This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First step

I'm totally new to Skype connector. I've installed it and read the short documentation but some basic questions are not clear to me.
    As a test I've set up a simple manual event to send a skype message to myself.
    I can see from the log that the message is being sent but I'm not receiving anything on Skype which is probably not strange since I have not included Homeseer on my contact list.
    Do I need to make changes to my Skype settings in order to receive calls from Homeseer. If so could you tell me what I need to do.
    Also I can see from the log the following message every 60 seconds or so "Connecting to Skype client". Is this normal ?
    Thank you

Also I can see from the log the following message every 60 seconds or so "Connecting to Skype client". Is this normal ?
    No this is not normal at all. This means there is no communication between the plugin and the Skype Client. This might be because of authorisation issues.

1) First step is to run the Skype Client in the same windows session as the HomeSeer application. It's better to logon to Skype with a Skype account dedicated to HomeSeer.

2) Using the same or another Skype client, add the HomeSeer account as a contact. You should be able to communicate between your own Skype account and the HomeSeer Skype account.

3) Start HomeSeer, and when the plugin initializes, watch the Skype Client for authorisation. There should be a message such as "The HomeSeer.exe program wants to use Skype, do you agree ?"

4) If you missed the message, you might go to Skype menu: Tools/Options/Advanced, and at the bottom of the page there is an option to manage external program access to Skype. Then restart HomeSeer.

5) If you still get the "Connecting to Skype Client" message every 60 seconds, try to restart HomeSeer again. Then it should be ok.
    --
    stipus

Comment