Flood cam go boom??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flood cam go boom??

Kind of long, but hopefully you'll read the whole thing as I feel the need to explain...

OK, I'm a tinker-er.

I am a Computer Engineer, generally roped into stuff related to EE stuff (that is non-microelectronics).

As such, I get dangerous with stuff...Basically I like to take things apart.

So, I thought I was going to have a few flood cams (Vt38A??) around the house.

I hate wireless video.

So, I opened up one of my Flood Cams. Took a look at it. Based on research and "what-not" basically there is a single control board, a single Sensor board, and a single RF board.

The RF board is the same RF board that all X10 wireless cameras use.

Based on silk screen I took the "video" driver wire OUT of that board. The driver wire did NOT have a COM. The RF board only had 3 wires going into it. So I also removed the 12VDC wires. Removed two screws and "pop" the RF video board board is gone.

Next step...take the 12V + wire and put heat shrink on it. Next, cut one end off of an RCA cable that I had laying around.

Attach video ground to the 12V COM.

Connect Video driver line (it's a yellow line in the Flood Cam I opened up) to the center conductor of the RCA cable.

Re-package. Open back up, realizing there was no strain relief to the video cable I added. Put a fireman's figure-8 knot. Test, good to go. Re-package.
    Remove X10 flood light from mount near garage door.

Add in flood cam. Try to fit RCA jack through hole in wall. Go get screw gun and large drill bit. Widen hole. Test RCA cable. Good to Go. Re-attach Flood Cam.

Plug in power. Good to go. Based on settings, the flood lights come on when there is motion. Ok, get sacraficial TV. Try to plug RCA jack in to TV. No go...too short. Take apart wires from entertainment center. Add length to RCA cable for test. TV shows surprisingly good image (at least for a X10 camera).