Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best way to integrate a thermostat with Homeseer (through the M1 Gold or not??)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best way to integrate a thermostat with Homeseer (through the M1 Gold or not??)

I am in the process of building a house and am starting to make some purchase decisions. I will be installing all of my own structured wiring as well as the Elk M1 Gold (recently purchased). I am also new to Homeseer.

I will have two separate heating/Cooling Zones (1 AC/Heater located in the attic and 1 in the basement) and will have two separate thermostats.

I am trying to determine the best way to integrate a thermostat into Homeseer. I see three options:

1. Hook the thermostat directly to the Homeseer PC
    2. Hook the thermostat to the Elk M1 Gold
    3. Get an X10 or Z-Wave thermostat

I had originally thought that Z-Wave was going to take the place of X10 as the best solution for lighting control and therefore, I had convinced myself to go with the Z-Wave thermostat. However, I'm coming to believe that Z-Wave may be supplanted by UPB or Insteon before it really gets off the ground. Because of this uncertainty, I'm a little wary of my option #3 above (I really don't want to go with X10).

That leaves me with options 1 and 2...what functionality do a gain/lose by hooking a thermostat to the Elk rather than directly to my Homeseer PC.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Scott

I would say that the most reliable solution would be to use the serial thermostats directly connected to the M1.
    Martin Custer

Comment

.. or use a Z-Wave tstat controlled by HS.
      💁‍♂️ Support & Customer Service 🙋‍♂️ Sales Questions 🛒 Shop HomeSeer Products

Comment

I would (and did) connect my RCS directly to the Elk. It woulds perfectly.

Mark

Comment