www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Help

HomeSeer Help Help, How-to's and Documentation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 11th, 2017, 12:56 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
Using DigiTemp with a USB 1-Wire 9097 on a remote RPi

Here using a one line cron job to generate remote 1-Wire temps / humidity which are copied over to HomeSeer mother ship.

Not sure if I have written a DIY here to do this so writing it (or writing it again).

This is a sort of hub and spoke using RPi methodology versus running 1-wire cabling everywhere. You are using your home network for this.
I POE power my RPi2. You can go to wireless and just power up the RPi2-3.

Cheap hardware:
1 - RPI
2 - 9097 USB 1-wire stick
Name:  usb9097.jpg
Views: 70
Size:  13.6 KB
Tiny RTC includes 3 pins on the top left for a 1-wire network or sensor. I have seen these for just about $1.00 a piece and would provide an RPi2 with a battery RTC and 1-Wire network. Here installed one in a TP-Link microrouter running OpenWRT and doing a bit of bit banging.
Name:  tinyrtc.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  32.9 KB

3 - 1 wire temperature and humidity sensors

I run this script once every 5 minutes. You could run it on a Z-Net device if you want.

Code:
cd /opt/digitemp;/usr/bin/digitemp -a -q -c /etc/digitemp.conf > /opt/digitemp/temp >temp;cat temp | ssh root@ipofhomeseerbox "cat > /HomeSeer/Data/1-wire/temp.txt"
I write the text file to two Homeseer 3 computers. Just add the last part in again for the second computer.

I then run an event on Homeseer which runs a script to covert the text file to temperature and humidity variables. (thank you Rob).

Preparation to do the above:

1 - create RSA keys and copy these keys from the 1-wire provider RPi to the Homeseer mothership.

Here is an example. Just follow process.

Step A: Create public and private keys using ssh-key-gen on local-host

jsmith@local-host$ [Note: You are on local-host to remote host here]

jsmith@local-host$ ssh-keygen
Generating public/private rsa key pair.
Enter file in which to save the key (/home/jsmith/.ssh/id_rsa):[Enter key]
Enter passphrase (empty for no passphrase): [Press enter key]
Enter same passphrase again: [Pess enter key]
Your identification has been saved in /home/jsmith/.ssh/id_rsa.
Your public key has been saved in /home/jsmith/.ssh/id_rsa.pub.
The key fingerprint is:
33:b3:fe:af:95:95:18:11:31:d5:de:96:2f:f2:35:f9 jsmith@local-host

Step B: Copy the public key to remote-host using ssh-copy-id

jsmith@local-host$ ssh-copy-id -i ~/.ssh/id_rsa.pub remote-host
jsmith@remote-host's password:
Now try logging into the machine, with "ssh 'remote-host'", and check in:

.ssh/authorized_keys

to make sure we haven't added extra keys that you weren't expecting.

Note: ssh-copy-id appends the keys to the remote-host’s .ssh/authorized_key.

Step C: Login to remote-host without entering the password

jsmith@local-host$ ssh remote-host
Last login: Sun Nov 16 17:22:33 2008 from 192.168.1.2
[Note: SSH did not ask for password.]

jsmith@remote-host$ [Note: You are on remote-host here]

2 - install Digitemp (works for me on Linux Ubuntu, Wheezy or Jessie)

NOTE: DS9097U is just a USB to Serial device which will show up as a /dev/ttyUSB0 or similiar if you have more than one of these types of devices.

A - apt-get install digitemp
This will install three binaries into /usr/bin, one for each type of 1-wire interface adapter.

ZNet:/usr/bin# ls digi*
digitemp digitemp_DS2490 digitemp_DS9097 digitemp_DS9097U


B - Create Symbolic Link

Create a digitemp symbolic link to the digitemp_DS9097 binary: (I did this cuz it's easier to type digitemp rather than digitemp_DS9097U)

ln -s /usr/local/bin/digitemp_DS9097 /usr/local/bin/digitemp

C - Initialise digitemp

First we need to configure the interface by telling digitemp the serial port that the interface is connected to.
By default, digitemp will look for a configuration file (.digitemprc) in the current working directory, so we'll explicitly specify the location of the configuration file.

Assuming the interface is connected to COMX (ie, ttyUSB0):

digitemp -i -s /dev/ttyUSB0 -q -c /etc/digitemp.conf


You should see output similar to this:

Turning off all DS2409 Couplers
.
Searching the 1-Wire LAN
100486B60008009E : DS1820/DS18S20/DS1920 Temperature Sensor
ROM #0 : 100486B60008009E


This will create a file /etc/digitemp.conf containing the configuration information for digitemp.

D - Permissions

If you attempt to run digitemp from a user account which doesn't have access to the serial port, you'll see something similar to this when you run digitemp:

Error, you don't have +rw permission to access /dev/ttyUSB0

The solution is to either run digitemp as root, or relax the permissions on the serial port.
To allow everyone read/write access to COM1 (ie, /dev/ttyUSB0), run the following as root:

chmod a+rw /dev/ttyUSB0

3 - create a directory to store text data IE: I went to using /opt/digitemp here.

Test it.

cd /opt/digitemp
digitemp -i -s /dev/ttyUSB0 -q -c /etc/digitemp.conf > temp.txt

cat temp.txt should look like this:

Net:/opt/digitemp# cat temp.txt
May 11 14:32:03 Sensor 0 C: 31.12 F: 88.03
May 11 14:32:04 Sensor 1 C: 36.50 F: 97.70 H: 30%

4 - create a homeseer directory to store 1-wire data (IE: /HomeSeer/Data/1-wire)

5 - Run this command line on your 1-wire slave (here it is my ZNet sort of device).

Code:
cd /opt/digitemp;/usr/bin/digitemp -a -q -c /etc/digitemp.conf > /opt/digitemp/temp >temp;cat temp | ssh root@homeseer1 "cat > /HomeSeer/Data/1-wire/temp.txt";cat temp | ssh root@homeseer2 "cat > /HomeSeer/Data/1-wire/temp.txt"
On one line above you are creating the temperature text file, copying it over to two Homeseer boxes (here it is Homeseer Pro and Homeseer Lite)

You can use this in a cron job and just run it every x minutes on the slave machine. If you have more than one slave or RPi2 with 1-Wire connections you can divide up to floors or rooms in your home or if you want to connect a 1-Wire 9097 directly to your Homeseer box create a trigger / event to run this one liner.

Now go over to either Homeseer machine and look at the temp.txt file. It should have a time stamp and the temperatures / humidity. Note that it is one line only (not concatenate). If you want to log the values just do it with Homeseer.

HS3ZeeLite:/HomeSeer/Data/1-wire# cat temp.txt
May 11 12:28:04 Sensor 0 C: 25.88 F: 78.57
May 11 12:28:05 Sensor 1 C: 28.91 F: 84.03 H: 41%


5 - make it a cron job

6 - test it again looking at the values of the temperatures in the temp.txt file change.

7 - install 1-wire text to homeseer variable vb script event (Rob's Script).

Code:
Imports System.IO
''1WireTemp.vb - Rob Mason - 7/30/2015 - Free to use/modify.
''reads in the content of a temp file created by the 1-wire.
Sub Main(parm as object)
   dim FTemp,CTemp,Humid as Short
   dim lin,t,h,x,n,s() as String
   dim sr as StreamReader
   dim sensor0_Temp_Ref as Integer = 260        'use your own device references
   dim sensor1_Temp_Ref as Integer = 261
   dim sensor1_Humid_Ref as Integer = 262

   Try
      sr = new StreamReader("/HomeSeer/Data/1-wire/temp.txt")       ''point this to your temp file
        while(1)
                lin=sr.ReadLine()
                if(lin is nothing) then exit while
                if(lin.length()<=0) then exit while
                s = Split(lin,"Sensor ")
                t = s(1)
                n = left(t,t.indexOf(" ")).Trim ''contains sensor number
                s = Split(t,"C: ")
                CTemp = CDBL(left(s(1),s(1).indexOf(" ")).Trim)
                FTemp = getFarenheit(CTemp)
                s = Split(t,"H: ")
                if(s.length>1) then
                        Humid=CDBL(left(s(1),s(1).indexOf("%")).Trim)
                else
                        Humid=0
                end if
              ''hs.writeLog("debug","t=[" & t & "]  n=[" & n & "] CTemp=[" & CTemp & "] FTemp=[" & FTemp & $
NOTE: I did modify original script (rounding numbers?) but don't recall anymore.

8 - Create your Homeseer Temperature / Humidity sensor variables. Write down the device reference numbers and insert these in the script above.
Create an event which runs Rob script every XX minutes. I run it every 5 minutes here.

Name:  script.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  31.9 KB

Your Homeseer GUI 1-Wire devices should look like this.

Name:  1-wiretemps.jpg
Views: 46
Size:  33.0 KB

The above mentioned RPi2 is the original Zee-2 that I was using for Homeseer with a Z-Wave GPIO card and PiFace RTC shim. It originally started with Wheezy then I updated it to Jessie Lite. I redid it from scratch this past week and decided to write here on the forum the step by step. I have a couple of older first generation RPi's that would work for this too. (and they are sitting around not doing anything today).

This device is POE powered, sits in the attic and runs Z-Wave (and tested with X10 and UPB) and a 1-wire network.

You can do this device wirelessly connecting to your Homeseer 3 box.

BTW this RPi2 is a Z-Wave slave. I am starting the Z-Wave plugin from a Homeseer 3 start up event. That is just a script that runs on HS3 which does an SSH to this RPi2. Make sure you copy the same encryption keys from Homeseer 3 to this RPi2 before running the script. Test run it to validate your remote connectivity before enabling the autostart of Z-Wave.
__________________
- Pete

Homeseer User
HS3 lite running on Xi3 Xi5A - Athlon x64 clocked at 1.8 ghz, 2Gb RAM and 32Gb SSD
HS3 Pro running on
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 4 cores / 16Gb of RAM
Testing HS3 Lite on Pine64A/2Gb-
ARM Cortex A53 CPU, running at 1.2GHz 64 bit.quad-core - Ubuntu 1604 64 bit
HS3 Version 3.0.0.291 (Linux)
HS3 Touch server Version 3.0.0.94 (Linux)




Last edited by Pete; May 12th, 2017 at 09:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 11th, 2017, 01:14 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 5,833
Thumbs up

Nice Pete! Very timely too...

At work, I have a small test bench that I tinker around during lunch and I have an RPi3 and am testing a 1-Wire solution.
I am using these since they already have the pullup resistors installed:

Name:  screenshot.png
Views: 54
Size:  199.6 KB

The nice thing about these is that they are tiny.
I bent the pins at 90deg to make mounting them easier.
I invested in a pin kit which will make connecting everything together easy - I will have plugs in case I need to disconnect:

Name:  screenshpt.png
Views: 52
Size:  237.7 KB

Everything is on the test bench now and I plan to install the sensors in 2 refrigerators and 1 freezer. That will be a total of 5 sensors monitoring and reporting back to HS.

Neat stuff!
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
59 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via HAI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, HAI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler

Last edited by rmasonjr; May 11th, 2017 at 01:14 PM. Reason: words
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 11th, 2017, 01:37 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
This is a bit similar to using an Arduino except that you can multitask the RPi a bit more than the Arduino.

I like that pin kit in the box thing. The last bunch of pins / receptacles I purchased came in one plastic bag. I do utilize those little fishing mini boxes today for small parts (well and baby food jars from many many years ago).

I have seen the 9097 USB 1-Wire devices on Ebay for around $9.00.

If you want to utilize the RPI GPIO ports and a pull up resistor you can connect the 1-wire temperature sensor directly to the RPi GPIO ports as Rob mentions above. And doing some bit banging sort of similiar to the installation of a GPIO RTC.

Well too I have a stamp sized RTC combo 1-Wire sensor device the size of the coin batter.

IE: Test RPi2 here runs Z-Wave, (X10), (UPB) and the DigiTemp program on Jessie Lite.

You can do 1-wire counters with Digi temp such that I am moving my 1-wire lightning sensor from the old Temp-08 to the RPi2 9097 / Digitemp stuff.

Another thing you can do is remote run the cron job from the mothership with your VB script such that it's an all in one script (that you wrote Rob).

Many folks using 1-wire over the years have just crimped on the temperature sensor wires to the end of an RJ-11 and used a single wall plate RJ11 phone style wall plate.

Last edited by Pete; May 12th, 2017 at 12:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 11th, 2017, 09:08 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
@Rob,

Would it be OK with you to post your temperature / humidity read VB script above?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 11th, 2017, 09:50 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 5,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
@Rob,

Would it be OK with you to post your temperature / humidity read VB script above?
Absolutely!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 12th, 2017, 05:19 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
Starting here to put the second floor on the RPi2 Digitemp 1-Wire network. I had individual cat5e runs per sensor going to the basement arrange in a star topology from years ago connecting to two Temp-08s, one Temp-05 and one 9097 USB device.

I have some old small footprint AAG combo humidity and temperature sensors (TAI 8540A) that work fine with two wires and do not need any supply voltage. These have worked fine since the late 1990's. They are tiny circular devices maybe 3/4" in diameter. Newer HB and Mideon combos did need a supply voltage.

First generation Midon combo sensors worked with and without a supply voltage (for me they worked better with a supply voltage). HB combo sensors needed a supply voltage.

The available combo 1-Wire sensors (except for the ones from the UK) are around the same price today as the combo HAI sensors (which I use too).

Last edited by Pete; May 12th, 2017 at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 13th, 2017, 02:14 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
BTW read somewhere that using the RPi GPIO ports and bit banging is different than the old 1-wire standard invented by Maxim technologies.

DigiTemp is a simple to use program for reading values from 1-wire devices. Its main use is for reading temperature sensors, but it also reads counters, and understands the 1-wire hubs with devices on different branches of the network. DigiTemp now supports the following 1-wire temperature sensors: DS18S20 (and DS1820), DS18B20, DS1822, the DS2438 Smart Battery Monitor, DS2422 and DS2423 Counters, DS2409 MicroLAN Coupler (used in 1-wire hubs), and the AAG TAI-8540 humidity sensor.

I was able to read the temperature sensor on the RTC that I was adding to my micro router by using the same bit banging I used for the clock stuff (and GPIO in and out pins).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 15th, 2017, 12:27 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
Started to add sensors to the 1-Wire network on the second floor. Initially added 4 and that made it difficult to edit the script so adding one at a time now. Using the old AAG combo sensors.

As these are short runs will not need to add a supply voltage. I am configuring these in series. Old old setup was a star configuration.

The attached picture shows one HAI combo sensor in the study. Humidity reading is kind of high as I do not think that the humidity level is 49%.

Name:  1-Wire.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  34.9 KB

Just noticed the above utilized VB script while doing a clip and past posted only 1/2 of it. Will fix.

Last edited by Pete; May 15th, 2017 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 16th, 2017, 03:11 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
$1.57 (Ebay with free shipping) PL2303TA USB TTL to RS232 Converter Serial Cable used for 1-wire.

From Martybugs dot net.

Note that using Digitemp will allow for multiple types of 1-Wire devices.

I have been using USB-to-serial adapters that use the PL2303TA chipset, as they are apparently known to work fine in Windows XP/Vista/7/8, MacOS X and Linux (the PL2303HX chipset doesn't work under Windows 8, but the PL2303TA chipset does).

They emulate a the DS9097 1-wire adapter, and work well for interfacing to 1-wire devices (behaving exactly the same as the serial port interface circuit).

I bought mine on eBay for USD$14 (approx AUD$18) including shipping, but have since found the same adapter on eBay for as little as USD$2 including shipping (approx AUD$2.60).
Search for "PL2303TA" on eBay to these adapters.

The same adapter is also available from adafruit.com for USD$9.95 plus shipping (see here).





Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 17th, 2017, 07:54 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
Adding a 4th combo temperature / humidity sensor this morning. It is basically three steps. The new one is next to the HAI combo sensor. Temps are similiar to the 1-wire sensor but humidity levels are way different. Pushing on the parasitic network here (2-wires only). Here is an old quote. This network is different as old 1-wire network was a star / cat5e with runs from 2nd floor to basement. This one is short runs in attic.

Apparently the wiring between the circuitry and the temperature sensor(s) can be extended up to 100 metres in parasitic mode. For distances greater than this, you cannot use the sensor in parasitic mode, but you will need to provide power to the VDD pin of the temperature sensor.

Running the sensor in parasitic mode reduces the maximum temperature it can report from 125 degrees Celcius to approximately 70-75 degrees Celcius, but this should be ample for most applications.

I have had issues with the parasitic mode circuit working intermittently, or failing to work at all in the serial port of some Dell laptops (Dell Latitude D610) and Dell servers (various Dell PowerEdge models). I suspect this is due to the serial port providing a lower voltage and/or insufficient current for the DS18S20 in parasitic mode.


1 - added the 1-wire combo - connecting two wires to the current configuration. Note that I am not doing a star configuration. It is just two wires to first sensor, then from this sensor to the next sensor and so forth.

2 - SSH to the RPi2 and run the following command to see the new sensor and to configure digitemp.

digitemp -i -s /dev/ttyUSB0 -q -c /etc/digitemp.conf

Results from above are:

28CFD8F4020000F5 : DS18B20 Temperature Sensor
268CC814000000DC : DS2438 Temperature, A/D Battery Monitor
26993AF50000008F : DS2438 Temperature, A/D Battery Monitor
263B3AF5000000BD : DS2438 Temperature, A/D Battery Monitor
ROM #0 : 28CFD8F4020000F5
ROM #1 : 268CC814000000DC
ROM #2 : 26993AF50000008F
ROM #3 : 263B3AF5000000BD

3 - SSH to the RPi2 and run the following command to see the temperature and humidity level of the 4th sensor. Querying sensor.

digitemp -a -q -c /etc/digitemp.conf

May 17 06:46:13 Sensor 0 C: 22.44 F: 72.39
May 17 06:46:14 Sensor 1 C: 21.47 F: 70.64 H: 37%
May 17 06:46:15 Sensor 2 C: 23.06 F: 73.51 H: 36%
May 17 06:46:16 Sensor 3 C: 22.47 F: 72.44 H: 35%

4 - editing Rob's 1-wire VB script to include 4th sensor temperature / humidity level.

Just edit these two sections:

Section 1
Code:
 dim sensor0_Temp_Ref as Integer = 260       'use your own device references
   '' New Bathroom combo sensor
   dim sensor1_Temp_Ref as Integer = 1529
   dim sensor1_Humid_Ref as Integer = 1530
   '' Hallway combo sensor - end one
   dim sensor2_Temp_Ref as Integer = 261
   dim sensor2_Humid_Ref as Integer = 262
================================current ^^^^
================================adding new sensor vvvvv
'' Study combo sensor - end one
   dim sensor3_Temp_Ref as Integer = XXXX (you get this number when you add variable)
   dim sensor3_Humid_Ref as Integer = XXXX (you get this number when you add variable)
Section 2

Code:
'' Bathroom combo add
                        case 2
                        hs.setDeviceValueByRef(sensor2_Temp_Ref,FTemp,True)     ''change to CTemp if you wa$
                        hs.setDeviceLastChange(sensor2_Temp_Ref,Now())
                        hs.setDeviceString(sensor2_Temp_Ref,FTemp & " °F",False)
                        if(humid>1) then
                                hs.setDeviceValueByRef(sensor2_Humid_Ref,humid,True)    ''change to CTemp i$
                                hs.setDeviceLastChange(sensor2_Humid_Ref,Now())
                                hs.setDeviceString(sensor2_Humid_Ref,humid & "% RH",False)

                        end if
================================current ^^^^
================================adding new sensor vvvvv

Code:
'' Bathroom combo add
                        case 2
                        hs.setDeviceValueByRef(sensor2_Temp_Ref,FTemp,True)     ''change to CTemp if you wa$
                        hs.setDeviceLastChange(sensor2_Temp_Ref,Now())
                        hs.setDeviceString(sensor2_Temp_Ref,FTemp & " °F",False)
                        if(humid>1) then
                                hs.setDeviceValueByRef(sensor2_Humid_Ref,humid,True)    ''change to CTemp i$
                                hs.setDeviceLastChange(sensor2_Humid_Ref,Now())
                                hs.setDeviceString(sensor2_Humid_Ref,humid & "% RH",False)                      
'' Study combo add
                        case 3
                        hs.setDeviceValueByRef(sensor3_Temp_Ref,FTemp,True)     ''change to CTemp if you wa$
                        hs.setDeviceLastChange(sensor3_Temp_Ref,Now())
                        hs.setDeviceString(sensor3_Temp_Ref,FTemp & " °F",False)
                        if(humid>1) then
                                hs.setDeviceValueByRef(sensor3_Humid_Ref,humid,True)    ''change to CTemp i$
                                hs.setDeviceLastChange(sensor3_Humid_Ref,Now())
                                hs.setDeviceString(sensor3_Humid_Ref,humid & "% RH",False)

                        end if
Note that the DigiTemp reads are local to the 1-Wire RPi2 using a cron job. You can change this and run it remotely with the VB script from the mothership Homeseer device using remote login SSH a script which can run autonomously or inside of the current script.

5 - adding Temperature and Humidity variables to Homeseer

a - add temperature sensor and call it whatever you want. Make it a status only device. Look at the advanced properties and write down the reference ID number.
change the icon image.
b - add humidity sensor and call it whatever you want. Make it a status only device. Look at the advanced properties and write down the reference ID number.
c - test run the script afterwards and look at the logging to make sure you have no typos.

Homeseer variables before add of new sensor:

Name:  beforeadd.jpg
Views: 21
Size:  38.2 KB

Homeseer variables after add of new sensor:

Name:  studytempadd.jpg
Views: 22
Size:  50.8 KB

Note here that the last device only has two connections and not a pass through. This one will be connected to an old style telephone wire splitter for the next device which is identical.

Here is the logic and a drawing of what I am doing at this time.

9097USB ==> 2 1-wire connections
1 - one 1-wire temperature sensor probe
2 - one 1-wire pair of wires going to an RJ-11 connector
====>
RJ-11 connector going to
First combo sensor ===> in and out to ===>
second combo sensor ===> telephone splitter ===>
third combo sensor ===> terminated here
forth combo sensor ===> terminated here

Last edited by Pete; May 17th, 2017 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 19th, 2017, 08:57 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
Adding another combo Temperature / humidity sensor today.

Changing the 10,000 foot view now of my home automation (in baby steps).

Automation will be monitored and used by the room.

Rooms now will include:

1 - environmental sensors (wired temps, wired PIR's, et al)
2 - consoles (touchscreens) or anything connected to the network.
3 - automated electric (wall switches, lamp modules, et al).

Issue here is with the OP2 panel keypads and legacy serial Omnitouch screens. Guessing maybe could monitor supply voltage of 12VDC.

With the add here now labeling the sensors with the last 3-4 digits of the ROM number as I am losing track a bit. This is though what i would do with the use of the Temp08 device.

28CFD8F4020000F5 : DS18B20 Temperature Sensor - attic
268CC814000000DC : DS2438 Temperature, A/D Battery Monitor - master bathroom
26993AF50000008F : DS2438 Temperature, A/D Battery Monitor - hallway
26B3CA1400000096 : DS2438 Temperature, A/D Battery Monitor - study or master bedroom
263B3AF5000000BD : DS2438 Temperature, A/D Battery Monitor - study or master bedroom

ROM #0 : 28CFD8F4020000F5
ROM #1 : 268CC814000000DC
ROM #2 : 26993AF50000008F
ROM #3 : 26B3CA1400000096
ROM #4 : 263B3AF5000000BD

Sensors 96 / BD are from a one to two split of hallway sensor and each are end runs so I am switching the office sensor and the master bedrooms sensor as I have already adjusted the Homeseer VB script such that the 4th sensor is the study.

root@ICS-ZNet:/opt/digitemp# digitemp -a -q -c /etc/digitemp.conf
May 19 09:45:55 Sensor 0 C: 14.81 F: 58.66
May 19 09:45:56 Sensor 1 C: 20.72 F: 69.29 H: 46%
May 19 09:45:57 Sensor 2 C: 20.53 F: 68.96 H: 46%
May 19 09:45:57 Sensor 3 C: 21.22 F: 70.19 H: 44%
May 19 09:45:58 Sensor 4 C: 20.75 F: 69.35 H: 44%

So first changed the name of the Study sensor to master bedroom sensor in Homeseer. Then will add new sensor to VB script.

Name:  1-wireNew.jpg
Views: 15
Size:  47.4 KB

Modified Rob's script to include sensor #4 and ROM #'s.

Name:  1-wireNewb.jpg
Views: 14
Size:  61.1 KB

Last edited by Pete; May 19th, 2017 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 19th, 2017, 05:04 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
The HAI combo sensor sitting next to the 1-wire combo sensor still reads a different temperature and humidity level.

Found out you can adjust the device.

For temperature calibration:

The temperature sensor in the Model 31A00-8 is shipped from the factory adjusted to its optimal setting. If however, the temperature reading seems to differ from the ambient temperature, you may adjust the output of the Model 31A00-8 to compensate for the difference. The current temperature output may be raised between 1° F and 4° F or lowered between 1° F and 5° F.

To make an adjustment, use the rotary switch labeled “Temp Adjust”. Place a small screwdriver in the slot on the rotary switch and turn it to the appropriate setting 0-9.

By default, the rotary switch is set to “0” which means no change. A setting from 1-4 will adjust the current temperature by +1° F
through +4° F, respectively. A setting from 5-9 will adjust the current temperature by -5° F through -1° F, respectively.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Yesterday, 08:08 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 12,962
The models of HAI combo temperature and humidity sensors I have cannot be adjusted. Well too my Omnistat2 temperature setting is also 2 degrees off.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Ademco remote (5834-4) as Kwikset door remote LeoS Vista Alarm Plug-in (3P) 2 July 19th, 2013 04:23 PM
1-wire? GadgetBoySI Jon00's plugins and scripts 1 January 19th, 2013 01:32 PM
failure in script for Dallas 9097 adapter Jimboat HomeSeer General Discussion Area 2 August 17th, 2008 06:33 PM
2 wire - 3 Wire sonix PLCBUS Connector 0 August 24th, 2007 09:46 AM
1-wire hub gcyeaw MCS Temperature 16 May 11th, 2006 01:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC