Z wave plug in 3.0.1.108 | HSTouch Server 3.0.0.104 | Android HSTouch 1.0.144 | UZB1 z wave | CurrentCost 3P 0.0.0.40 | BLUSBUIRT 2.0.10.0 | CM11 3.0.0.36 | RFXtrx433 30.0.0.34 | iSpy Connect CCTV | DVBLink V6 T2 & S2 with motorised dish | Emby | Hi-Phone HS3 |
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 29th, 2016, 07:21 AM
naellis naellis is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 452
I'm interested in this.....I've been using iSpy (stand alone version) for many months now and has worked extremely well for me. I'm familiar with json commands but not sure how to add a command to an iSpy camera trigger. Can you enlighten me ?

edit:

OK I found the add URL under Alerts and works well.......nice ! There are some interesting possibilities now....

Last edited by naellis; February 29th, 2016 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 29th, 2016, 07:53 AM
Traction Tim's Avatar
Traction Tim Traction Tim is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, UK
Posts: 194
Hi naellis, if you edit the settings for the camera, and click on the "Alerts" tab, you will see "Actions". Go to the selector next to "When", and choose "Recording started". Now go to "Select Action" and click on "Call URL", then simply add your JSON command.
Note that after you saved the settings, when you next go to this setting page, it will be showing "Alert" in the "When" selector, and your command will not be visible. Simply change the "When" selector back to "Recording started", and your JSON command will re-appear.
Good luck,

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 29th, 2016, 08:04 AM
naellis naellis is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 452
Thanks, all working
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 29th, 2016, 08:29 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,345
I am doing similar with BlueIris (without the BI plugin). I have a motion trigger mask so that the camera only triggers on motion in certain areas of the picture. This avoids false triggers from cars and blowing foliage. When it does trigger it sends a JSON command to HS3 that runs a top level event. I then have a series of other events with their own conditions that trigger off that.
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 22nd, 2016, 06:45 PM
johnny_holden johnny_holden is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traction Tim View Post
I've had a good day with HS3 today. I decided I wanted a CCTV camera connected to iSpyconnect to send a command to HS3 (On the same pc) to turn some outside lights on if movement was detected by iSpyconnect. Now I'm an Electrical Engineer rather than a programmer type of chap, but I'm happy to say it was quite easy with Json and the HS3 help info. I was able to trial the Json commands from a browser on a different pc, and get HS3 to switch things, and then added the commands in iSpyconnect.

iSpyconnect can now send a command to HS3

One virtual device and one event later, and they only come on at night, and turn off after 10 minutes.
Hi tim,
Electrical too :-) and little programming. Can you give me a clue how to get get started using Json with HS3?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 23rd, 2016, 12:05 PM
Traction Tim's Avatar
Traction Tim Traction Tim is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, UK
Posts: 194
Z-Wave Plus

Hi johnny_holden,

I wrote a WORD file while I was doing it to record my thoughts. Take a look here.

That should be a public download link from Dropbox.

Have a read of that and see if it answers your questions, if it doesn't, I will try to help.

I've just checked the WORD document, and tried the URL to the HS3 JSON help page, and that doesn't work any more Hopefully there is enough info in the WORD file to tell you what you need. Note that you will need to allow JSON commands in HS3 - Setup/Network/Remote Control Settings/Enable control using JSON.

Now I wonder why HomeSeer has moved those help files

Good luck !

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 26th, 2016, 01:05 PM
Traction Tim's Avatar
Traction Tim Traction Tim is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, UK
Posts: 194
Hi johnny_holden,

Any progress ? Did you manage to download the WORD file ? Does it help ?

Cheers,

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 14th, 2016, 05:15 PM
johnny_holden johnny_holden is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traction Tim View Post
Hi johnny_holden,

Any progress ? Did you manage to download the WORD file ? Does it help ?

Cheers,

Tim
Hi Tim, Sorry it's been so long for reply but your word file helped me set up sending alert triggers to homeseer.

Couldnt find a way to get homeseer to send a no motion command after motion detection. Can't see how to configure ispy to trigger on both?

Also, if I wanted homeseer to start recording, can this be done with http commands? (i can see it can be done via ispy.exe commands). I did see someone did a TCP/Serial plugin. Is that the only way?

Regards
John.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 7th, 2017, 04:21 PM
madmellow's Avatar
madmellow madmellow is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mid Atlantic
Posts: 121
Controlling iSpy

Let me chime in here...

I've been running iSpy with HS for a while now. I trigger iSpy to start/stop recording based on my home security system (Elk M1Gold with UltraM1G3 plugin).

I've not found an HTTP way to control iSpy, but you can use the command line utility to control what iSpy does ("...iSpy.exe commands allow" to turn on cameras). Google "iSpy Commands" for a full list.

All it takes then is a script to issue a command (process.start) and you're in business.

I've started in a brain-dead plug-in, but haven't found a good way to tell if iSpy is really recording or not.

Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 7th, 2017, 04:22 PM
madmellow's Avatar
madmellow madmellow is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mid Atlantic
Posts: 121
Smile Forgot to add...

Thanks for the clue with alerts...Now I have HS knowing what cameras are recording...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 17th, 2017, 11:08 AM
kriz83 kriz83 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium
Posts: 411
HI,

Do you need a subscription to use the HTTP commands ?
Would there be interest in a plugin ?

Best regards,
Kriz

Last edited by kriz83; March 17th, 2017 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 17th, 2017, 12:51 PM
Traction Tim's Avatar
Traction Tim Traction Tim is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, UK
Posts: 194
Hiya, I did originally have an iSpyconnect subscription, but I don't now. I am happy to say that my logs still show:

Mar-17 13:14:56 Device Control Device: Ground Garden ZZZ Movement in rear garden to On (100) by/from: CAPI Control Handler

So HS3 is still getting the commands from iSpy.

Plug in ? What extra functionality would you want ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS3 and JSON johndoe2011 HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 12 October 28th, 2016 05:30 AM
JSON 401 kriz83 HS3 Plug-In Development 1 October 7th, 2015 04:09 PM
Set STATUS via JSON v8dave HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 13 July 24th, 2015 03:10 PM
JSON claude HS3/PRO Beta Releases 35 April 21st, 2015 04:06 PM
JSON Steve Q HomeSeer Software 7 April 13th, 2015 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC