www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Ultilities (Plug-ins) > Utilities Discussion > Keyboard and Mouse Sensor Plug-in (3P)

Keyboard and Mouse Sensor Plug-in (3P) Keyboard / Mouse plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 02:26 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Keyboard and Mouse Sensor plug-in - HS2 User Guide

This plug-in is designed to allow HomeSeer to detect any mouse or keyboard activity on a local or a remote computer. It sets a device status to "On" as soon as it detects a mouse movement/click or a key stroke on the keyboard, and it sets it back to "Off" after X seconds of inactivity, where X is configurable. This plugin includes the main dll plugin to be installed on the HomeSeer machine and a client software which can be installed on any Windows machine. One device is created in HomeSeer for each running client.

One possible use for this plugin is to detect occupancy or lack of occupancy in a room. For example I have the client installed on my desktop PC and HomeSeer configured to turn on the lights in this room as soon as I move the mouse, and turn them off after 3 minutes of inactivity (no mouse movement/click or key stroke during 3 minutes).

Installation Instructions:
  1. Download and install the plugin from the HS updater
  2. Restart HS and enable the KMS plugin from the Setup / Interfaces page
  3. Copy and run KMSClientSetup.exe to the machine(s) for which you want to monitor keyboard and mouse activity. The KMSClientSetup.exe file is in your HS directory in BIN/KMS.
  4. You should now see a KMSClient shortcut on your desktop. Run it as Administrator. (right click / run this program as administrator)
    **** Important Note: you can run the client without running it as Administrator, but in this case it won't be able to detect mouse and keyboard activity when your cursor is over a window from a program started as Admin
    , so my recommendation is to always start is as Admin; to make this automatic, right click on the shortcut, go to Compatibility tab and check "Run this program as administrator" ****
  5. Find the KMS icon in your tray menu and click it to show the KMSClient window.
    Name:  kmsclient.jpg
Views: 614
Size:  20.5 KB
    set the HomeSeer host field to the IP of your HS machine and click "Apply Changes"

That's it, if the client has successfully connected to the server, a KMS device should have been created in HS, and the On/Off status of this device should reflect the mouse and keyboard activity of the client machine.
Name:  kmsdevice.jpg
Views: 604
Size:  5.1 KB

To automatically start the client when you start your computer, I would recommend to copy the KMSClient shortcut to your startup folder (C:\Users\<your_username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\ Start Menu\Programs\Startup)



Additional Configuration:

For each device created you can customize the inactivity delay by clicking the device name on the status page. The default inactivity delay is 60 seconds.
Name:  deviceconfig2.jpg
Views: 612
Size:  39.9 KB


Notes:
  • If the client cannot connect to HS, make sure there is no firewall blocking traffic on port 8283 (This is the default port used by the server but it is configurable from an ini config file)
  • Known bug: clicking the minimize or close button in the client window can make your computer freeze for a few seconds. One workaround is to right click the title bar and use the contextual menu to close or minimize instead of the buttons.
Please give me your feedback in this forum, and let me know about any issues or additional feature requests.

I hope you enjoy using the plug-in and find it useful.

spud

Last edited by spud; January 26th, 2015 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 02:46 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,489
What a great idea for a plugin - kudos!
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
64 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, OMNI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 07:12 PM
TechHA's Avatar
TechHA TechHA is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dracut, MA USA
Posts: 1,082
Great idea.

Any plans to support Android tablets with this?
__________________
Bryan
Software/Hardware: Win10 Pro, HS 3 Pro, HS Touch, Echo, Edgeport/4, Z-Net w/88 Devices, Insteon PLM w/19 Devices, Nest, GC-100-6, W800RF32A, WS-2080 Weather Station (KMADRACU10)
Plug-in/Scripts: Alexa API, BLBackup, BLGData, BLLED, BLLock, BLRF, BLTVGuide, Blue Iris, BLUPS, Current Cost 3P, DirectTV, FitbitSeer, Insteon, Nest, Pushover 3P, Random, Restart, Tasker, UltraGCIR3, UltraWeatherWU, Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 08:45 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechHA View Post
Any plans to support Android tablets with this?
I didn't think about it, but this is a good idea. I will work on it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 24th, 2013, 08:57 AM
Moskus's Avatar
Moskus Moskus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 3,813
Nice! Can this detect mouse movements when the computer is locked?
__________________
HSPro 3.0.0.435, Z-NET with Z-wave plugin 3.0.1.190, RFXCOM + 2x RFXtrx433E, HSTouch, Squeezebox plugin, iTach IP/WF2IR & GC-100-6 with UltraGCIR, BLDenon, NetcamStudio, Jon00s Webpage builder, Harmony Hub plugin, SCSIP (with FreePBX), Arduino plugin, IFTTT, Pushalot plugin, Device History plugin.
Running on Windows 10 (64) virtualized
on ESXi (Fujitsu Primergy TX150 S8).
WinSeer (for Win10) - TextSeer - FitbitSeer - HSPI_MoskusSample

Are you Norwegian (or Scandinavian) and getting started with HomeSeer? Read the "HomeSeer School"!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 24th, 2013, 09:20 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moskus View Post
Nice! Can this detect mouse movements when the computer is locked?
just tested this, and the answer is no, the windows client will not detect mouse movements when the computer is locked, you have to be logged in.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 16th, 2013, 07:10 PM
Rotech's Avatar
Rotech Rotech is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 4,307
Any future use for iPad by any chance?
__________________
Hector
____________________________________
Win.2003 OS, HS3
BLDSC,BLstat,BLRadar,BLRamdom,BLOccupied
BLups,BLrain8,HSTouch,Ultrajones Weatherbug,
MyTrigger,ACRF2,W800,Zwave
AP800,Honeywell Stat
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 17th, 2013, 08:28 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechHA View Post
Great idea.

Any plans to support Android tablets with this?
The Android client is available here: http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?p=1064771

Once you have installed, configured and started the app, you can close it, a service will keep running in the background and will detect "screen unlock" events as well as any touch event from any application, except touch on status bar.

let me know if you have any problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 17th, 2013, 12:52 PM
Rotech's Avatar
Rotech Rotech is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 4,307
How about ipad?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 17th, 2013, 01:23 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotech View Post
How about ipad?
it's on my TODO list, but not sure when it will be ready.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 17th, 2013, 04:19 PM
Rotech's Avatar
Rotech Rotech is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 4,307
Thks, will be watching this post.....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 13th, 2014, 11:45 AM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 518
IOS client

Hi Spud,
I've tested your KMS plugin and it's very useful for me.
What's about an IOS client ?

Regards, Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 13th, 2014, 01:58 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fischi View Post
Hi Spud,
I've tested your KMS plugin and it's very useful for me.
What's about an IOS client ?

Regards, Fischi
I'm glad you like it.
Unfortunately there has been almost no interest for this plugin, and creating an iOS client will require me to buy an iOS developer license, so it's not in my plans to build one.

If you didn't see it, there is an Android client though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 19th, 2014, 01:48 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 518
Hi Spud,
After a time period the kms sensor server doesn't work anymore.
Every time I have to shutdown and restart the server.

What's the reason ?

Regards, Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 19th, 2014, 02:13 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fischi View Post
Hi Spud,
After a time period the kms sensor server doesn't work anymore.
Every time I have to shutdown and restart the server.

What's the reason ?

Regards, Fischi
is there any error or info in the logs?
after how much time does it stop working?
do you run the KMS client on the HS machine itself or from another computer?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old September 19th, 2014, 02:18 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 518
I haven't found a Hs log entry and I will try to get the time period after the
kms server fails.
I have the kms server running on the same machine like HS2.

Regards, F.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old September 19th, 2014, 02:32 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fischi View Post
I have the kms server running on the same machine like HS2.
did you mean kms client?
if you want to run a sensor on your HS2 machine, add the following lines to Config/KMS.ini, then restart HS

Code:
[GENERAL]
embeddedSensorEnabled=True
this way the plugin will act as both a server and a client, and you won't have to run the KMS client on your HS2 machine
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old September 19th, 2014, 02:45 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 518
Thanks Spud,

I wrote kms server but I mean the kms client.
I will try your tip and add the two lines to the kms.config.

Best regards,

Fischi
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old September 19th, 2014, 03:10 PM
Fischi Fischi is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 518
Hi Spud,

my \config\KMS.ini contents this entry:
[DELAY]
FRANK-PC-2=10
localhost=10
[GENERAL]
embeddedSensorEnabled=True


and there was a new device named localhost _98 created.
Is this right?

Regards, F
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old September 19th, 2014, 03:13 PM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,133
yes this is right
you can delete the other device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC