www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3/PRO Beta Releases

HS3/PRO Beta Releases Discussion area for the beta releases of HomeSeer HS3 and HS3PRO software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1461  
Old April 14th, 2018, 07:09 PM
MarkHargrove MarkHargrove is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 203
HS3 Won't Start after Ubuntu Update

After applying patches to my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS installation (which included an update of Mono to 5.10.1.20 from 5.10.0.160), my HS3 (beta 379) application will not longer start. The reported error is:


Apr 14 17:05:37 elms-hs3-01 mono[23212]: Error in startup: Could not resolve field token 0x04000abe, due to: Could not load type of field 'A.c8ca4444aa67e6a34abece120adc7d915:c148305f4c95cdd812e05b8 d31da0a7a7' (256) due to: Could not load file or assembly 'HomeSeerUtil, Version=3.0.0.1, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. assembly:HomeSeerUtil, Version=3.0.0.1, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null type:<unknown type> member: (null) signature:<none> assembly:/usr/local/hs3_379/Scheduler.dll type:c8ca4444aa67e6a34abece120adc7d915 member: (null) signature:<none>


I tried updating to beta 425 and that sort-of helps -- the startup error doesn't occur but pretty much none of my plugins work. I should note that I've tried to upgrade to a number of the intermediate betas (389, 423) and some or all of my plugins fail with any version I've tried beyond 379. I've been very busy with work stuff the last few months and really don't have time to do my usual fiddling to find out what might be going on.

If anybody has any clues I'd appreciate a steer in the right direction.

-M.
__________________
Mark Hargrove
Longmont, CO
Reply With Quote
  #1462  
Old April 14th, 2018, 07:46 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,959
Not sure what to write here other than running HS3 Pro and Lite V425 on Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit on an Intel CPU and ARM CPU currently release of Mono.

I have been doing Ubuntu updates about once a week and Homeseer 3 updates to every beta posted. Also been updating all plugins when seen in updater.

If I have seen an issue relating to start up of Homeseer I downgrade to previous version of Homeseer 3 (I copy the Homeseer directory before upgrading Homeseer to fall back on). I have not downgraded any new beta version cuz I have had no issues.

Arm HS3 Lite
HomeSeer Version: HS3 ZEE S2 Edition 3.0.0.425 (Linux)
ICS-Pine64:~# lsb_release -a
LSB Version: core-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-arm64:core-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-noarch:security-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-arm64:security-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-noarch
Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description: Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
Release: 16.04
Codename: xenial

mono -V
Mono JIT compiler version 5.10.1.20 (tarball Thu Mar 29 11:46:17 UTC 2018)
Copyright (C) 2002-2014 Novell, Inc, Xamarin Inc and Contributors. www.mono-project.com
TLS: __thread
SIGSEGV: normal
Notifications: epoll
Architecture: arm64
Disabled: none
Misc: softdebug
Interpreter: yes
LLVM: supported, not enabled.
GC: sgen (concurrent by default)


Intel HS3 Pro
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.425 (Linux)
HS3Pro:~# lsb_release -a
LSB Version: core-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-amd64:core-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-noarch:security-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-amd64:security-9.20160110ubuntu0.2-noarch
Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description: Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
Release: 16.04
Codename: xenial

HS3Pro:~# mono -V
Mono JIT compiler version 5.10.1.20 (tarball Thu Mar 29 10:44:58 UTC 2018)
Copyright (C) 2002-2014 Novell, Inc, Xamarin Inc and Contributors. www.mono-project.com
TLS: __thread
SIGSEGV: altstack
Notifications: epoll
Architecture: amd64
Disabled: none
Misc: softdebug
Interpreter: yes
LLVM: supported, not enabled.
GC: sgen (concurrent by default)

I am not aware of any recent beta Homeseer 3 changes that relate to specific mono versions.

That said there is a bug in mono (guesstimate) relating to using aspx pages in Homeseer such that a few folks have downgraded their mono versions to run aspx page.

Personally this is an issue with mono versus Homeseer and someone should open a new Mono bug report relating to said issue.
__________________
- Pete

Automator


Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets)

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.435 | HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins

HS3 Plugins - a bunch
Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee
Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo
Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2
Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick
Firewall - PFSense
CCTV - Zoneminder

Audio - Russound - AB8SS


Last edited by Pete; April 14th, 2018 at 07:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1463  
Old April 14th, 2018, 08:51 PM
MarkHargrove MarkHargrove is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 203
Pete,

Thanks -- that's exactly what I'm running. Er, well, trying to run. I'm starting to dig in and see what's actually going on. It's confusing to me right now. I did a clean installation on another box (an Intel i7 NUC running Ubuntu 16.04 with Mono 5.10.1.20) and I immediately get the same mono error (...Could not load file or assembly HomeSeerUtil, Version=3.0.0.1, etc.).

Probably unrelated: what's with this new "RecoveryInstall.sh" thing? It installs a bunch of stuff I've never installed before and even manipulates the sudoers file -- that's pretty much unacceptable.

-M.
Reply With Quote
  #1464  
Old April 14th, 2018, 09:31 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,959
Guessing when you installed mono-complete (or dev) you also installed mono-vbnc afterward eh?

what's with this new "RecoveryInstall.sh" thing?

I have never used it and never paid attention to the file as I have my own DR configuration that works just fine for me.

It's always been there as far as I can remember. Check on some old archives and see it there.
Reply With Quote
  #1465  
Old April 14th, 2018, 10:49 PM
MarkHargrove MarkHargrove is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 203
Yes, mono-vbnc was installed after installing mono-complete.

I'll have some time tomorrow to dive in and see what's wrong.

-M.
Reply With Quote
  #1466  
Old April 14th, 2018, 11:42 PM
MarkHargrove MarkHargrove is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 203
My Ubuntu VM that I've been using to run HS3 still dies when I try to start beta 379 (which I've been using for months), but starts successfully if I start 425. I was having issues with many plugins, but deleting them and reinstalling them fixed whatever the issue was.

Now that said, I'm trying to build a standalone HS3 box on an Intel NUC running exactly the same OS distro, same installation of mono, and same 425 HS3 installation -- and it won't start (it immediately dies with a mono error when it tries to load the Scheduler.dll assembly).

Not sure what that's all about. I may just rebuild that box from scratch.

-M.
Reply With Quote
  #1467  
Old April 15th, 2018, 12:55 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,959
I may just rebuild that box from scratch.

Really quick these days to do that.

Update / Upgrade, reboot and Update / Upgrade again then autoremove the leftovers.

Here started with Ubuntu 14.04. Then upgraded to Ubuntu 16.04 and now considering upgrading to current release of Ubuntu 17.10.
Reply With Quote
  #1468  
Old April 15th, 2018, 11:26 PM
Jobee Jobee is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
Build 3.0.0.425 has been released:

https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=176440
I updated to 425 today and it keeps crashing. Not sure what to look at to find what is causing it. I'm gonna try to disable all the plugins and do them one by one to see if it is a plug in causing it.

Windows Server 2012R2

Anyone else having trouble?

Michael
__________________
HS3Pro on Win2012R2
Aeotec, Cooper, Cree, GE/Jasco, Intermatic, LIFX, Fortrezz, OSRAM, RCS, Trane, Zooz
BLBackup, BLGData, BLRussound, BLSpeech, HSTouch, InvisaLink, HSBuddy, IFTTT, NetCAM, PHLocation, Pushover 3P, Random, UltraLighting3, weatherXML, ZigBee, Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #1469  
Old April 16th, 2018, 09:15 AM
cerjzc cerjzc is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 381
Yes Jobee check the thread for .425. There are several people getting crashes currently although .423 ran fine for me.

https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=195145


Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussions related to HS3 build 3.0.0.368 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 531 December 15th, 2017 11:20 PM
Discussions related to HS3 build 3.0.0.362 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 92 September 25th, 2017 08:45 PM
Discussions related to HS3 build 3.0.0.357 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 196 September 25th, 2017 06:27 PM
Discussions related to HomeSeer Beta 3.0.0.332->356 rjh HS3/PRO Beta Releases 431 September 19th, 2017 03:35 PM
Discussions related to HS3 Build 3.0.0.312 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 192 June 30th, 2017 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC