www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Media Plug-ins > Media Discussion > Media Controller Plug-in (3P)

Media Controller Plug-in (3P) Discussion of Media Controller DLNA-Manager Plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 25th, 2017, 01:53 PM
pberens pberens is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 4
Sony XBR Power On after Power Off not working

I've looked through this board and have not found a solution to this problem.

I have a Sony XBR-55X850D TV. The Media Center Plugin works fine when the TV is powered on. I can power off the TV as well. However, after the TV has been off for a few minutes the according to the plugin it is offline and I can no longer power it on with the plugin. However the device is not offline. It still responds to http requests like http://192.168.0.158:55521/dd.xml. The only way to power it back on is with the physical remote control.

All settings for power savings, auto shut off, etc are OFF in the TV itself. It clearly is in standby mode as it responds the the dd.xml request.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 25th, 2017, 06:17 PM
dcorsus dcorsus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by pberens View Post
I've looked through this board and have not found a solution to this problem.

I have a Sony XBR-55X850D TV. The Media Center Plugin works fine when the TV is powered on. I can power off the TV as well. However, after the TV has been off for a few minutes the according to the plugin it is offline and I can no longer power it on with the plugin. However the device is not offline. It still responds to http requests like http://192.168.0.158:55521/dd.xml. The only way to power it back on is with the physical remote control.

All settings for power savings, auto shut off, etc are OFF in the TV itself. It clearly is in standby mode as it responds the the dd.xml request.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
I'll have to look at this. I suspect some services are "not alive" from a UPNP point of view and what I use (IRRC) as an indication that the TV is remote control capable, may go off-line together with the TV being powered down.
Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 28th, 2017, 05:48 PM
pberens pberens is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 4
More information

Sending a WOL (Wake-up On LAN) packet to the TV causes the remote interface of the plugin to come back to life in a little less than a minute. There is a WOL button in the plugin remote interface, but it does not work. I had to write an external script to send the WOL network packet.

I think the fix would be to have the WOL button send the WOL packet even if it thinks the device is not on-line.

You have to be careful to only power off the TV using the "Power" button in the plugin remote and NOT the "Power Off" button. The "Power Off" button apparently puts the TV in deep sleep after a while (it will still respond for a short time) where the WOL packet no longer brings it back to life.

Since Power only toggles power on and power off, it is hard to know if you are really powering the device on or off. To make sure I really power off the TV without making it unreachable, I send Power Off, Power, and another Power all separated by about 3 seconds and this seems to work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 30th, 2017, 07:09 PM
dcorsus dcorsus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by pberens View Post
Sending a WOL (Wake-up On LAN) packet to the TV causes the remote interface of the plugin to come back to life in a little less than a minute. There is a WOL button in the plugin remote interface, but it does not work. I had to write an external script to send the WOL network packet.

I think the fix would be to have the WOL button send the WOL packet even if it thinks the device is not on-line.

You have to be careful to only power off the TV using the "Power" button in the plugin remote and NOT the "Power Off" button. The "Power Off" button apparently puts the TV in deep sleep after a while (it will still respond for a short time) where the WOL packet no longer brings it back to life.

Since Power only toggles power on and power off, it is hard to know if you are really powering the device on or off. To make sure I really power off the TV without making it unreachable, I send Power Off, Power, and another Power all separated by about 3 seconds and this seems to work.
Took me a while but just quickly tried the WOL on the Sony on our office. I think the PI does send it but it doesn't do anything, so I need to double check whether I coded the WOL protocol properly.

Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 30th, 2017, 10:12 PM
dcorsus dcorsus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by pberens View Post
S

I think the fix would be to have the WOL button send the WOL packet even if it thinks the device is not on-line.

.
I think I found the mistake. Try the attached. Unzip it and copy it to the HS root directory when the PI or HS is not running. It still needs some further changes which are a lot more invasive and will require more time and effort

Dirk
Attached Files
File Type: zip HSPI_MediaController.zip (270.3 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by dcorsus; August 31st, 2017 at 10:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 1st, 2017, 01:14 AM
dcorsus dcorsus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by pberens View Post
I had to write an external script to send the WOL network packet.
I did some trials today but I believe it still doesn't work. Can you share the script or tell me which source port you use and IP (L3) broadcast or L2 broadcast?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 1st, 2017, 01:45 PM
pberens pberens is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 4
WOL Script

I got if from here:

http://www.perlmonks.org/?node_id=260144

I call it with the MAC address of the TV

wol.perl 04:5D:4B:11:F2:15

Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 1st, 2017, 03:51 PM
dcorsus dcorsus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by pberens View Post
I got if from here:

http://www.perlmonks.org/?node_id=260144

I call it with the MAC address of the TV

wol.perl 04:5D:4B:11:F2:15

Hope this helps!
Is your TV wired or wireless?
I realized mine is wireless so need to try with cable. A wireshark trace shows proper WOL packet but TV doesn't seem to react to it.
Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 2nd, 2017, 01:48 PM
dcorsus dcorsus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by pberens View Post
I got if from here:

http://www.perlmonks.org/?node_id=260144

I call it with the MAC address of the TV

wol.perl 04:5D:4B:11:F2:15

Hope this helps!
Did you try my latest posting? It still doesn't work for you? Is your TV wireless or wired?
When I look at the script, it looks as if it does the same as what I do
Dirk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
offline, power on

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power button not working wljohnson05 DirecTV for HS3 (3P) 2 April 15th, 2016 04:18 PM
Power consumption on Z-wave EU (Qees Power?) Pierre.bln Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 1 May 27th, 2010 01:12 PM
No Volume Control - Power On and Off Working mmylymuk DenonAVR (3P) 0 March 24th, 2009 11:03 PM
Not working after a power failure... Chris Couture Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 2 September 22nd, 2007 11:31 AM
Power up sequence after power outage question RAM HomeSeer General Discussion Area 6 September 15th, 2006 07:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC