www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > MCS Plug-Ins and Scripts > mcsMQTT (3P)

mcsMQTT (3P) Discussion of mcsMQTT plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #161  
Old April 7th, 2018, 05:06 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,418
Do you see any mono errors in the HS logs?

Guessing you installed mono-complete and mono-vbnc eh?

I have myhomeseer stuff off by default and have disabled the Homeseer calling home script.

I get just the HS header and otherwise blank.

Here do not see this at all with: (see the HS header and rest of stuff)

Name:  mqtt.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  244.4 KB

Beta Update 3.0.0.423 on Homeseer Lite (zee2 OS) or Homeseer Pro running on

ARM - Pine64 2Gb Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit ==> Homeseer lite
Mono JIT compiler version 5.10.1.20

Intel - iSeries - Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit ==> Homeseer Pro
Mono JIT compiler version 5.10.1.20

I have another RPi and a test dual core AMD Homeseer server that I use for testing Homeseer 3 lite on. Will give your plugin a try on the RPi.

CPU Utilization is fine with the plugin here.

Name:  utilization.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  82.1 KB
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.4449

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT

Last edited by Pete; April 7th, 2018 at 05:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old April 7th, 2018, 08:35 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,768
Thanks Pete, but the problem was two instances of HS which were running as trial. It appears they call home and more than one results in both not serving pages.

The problem with earlier Mono is the following:

Code:
        Dim oSortDictionary As Object

        If sDirection = "" Then
                oSortDictionary = New Generic.SortedDictionary(Of String, MqttReport)
        Else
                oSortDictionary = New Generic.SortedDictionary(Of String, MqttReport)(New ReverseSortComparer)
        End If
This version of Mono was not able to manage a generic object for the sorted dictionary during run time. If I define the type explicitly rather than using Object during compile time then all is good. What it means is that I need dedicated procedures for building a ascending and descending sort table. An extra page of code, but now it works.

I also have no issues with QOS being the defaults. The QOS seems more like a broker issue rather than a plugin issue. I did not test mosquitto on the newly built RPi with earlier Mono. I continued to test with mosquitto on Rpi with Stretch and latest Mono.
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old April 7th, 2018, 08:59 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,418
Ahh...

Good news Michael.

Here running Mosquitto / Node Red on 3-4 RPi2's which I recently updated to Stretch.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.4449

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old April 7th, 2018, 11:12 PM
mwolter mwolter is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 261
Remotely upgraded the PI and it appears to be working. QOS exact is still having issues, but it doesn't crash the plugin, just disconnects from the broker. I'll work on the broker as soon as I return home.

Thanks for your hard work.
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old April 8th, 2018, 12:00 AM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,768
I observe now that my test setup was using At Most as the QOS. I thought it defaulted to Exactly, but I guess the default was changed somewhere along the way. Likely when I made it a user setting. When I change it to Exactly I also get broker offline with the older Mono.

I do not think I can do anything about this as all I do is pass 0, 1 or 2 as a parameter to the M2Mqtt.Net.dll. This dll was written in C# and I do not want to modify it.

This means that you do not need to play with your broker, but use one of the less demanding QOS values.
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old April 8th, 2018, 12:54 AM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,768
Even better news for you. I discovered where the data type was wrong for QOS parameter being passed to M2Mqtt.Net.dll. Apparently auto type conversion (integer -> byte) was happening with later Mono. When I changed it to byte then Exactly allowed the connection to the broker. Update in 3.2.12.2.
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old April 8th, 2018, 05:48 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,768
mwolter, just want to say thanks for helping so much to get the plugin fully functional.
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old April 8th, 2018, 06:42 PM
mwolter mwolter is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 261
You’re welcome
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excessive Log Entries tome10 HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 2 November 4th, 2017 06:06 PM
Excessive CPU usage pete@malibubeach.com VWS 13 April 10th, 2017 11:38 AM
Excessive logging Pnord HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 2 November 30th, 2016 08:31 AM
Excessive Logging tome10 HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 7 October 12th, 2016 02:54 PM
Isssues with excessive CPU use donstephens Personal Computers 38 September 3rd, 2016 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC