Existing ATT Modem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Existing ATT Modem

I am very new to this. I am wanting to set up SMS messaging and wanting to know if i can do so with my homes current Att internet modem??

That's unlikely. You need a modem that supports the GSM SMS protocol and that exposes itself to your HS3 machine as a serial (com) port.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Author of Highpeak Plugins | SMS-Gateway Plugin | Blue Iris Plugin | Paradox (Beta) Plugin | Modbus Plugin | Yamaha Plugin

Comment

Jeff

If you've used Aliexpress there are a number of gsm modems on there though It will depend on the carrier you plan to use. In Australia we are on dual band 3G, my modem was around $60USD. Very easy to setup the plugin once you have the right modem

Pete

Sent from my SM-N910G using Tapatalk
      HS 2.2.0.11

Comment

@Jeff

What is the AT&T internet modem?? you are writing about?

Most likely if you are using a rented combo AT&T cellular modem for home use you not be able to use it's SMS functions. But this is only a guess.

I have a small portable T-Mobile LTE device that only works wirelessly. If I go to the web page of the device I do stuff with it. It is limited.

I also utilize multiple SIM (2 SIMs) Nexus Hawks here utilized for emergency point of presence devices. This device has a GPS in it for location use. I have a few of these but not currently tinkering with them.

The current US cellular telcos do not allow any devices these days to be utilized on their networks especially for consumer use. You can though purchase a commercial device for this use and it will work. (used by central life and saftey call centers or say fleet management purposes).

Here utilize an old Ericcson W.25 3 G modem which serves me as a backup internet, telephone connection to my cable ISP connection (which also is internet and VOIP).

I did find out that I can do SMS with it via telnet command and it does work.