Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Plcbus?

Hi All,

I'm still quite new to home atumation etc. i've got a few x10 modules/switches around the house and abiotu 4 Z-wave ones (stilll waiting for decent controllers and switches).

I've noticed that Kevin Lo's site is selling 'PLCBUS' modules. They seem to be a lot better than x10, and look like exactly what i need. But i've got a few questions.

1. Are they designed to work in the UK?
    2. Can you use them with Homeseer
    3. How does the x10 compatibility work in practice, any problems with dimming etc?.

... basically, I was wondering if anyone's acutallu bought them and used them, and if so what they thought.

Thanks.

snx.

http://x10-hk.com/store/index.php?cPath=22

Yeah, I'll second that, I'm about to get some new modules and these do appear to do everything I need, so I'd be grateful if somebody (Kevin) would answer.

TIA

Keith

Comment

I haven't seen a PLCBUS powerline PC controller yet. That's why I have never tried this technology.

The solution is to use a X10 to PLCBUS converter but ...
      --
      stipus

Comment

Originally posted by stipus View Post
        The solution is to use a X10 to PLCBUS converter but ...
        But what?
        Is it that using an X10 convertor will mean you introduce the unreliability again? Or is it something else?

Keith

Comment

One of the pros of PLCBUS is speed. It's much quicker than X10.
          Another pro is that it's always two-ways. Each command gets confirmed.

So if your sending a PLCBUS Command from your PC:

PC --> X10 (slow) --> X10toPLCBUSconverter-->PLCBUS-->Device

Then the device is going to ack the command, and I don't even know what the converter is gonna do

Device--->PLCBUS ack-->X10toPLCBUSconverter-->X10 ack ? (slow again)-->PC
          --
          stipus

Comment

Yeah, I was wondering the same.