www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > Spud Plug-Ins > Ecobee (3P)

Ecobee (3P) Discussions related to the Ecobee plugin by Spud

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 13th, 2017, 04:34 PM
mdavison mdavison is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 74
Read External Temperature

Is there any way to get the current outdoor temperature reading from the Ecobee? When it is extremely cold or hot, I'd like to set up an event that would run the fan longer when the thermostat is satisfied to even out the temps in the house. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 13th, 2017, 05:14 PM
Uncle Michael's Avatar
Uncle Michael Uncle Michael is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,731
The thermostats display a value labeled as outside temperature, but it's based on their data for weather sites near your location. I don't think the plug-in exposes those values to HS, though. I'd suggest you take a look at WeatherXML. It will provide you with all the weather data you can handle, including alerts and forecasts.
__________________
Mike____________________________________________________________ __________________
HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.318

HW: Stargate | NX8e | CAV6.6 | Squeezebox | PCS | WGL 800RF, Rain8Net+ | RFXCOM | QSE100D | Vantage Pro | Green-Eye | X10:
Compose, XTB-232, -IIR | Edgeport/8 | Way2Call | Ecobee3

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 13th, 2017, 10:21 PM
SJ Miller SJ Miller is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 61
I love my EcoBee and do use the sensors for triggering events based on inside temperatures and occupancy. But I use an Acurite 5 in 1 weather station with the UltraWeatherWU3 plug-in - works great for triggering events based on outside weather conditions.

Last edited by SJ Miller; December 13th, 2017 at 10:24 PM. Reason: Added note
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External temperature input for Stelpro baseboard thermostat emiliosic Thermostat / HVAC Discussion 0 July 15th, 2017 02:49 PM
Have Alexa Read Temperature Device sonypoolplr HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 5 July 17th, 2016 11:56 AM
Can you force a temperature & light read? nanckekr HSM100™ Multi-Sensor 2 October 21st, 2007 04:04 PM
External Temperature Update problem nscott HomeSeer HAI Omnistat Plug-in 3 January 8th, 2006 03:54 AM
[RC80] Help with External Temperature Device ajgriglak HomeSeer HAI Omnistat Plug-in 14 July 2nd, 2004 06:52 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC