www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Legacy Software & Plug-ins > Legacy Software (Older Versions) > HS2 / HSPRO

HS2 / HSPRO General discussion about HomeSeer HS2 and HSPRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 22nd, 2013, 08:57 PM
mark_anderson_us mark_anderson_us is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,128
Got Siri Working with HomeSeer!

Hi All

I'm currently writing up how to get Siri working with HomeSeer. I can now use my iPhone to run any HomeSeer event (just the start). I now have it working on 4 different Linux distros:

VMWare - VMWare Applicance (Ubuntu 12.04LTS) - 55MB download!
VMWare - LinuxMint14 with Mate (Ubuntu 12.10) - 989MB download
VMWare - Ubuntu 12.10 Desktop - 771MB download
RapsberryPI – Debian Wheezy - 771MB download
I also have a fully configured VMWare image that I can share, if I can find a place to host it. All that's required is to set a DHCP reservation (or configure a static IP), edit one file to match and you should be up and running. Looks like it will be about 250MB. The instructions will include everything to start from the 55MB download (No 1 above) to get to this state.
Hope to have the writeup finished next week sometime
This is exciting stuff! (First time i depleted my iPhone 5 battery in a day )
Regards
Mark


URL: http://www.hometoys.com/emagazine/20...-linux-vm/2087
__________________
________________________

Dell Zino HD - HSPRo 2.x
HSTouch - iPhone 3GS, 4S, iPad2 and iPad 3, 3xKindle Fire (Wall mounted)
2 x Brultech ECM1240 with UltraECM
USB UIRT
Cooper Aspire Z-Wave Switches
WGL800 w ACRF2 and 3xDS10a (Sump Level/Activity sensing)
HM ST812-2 Flood Sensor
HSM100 - Motion Detector with Light and Temperature
2GIG Thermostat
BLDSC - Alarm Plug-in
BLUPS
UltraLog (SQL2008)
Jon00 Plugins
Host XR3 BT and Jon00 BT Proximity
Global Cache IP2IR
Foscam FI8918W

Last edited by mark_anderson_us; October 9th, 2013 at 12:11 PM. Reason: added URL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 22nd, 2013, 09:05 PM
independentpete's Avatar
independentpete independentpete is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 346
Looking forward to seeing this. And if you have trouble finding hosting for the image, I'm happy to provide a thumb drive ...being that you're nearby and all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 22nd, 2013, 09:59 PM
gelessor's Avatar
gelessor gelessor is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 645
very cool. Looking forward to it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 03:52 PM
thymer thymer is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 571
Got Siri Working with HomeSeer!

Outstanding!
__________________
HS3 Production - Win7/HP/Win7 - DSC - HVAC CT100 x2 - CurrentCost - BLRadar - RFXCOM/FRXTRX433 -ADIO - HSTOUCH - BLUPS - AB8SS,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 04:17 PM
Bill Brower's Avatar
Bill Brower Bill Brower is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 3,118
The first three words of your post title makes me skeptical
__________________


~Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 04:39 PM
jayman13 jayman13 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 913
Got Siri Working with HomeSeer!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Brower View Post
The first three words of your post title makes me skeptical
Very good. But I am really looking forward to this all the same. Can you use dropbox?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 04:53 PM
Ealoo Ealoo is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DK
Posts: 2
If you need some storage i might be able to help, got a german server with some space space

and im looking forward for the VMWare Applicance
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 05:29 PM
markus.bergvoll markus.bergvoll is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 306
You might find this interesting http://board.homeseer.com/showthread...highlight=Siri
__________________
Markus
Home Automation Beginner
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 06:12 PM
jayman13 jayman13 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 913
Got Siri Working with HomeSeer!

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus.bergvoll View Post
Yeah that enticed me but seemed very complicated for non-computer guy like myself. Mark's solution appears much more elegant.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 07:53 PM
TeleFragger's Avatar
TeleFragger TeleFragger is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 4,642
ill wait for "IRIS" as I dont Like "SIRI"
__________________
HW - i5 4570T @2.9ghz runs @11w | 8gb ram | 128gb ssd OS - Win10 x64

HS - HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.344

Plugins - BLLAN 2.0.35.0 | BLRF 2.0.91.0 | Concord 4 3.1.13.7 | FitbitSeer 0.2.0.0 | HSTouch Server 3.0.0.68 | RFXCOM 30.0.0.35 | X10 3.0.0.36 | Z-Wave 3.0.1.130

Hardware - EdgePort/4 DB9 Serial | RFXCOM 433MHz USB Transceiver | Superbus 2000 for Concord 4 | TI103 X-10 Interface | WGL Designs W800 RF | Z-Troller Z-Wave Interface
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 08:17 PM
norcoscia's Avatar
norcoscia norcoscia is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 236
Very cool!!!

Hope you get this going, my number one problem is getting voice commands to HS from anywhere in my house.

This seems like it could be a great solution!!!!!
__________________

GearHouse Club Member
Intel Ci5 1.49 GHz / Win7 Pro 64 / 4G RAM
HSPRO v2.5.0.81 / Z-Troller / 30 Z-Wave devices
HSTouch / UltraWeatherBug / Insteon / ADIO-100 / EtherRain / SONOSCONTROLLER / UltraNetCam / BDGraphs / Pushover (3P) / EnvisaLink / AirPlay Speak
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 11:14 PM
mark_anderson_us mark_anderson_us is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus.bergvoll View Post
Thanks Marcus

I did see this, but this put me off:

It also relies on the only HTTP accessible API i found for Homeseer which works, but is kind a crap since it returns results in HTML format, which need parsing. You need to install TenHsServer on the Homeseer server.

Once the proxy is up and running, getting it working with HS is about 15 mins work. It's not bi-direction, but that would probably be doable if you know Siri. That said, I don't think it needs it.

Regards

mark
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 11:19 PM
mark_anderson_us mark_anderson_us is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayman13 View Post
Very good. But I am really looking forward to this all the same. Can you use dropbox?
Never thought of that. That may do the trick

That said, I installed the 55MB VM Ubuntu Appliance I found and timed it from scratch to get it working. Took just under 30 mins. I'll provide every single command (about 20) to get from this bare VM to a working proxy and the common problems and how to get around them.

I spent a lot of time on this over the last few weeks. Did Raspberry Pi this, then was thinking about Myth TV so did Linux Mint, then Ubuntu 12.04 and then this 55MB VM. I think I've experienced most of the problems anyone is going to run into and fixed them. Would have loved to get such a small downlaod and guaranteed instructions or option of working VM

Will definitely be up next week, as it's also a deadline for a magazine it's going in

Think (hope) you'll all enjoy it

Regards

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 11:20 PM
mark_anderson_us mark_anderson_us is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcoscia View Post
Hope you get this going, my number one problem is getting voice commands to HS from anywhere in my house.

This seems like it could be a great solution!!!!!
You'll love it!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 23rd, 2013, 11:59 PM
donstephens's Avatar
donstephens donstephens is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hamilton, MT
Posts: 2,611
Care to share what magazine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_anderson_us View Post
Will definitely be up next week, as it's also a deadline for a magazine it's going in
Think (hope) you'll all enjoy it

Regards

Mark
__________________
Don
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 24th, 2013, 12:05 AM
mark_anderson_us mark_anderson_us is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by donstephens View Post
Care to share what magazine?
HomeToys.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 24th, 2013, 06:16 AM
espenhogbakk espenhogbakk is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Halden, Norway
Posts: 7
Hi Mark Anderson,

This seems great, I've been thinking about creating a vm image that could be shared as well, but never got around to it.

I curious though, on how you communicate with Homeseer if you don't use TenHsServer or another plugin to get some sort of an API? Cause I would very much like to enable my siriproxy plugin to work without a plugin to homeseer. Do you have the source code published somewhere so I could have a look at it?

I even have created my own homeseer plugin (based on Rover plugin) just yesterday, that creates an API that returns JSON. It's not done yet, but it seems to work fine. So i'm planning on porting the siriproxy plugin to use that instead of TenHsServer.

In case it could be useful, you can find it here: https://github.com/espenhogbakk/homeseer-jsonapi

Just put that jsonapi.asp file into the HomeSeer "html" directory inside "Program Files/Homeseer/".
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 24th, 2013, 09:19 AM
mark_anderson_us mark_anderson_us is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by espenhogbakk View Post
Hi Mark Anderson,

This seems great, I've been thinking about creating a vm image that could be shared as well, but never got around to it.

I curious though, on how you communicate with Homeseer if you don't use TenHsServer or another plugin to get some sort of an API? Cause I would very much like to enable my siriproxy plugin to work without a plugin to homeseer. Do you have the source code published somewhere so I could have a look at it?

I even have created my own homeseer plugin (based on Rover plugin) just yesterday, that creates an API that returns JSON. It's not done yet, but it seems to work fine. So i'm planning on porting the siriproxy plugin to use that instead of TenHsServer.

In case it could be useful, you can find it here: https://github.com/espenhogbakk/homeseer-jsonapi

Just put that jsonapi.asp file into the HomeSeer "html" directory inside "Program Files/Homeseer/".
  • My Linux script that handles messaging is *1 line*
  • I use drule's IP/Serial plug-in on HS to recieve messages and pass them to my script (8 lines of VB)
  • All intelligence (about what to do in HS) is in the vb script (so HS users will be cofortable modifying it. No need to learn Linux, Ruby, etc.)
IMHO, the beauty of it is the simplicty. The same mechanism could be used with any other system that can receive IP messages.

Everything will be revealed next week.

Regards

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 24th, 2013, 10:03 AM
espenhogbakk espenhogbakk is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Halden, Norway
Posts: 7
Ah, that explains it, clever.

But I personally, would very much prefer to write that kind a logic in ruby instead of vbscript. And I guess you get pretty limited in the Siri implementation, since i'm guessing it only works one way. You can't tell the siriproxy plugin to to specific things, you can only forward a message, and act on that in the vbscript, am i right?

But nice work, looking forward to seeing you're solution.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old January 24th, 2013, 05:32 PM
travisdh travisdh is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,646
Not sure if you use it, but for routers with DD-WRT i wonder if you could redirect SIRI requests automatically, that is if the request comes from the VM it is allowed out of the network, but if it comes from another machine, the DD-WRT device forwards it to the proxy / vm instead.

I know you can forward DNS though DD-WRT, so even if someone has a static DNS set in the IP address settings on their machine, once the DD-WRT router receives the request it sends it to say OpenDNS instead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC