Geofencing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Geofencing

I'm new to Homeseer (1 day) and looking for a way (the best way) to set up a geofence for two iPhones. I'm coming from Smartthings and it was easy to do. My main goal is to be able to set the temp on my thermostat when my wife and I are both away but re-set temp when only one of us returns. In Smartthings, that would work in a HOME and AWAY mode. I've set up an IFTTT recipe that works when I leave or come back but that will irritate my wife if the AC stops working when she is home and I'm out doing stuff.

Though I'm a card carrying member of AARP, speak to me like I'm a ten year old. Don't assume I already know stuff though I do learn quickly.

Thanking everyone in advance,

Paul from Florida.

Originally posted by pmp350 View Post
    I'm new to Homeseer (1 day) and looking for a way (the best way) to set up a geofence for two iPhones. I'm coming from Smartthings and it was easy to do. My main goal is to be able to set the temp on my thermostat when my wife and I are both away but re-set temp when only one of us returns. In Smartthings, that would work in a HOME and AWAY mode. I've set up an IFTTT recipe that works when I leave or come back but that will irritate my wife if the AC stops working when she is home and I'm out doing stuff.

Though I'm a card carrying member of AARP, speak to me like I'm a ten year old. Don't assume I already know stuff though I do learn quickly.

Thanking everyone in advance,

Paul from Florida.
    Hi Paul and welcome to HomeSeer

Here's what I recommend for you now on day 1.

You've made a great start by setting up IFTTT to control your thermostat.

1. I would suggest that decouple your existing IFTTT action from the thermostat and instead have it control a virtual Home/Away device for you.

2. Set up your wife with her own IFTTT account and an equivalent action that controls a virtual Home/Away device for her.