www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > Highpeak Plug-Ins > Blue Iris Plug-In

Blue Iris Plug-In Forum for discussions related to the Blue Iris Plug-In by Highpeak Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 27th, 2017, 10:23 AM
CeeTee's Avatar
CeeTee CeeTee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 219
Question BI PI Disappeared on update to 3.1.1.24385

A couple of days ago I triggered the update to 3.1.1.24385 from a previous (recent) version and after confirming a successful install the BI PI no longer appears in the Manage PI list, nor does it appear in the PI drop down list.

I tried re-installing a couple of times and still get the successful install message but no PI.

I noticed a forum thread regarding a .DLL file issue but am unclear as to whether this is my problem. If it is, could someone summarize the proper fix?

Also, this error appeared once when I first updated: (2) Unable to initialize interface Blue-Iris :Either no license or trial has expired ...and yes I have a license.

Here's my current setup:
Current Date/Time: 9/27/2017 10:15:40 AM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.368
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional - Work Station
System Uptime: 1 Day 12 Hours 1 Minute 4 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.2.111
Number of Devices: 471
Number of Events: 148
Available Threads: 400

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.2.0.5: APCUPSD
2.0.58.0: BLDSC
2.0.11.0: BLiTunes
2.0.3.0: BLMarantz
1.0.3.0: BLShutdown
1.2.0.0: Device History
3.0.1.10: HCS2
3.0.6.0: Insteon
3.0.1.90: PHLocation
3.0.0.73: weatherXML
3.0.1.130: Z-Wave

Thanks for any help!
__________________
Regards,
Chris

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368/ Shuttle XS36VL Atom PC - Win 7 Pro 32 / HCSII / Insteon / Z-Wave & SmartStick+ / DSC 1832 - PC5108 - IT100
Plug-Ins: APCUPSD / BLDSC / BLiTunes / BlueIris / BLMarantz / BLShutdown / Device History / HCS2 / HSTouch / Insteon / Jon00 Network Monitor / Jon00 DB Charting / PHLocation / WeatherXML / Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 27th, 2017, 10:32 AM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,658
Sometime HS3 gets it’s panties in a bunch about the license file. I’ve had it with a number of plugins. Can you try:

1 disable the plugin
2 restart HS3
3 re-install the plugin from the updater
4 start the plugin

Let me know if that works, if not we may need to get in touch with HST for some help.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Author of Highpeak Plugins
SMS-Gateway Plugin
Blue Iris Plugin
Paradox (Beta) Plugin
Modbus Plugin
Yamaha Plugin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 27th, 2017, 11:01 AM
CeeTee's Avatar
CeeTee CeeTee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerygaz View Post
Sometime HS3 gets it’s panties in a bunch about the license file. I’ve had it with a number of plugins. Can you try:

1 disable the plugin
2 restart HS3
3 re-install the plugin from the updater
4 start the plugin
I cannot disable (or enable) the BI PI because it no longer appears as an installed PI ...even though subsequent reinstalls confirm success. I don't think the problem is really related to the license file.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 27th, 2017, 11:07 AM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,658
Is there an HSPI_BI.EXE file in the HS3 root folder?

Are you seeing any other BI plugin related errors in the HS3 log other than the license/trial expired issue?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 27th, 2017, 11:16 AM
CeeTee's Avatar
CeeTee CeeTee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerygaz View Post
Is there an HSPI_BI.EXE file in the HS3 root folder?

Are you seeing any other BI plugin related errors in the HS3 log other than the license/trial expired issue?
k
Yes, HSPI_BI.EXE (date 9/20/17) is there but not running. If I try to start it I get a DOS dialogue box error saying "Object reference not set to an instance of an object" and shuts down.

No, no other BI related errors since the time I did the update (9/25/17) probably because it hasn't run at all since the update.

UPDATE: I just did another restart a moment ago and all of sudden the BI PI suddenly reappeared fully licensed! Weird but can't figure out what might have caused this.

Last edited by CeeTee; September 27th, 2017 at 11:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 27th, 2017, 01:09 PM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,658
I'm able to re-create the problem, I'm looking into a fix for you now.

-- Edit --

I was only able to re-create the problem when the plugin license had expired. Once I re-licensed the plugin it came back working fine.

I think your issue was similar, that the license file somehow was an issue and the restart allowed HS3 to re-check the licensing and confirm you have a licensed version. As I said earlier, I've had this issue before with HS3 getting confused about whether a PI is licensed or not and a re-start has solved it (or in one case, I had to restore the license file form a backup)

Either way, I'm glad it's working again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 27th, 2017, 02:48 PM
CeeTee's Avatar
CeeTee CeeTee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerygaz View Post

I think your issue was similar, that the license file somehow was an issue and the restart allowed HS3 to re-check the licensing and confirm you have a licensed version. As I said earlier, I've had this issue before with HS3 getting confused about whether a PI is licensed or not and a re-start has solved it (or in one case, I had to restore the license file form a backup)

Either way, I'm glad it's working again.
Your diagnostic makes perfect sense. I forgot to mention that a few moments before updating the BI PI I had updated HS3 to the current version and it has happened before that it "forgets" all licenses.

Thanks for the quick responses!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motion Disappeared footVOL HSM200™ Multi-Sensor 0 February 16th, 2015 10:46 PM
Zee disappeared from network cd-card-biz HomeTroller Zee 3 December 2nd, 2013 09:31 PM
All Events just disappeared. zimmer62 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 4 May 4th, 2005 08:59 PM
Devtypes.cfg disappeared??? roadrashrob HomeSeer General Discussion Area 5 March 11th, 2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC