www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > Blade Plug-Ins > BLiTunes (3P)

BLiTunes (3P) Discussion of BLiTunes plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 27th, 2017, 02:59 PM
CeeTee's Avatar
CeeTee CeeTee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 219
BLiTunes - new startup error

A couple of day ago:
- I updated iTunes to the latest version 12.7;
- Next, on Win 7 Pro restart, HS3 was updated to current version 0.368

I now get the following error on HS3 startup:
This exception was caught during initialization: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.

Other than for this error, the PI works, iTunes starts up properly on HS3 start and HS3 controls iTunes as it should.

Anyone else see this?

Here's my setup:
Current Date/Time: 9/27/2017 2:57:36 PM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.368
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional - Work Station
System Uptime: 0 Days 3 Hours 33 Minutes 35 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.2.111
Number of Devices: 471
Number of Events: 146
Available Threads: 400

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.2.0.5: APCUPSD
2.0.58.0: BLDSC
2.0.11.0: BLiTunes
2.0.3.0: BLMarantz
1.0.3.0: BLShutdown
3.1.1.24385: Blue-Iris
1.2.0.0: Device History
3.0.1.10: HCS2
3.0.6.0: Insteon
3.0.1.90: PHLocation
3.0.0.73: weatherXML
3.0.1.130: Z-Wave
__________________
Regards,
Chris

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368/ Shuttle XS36VL Atom PC - Win 7 Pro 32 / HCSII / Insteon / Z-Wave & SmartStick+ / DSC 1832 - PC5108 - IT100
Plug-Ins: APCUPSD / BLDSC / BLiTunes / BlueIris / BLMarantz / BLShutdown / Device History / HCS2 / HSTouch / Insteon / Jon00 Network Monitor / Jon00 DB Charting / PHLocation / WeatherXML / Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 28th, 2017, 07:38 AM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,368
I will update iTunes on my development machine and try this and see if I see the same error.
__________________
Cheers,
Bob
Web site | Help Desk | Feature Requests | Message Board
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 1st, 2018, 01:55 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeTee View Post
A couple of day ago:
- I updated iTunes to the latest version 12.7;
- Next, on Win 7 Pro restart, HS3 was updated to current version 0.368

I now get the following error on HS3 startup:
This exception was caught during initialization: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
I am testing this plugin and have not yet been able to make it function.

I see this -

Name:  Capture.PNG
Views: 62
Size:  148.7 KB

Name:  BLITUNES ERROR.PNG
Views: 61
Size:  14.0 KB


Will keep at it - but thus far the options --> iTunes Library Status never goes past "Initializing". No other errors are apparent nor does it appear to be actually trying to initialize anything.


Current Date/Time: 1/1/2018 11:54:43 AM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.399
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Work Station
System Uptime: 0 Days 0 Hours 6 Minutes 34 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.70.127
Number of Devices: 405
Number of Events: 121
Available Threads: 400
HSTouch Enabled: True
Event Threads: 3
Event Trigger Eval Queue: 0
Event Trigger Priority Eval Queue: 0
Device Exec Queue: 0
HSTouch Event Queue: 0
Email Send Queue: 0
Anti Virus Installed: Windows Defender

Enabled Plug-Ins
2.0.49.0: BLBackup
2.0.11.0: BLiTunes
1.0.63.0: BLLED
2.0.66.0: BLSpeech
3.0.6331.36036: UltraCID3
3.0.6561.37908: UltraLog3
3.0.6551.16372: UltraM1G3
3.0.6554.33094: UltraMon3
3.0.6413.20219: UltraNetCam3
3.0.6358.20184: UltraRussoundAudio3
3.0.1.179: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 1st, 2018, 02:08 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 845
Update but it's still broken for the moment...

See attached debug.

I can make it play by manually manipulating the plugin's devices.

Cannot make it play a playlist via event.

BLiTunes-Detailed.zip
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 1st, 2018, 02:18 PM
CeeTee's Avatar
CeeTee CeeTee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monk View Post
I am testing this plugin and have not yet been able to make it function.

Will keep at it - but thus far the options --> iTunes Library Status never goes past "Initializing". No other errors are apparent nor does it appear to be actually trying to initialize anything.
Just as an update for Blade... I'm still getting the error I mentioned in September but iTunes is working fine just as before. The only times things get a little wonky is when iTunes has an update waiting to be installed.

Monk: Just for your info, my playlist is simply the stream of a local radio station. In the PI's option settings, library source I'm on Internet Radio. Did you see the note warning: Note: If you choose a shared library source, some functions of the plug-in will not function properly because iTunes does not allow shared library information to be altered. You also must run the Refresh iTunes Library button at the top of the page if you change the source.

I'm guessing you're on the most recent version of iTunes?

Happy New Year!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 1st, 2018, 03:12 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 845
Thanks CeeTee.

Update -
1. All Devices populate. I can manually play music. To include playlists.
2. No device updates on its own. I.E. playlists continue to display the first song throughout.
3. Trying to manually run an event which calls a playlist does not function.
4. No Device displays in HSTouch.
5. Plugin never finishes "Initializing" see graphic below.
iTunes version 12.7.2.60

Please see previous debug log for clues? I'm not smart enough..


Name:  initializing.PNG
Views: 32
Size:  3.0 KB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 1st, 2018, 03:54 PM
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 7,368
I just updated my itunes here and tried it out and I am seeing the same issue
I will need to figure out why this is happening
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 1st, 2018, 04:02 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
I just updated my itunes here and tried it out and I am seeing the same issue
I will need to figure out why this is happening
Thank you Blade - as information - I do think it involves the version of iTunes.
See the posts https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=191278

where I had been successfully using a different plugin - I believe my updating of iTunes from 12.6.2.20 --> 12.7.0.166 is where possibly the trouble began.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 1st, 2018, 04:17 PM
CeeTee's Avatar
CeeTee CeeTee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 219
Well that's the same update scenario I had gone through in September...from a 12.6 to one of the first 12.7's. (I'm now at 12.7.2.60 on Win 7 32)

Maybe the fact I'm not using a playlist library (like you Monk) meant that the only issue I ever saw was a boot-up error...which I still get at every re-start.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 06:27 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeTee View Post
Well that's the same update scenario I had gone through in September...from a 12.6 to one of the first 12.7's. (I'm now at 12.7.2.60 on Win 7 32)

Maybe the fact I'm not using a playlist library (like you Monk) meant that the only issue I ever saw was a boot-up error...which I still get at every re-start.
@CeeTee
Sounds reasonable.

The way I currently see it is there are only 2 iTunes plugins - neither work for me. There must not be a lot of call for iTunes & HomeSeer these days.

If I could figure out how to use the HomeSeer Event action "Play an Audio File" work to play a playlist, I'd just do that to get by.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Error: Startup.vb: could not find library 'Scheduler.dll' - Solution centerisland HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 12 January 2nd, 2017 09:57 AM
BliTunes with Echo tamoore1 BLiTunes (3P) 0 December 27th, 2016 12:36 AM
BLiTunes stopping unexpectedly CeeTee BLiTunes (3P) 0 February 7th, 2015 01:03 PM
BLiTunes 2.0.8 Blade BLiTunes (3P) 4 April 3rd, 2014 03:20 AM
BLiTunes for HS3 question xlucent BLiTunes (3P) 1 October 25th, 2013 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC