www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Audio / Video and Infra-red (IR) Plug-ins > Audio / Video and Infra-red (IR) Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 02:06 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
HS Moving away from A/V?

I don't see a whole lot of activity in this part of the forums and makes me question if HS is moving away from A/V automation?

Global Cache products are no longer in the shop. HomeSeer isn't listed as an app on the GC website

Square connect is gone.

Very little activity in forums.

I'm wondering this because I'm looking to build out my A/V at home and I posted in the main forum section and got no replies either.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 02:22 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,711
I can only speak for myself... I don't envision HS as a control option for my AV. I use Harmony remotes for control, then use the HS plug-in and events to act on other devices in the house. I do not use HomeSeer to interface directly with A/V, but I do use Echo voice commands to launch Harmony activities.

If we watch DirecTV, watch movies off of our server, listen to music, etc. we launch the activity from the Harmony remote. Echo works directly with Son os as do the Harmony remotes. Launching any Harmony activity can also trigger an HS event to control lighting, thermostats, shades or anything else we desire.

If I wanted to have a single point of communication, a tablet with a custom HSTouch project might be something we would use, but a Harmony remote and a remotec remote in each room does everything we need and has a smaller footprint. Additionally, other members of the household are happy with (read DO NOT CHANGE) the Harmony remotes.

The HomeSeer GC plug-ins are in the Beta section.
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 02:23 PM
mrhappy mrhappy is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: W.Mids, UK
Posts: 7,291
I'd argue if HS was really ever into AV to start with, HS3 even removed the IR management facility that was in HS2. The offering has been a bit limited for a while. IR blasting from the likes of Square Connect, Global Cache (what was the blue box thing called again) can sometimes have limited mileage, need for discrete IR codes, issues re cabling the emitters, differing frequencies etc. Now the fact that you can have an ESP8266 with an IR led for virtually nothing (I have three on my TV's and they offer more than the UIRT ever did) means the market is probably less.

Even with control of your AV stuff I'd argue that the ability to select media and the like from HS has always been lacking, no great media integration with things like good quality movie browsers in HSTouch does not make for a seamless AV solution and as such less desire perhaps. I do think one thing that is missing is a seamless whole house video solution that can do media browsing /selection straight from HS.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 02:44 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
I have a whole rant going in another post in the main section.

But the basics are I want to figure out basic control functions to take actions on.

Basic Example:
Press PAUSE on the remote and HS turns on the lights
Press PLAY on the remote and HS turns off the lights

I'm using a Harmony Hub for activities which is ok... start/end of activity what about all the stuff in between that happens?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 02:45 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
I can only speak for myself... I don't envision HS as a control option for my AV. I use Harmony remotes for control, then use the HS plug-in and events to act on other devices in the house. I do not use HomeSeer to interface directly with A/V, but I do use Echo voice commands to launch Harmony activities.

If we watch DirecTV, watch movies off of our server, listen to music, etc. we launch the activity from the Harmony remote. Echo works directly with Son os as do the Harmony remotes. Launching any Harmony activity can also trigger an HS event to control lighting, thermostats, shades or anything else we desire.

If I wanted to have a single point of communication, a tablet with a custom HSTouch project might be something we would use, but a Harmony remote and a remotec remote in each room does everything we need and has a smaller footprint. Additionally, other members of the household are happy with (read DO NOT CHANGE) the Harmony remotes.

The HomeSeer GC plug-ins are in the Beta section.
I agree with this, but the one thing I really miss from the days when I was only using XBMC was that I could trigger lights when I paused/unpased.

So when watching a movie, as soon as it started playing, I could dim the lights, but bring them back up when the movie was over or was paused. Right now I can't do this. I'm not saying it's HSTs cross to bear either. The biggest issue is unless you only have 1 point of contact (PLEX or Kodi), you are limited by the service providers (HULU, Netflix, or Roku, Apple TV, etc) to offer you that access/control and they aren't likely to do it.

I don't think it's a widely wanted thing in the HA space, but for those that want it, it's almost up there with really good Occupancy detection.

For me, I could depend on PLEX integration, but when I watch a movie, I actually watch the BluRay and not the rip. The rips via PLEX are the for times when I want to watch it, but not really WATCH it in all it's glory.
__________________
Thanks,
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 03:12 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
I agree with this, but the one thing I really miss from the days when I was only using XBMC was that I could trigger lights when I paused/unpased.

So when watching a movie, as soon as it started playing, I could dim the lights, but bring them back up when the movie was over or was paused. Right now I can't do this. I'm not saying it's HSTs cross to bear either. The biggest issue is unless you only have 1 point of contact (PLEX or Kodi), you are limited by the service providers (HULU, Netflix, or Roku, Apple TV, etc) to offer you that access/control and they aren't likely to do it.

I don't think it's a widely wanted thing in the HA space, but for those that want it, it's almost up there with really good Occupancy detection.

For me, I could depend on PLEX integration, but when I watch a movie, I actually watch the BluRay and not the rip. The rips via PLEX are the for times when I want to watch it, but not really WATCH it in all it's glory.
I'm not done trying yet....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 03:13 PM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Accident MD 21520
Posts: 3,042
I have all of the HS stuff in tune with the states of WinAmp and MPC (pause, play, stop, etc.) so I know that's all easily doable. The real catch is that there are no media players for HS. They declined to port their media player plugin and I've never been able to get Blade's to work at all. They said they were going to make Pandora and Spotify plugins but that was years ago and it's been silent ever since. If you think about it, all of the really big names in home automation offer little outside of media. Crestron, C4, etc. all all about blue ray players, HDMI switching and the like. I don't get it at all. I wish someone would make a frig'n media plugin that worked. I want to control music through HSTouch!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
There is no rhyme or reason to the anarchy a defective Z-Wave device can cause
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 04:09 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by S-F View Post
I have all of the HS stuff in tune with the states of WinAmp and MPC (pause, play, stop, etc.) so I know that's all easily doable. The real catch is that there are no media players for HS. They declined to port their media player plugin and I've never been able to get Blade's to work at all. They said they were going to make Pandora and Spotify plugins but that was years ago and it's been silent ever since. If you think about it, all of the really big names in home automation offer little outside of media. Crestron, C4, etc. all all about blue ray players, HDMI switching and the like. I don't get it at all. I wish someone would make a frig'n media plugin that worked. I want to control music through HSTouch!
The media player part is what I'm toying with currently. There's nothing on the HTPC side to play things like Netflix or Amazon (except Allonis apparently has something with their myServer).

I initially thought of doing this with Harmony, but the harmony hub can interact with a PC but not at the same time with a Fire TV because of the Bluetooth remote. Or I can hobble together an IR receiver for the Fire TV. Maybe on the next go around with this

However... the Roku does have an IR receiver. If using the Roku remote to control the Roku if those signals can also be picked up by a receiver that feeds into HS. Then basic play/pause/skip/etc can be mapped to events. In theory atleast.

So I've dug out an old Roku and it still works... and I just ordered a Flirc to provide an IR receiver to my PC with HS. Lets see if I can capture the IR from the roku remote and make something happen.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 04:59 PM
Eman Eman is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
I agree with this, but the one thing I really miss from the days when I was only using XBMC was that I could trigger lights when I paused/unpased.

So when watching a movie, as soon as it started playing, I could dim the lights, but bring them back up when the movie was over or was paused. Right now I can't do this. I'm not saying it's HSTs cross to bear either. The biggest issue is unless you only have 1 point of contact (PLEX or Kodi), you are limited by the service providers (HULU, Netflix, or Roku, Apple TV, etc) to offer you that access/control and they aren't likely to do it.

I don't think it's a widely wanted thing in the HA space, but for those that want it, it's almost up there with really good Occupancy detection.

For me, I could depend on PLEX integration, but when I watch a movie, I actually watch the BluRay and not the rip. The rips via PLEX are the for times when I want to watch it, but not really WATCH it in all it's glory.

Am damn wright you can do all you said /want until the sun comes out.
Just ask how?

All the things you mentioned above are doable =====> To be continued................


Eman.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 05:54 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eman View Post
Am damn wright you can do all you said /want until the sun comes out.
Just ask how?

All the things you mentioned above are doable =====> To be continued................


Eman.
Hrmm... amusing

ok.. How?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 06:57 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
Next question in this thread...

Is there support for any IR extenders other than Global Cache?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 08:24 PM
Eman Eman is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
Hrmm... amusing

ok.. How?

Ok,

If you are really serious about your project and willing to spend some money on say, equipment you do not already have. ====> We come back on this later......
1. Can you break down your project in sections ===> Hulu, Netfrix......and the online content at the bottom of the list. Sorry this may be your first choice but lets move on for the sake of the topic ===>

2. I point it out to you that I don't develop software but utilise it maybe not to the max but am one those who love the connected world! ====> HomeSeer helps me a lot to do that ===> In systems it's the Master controller.
Then cometh the plugins of which I know do the greatest magic ===> Tasker plugin, MQTT plugin, Jeedom plugin ......etc.
Then there are software servers ====> Node-RED,MQTT.......you get the point?

3. As a teaser ====> I utilise the above say if I pick up my phone to call or receive a call, The Amp volume, wall tablet volume automatically (use it to play music and announcements) dialled down until on call end! ====>
That's just one example

4. You mentioned that you want viewing your movies on Blu-Ray player ====> Now here goes ===> Buy a network attached Blu-Ray player ===> Just searched that but there are other types.

Did I mention Node-RED and HomeSeer MQTT plugins? ====> Now check this node out : https://www.npmjs.com/package/node-r...rib-avr-yamaha ====> I don't know if you are starting to get the picture?

IR to me is a no more! I have my Global Cache GC-100-18 confined to storage!

The future is IoT (Tesla.........need we say more?) and is here to stay.

5. A friend of mine so may years ago taught me a trick on how to find what I wanted to do even if I thought it was difficult or near impossible ====>
Was not to ask him all the time about things but in GOOGLE ====>
Type in all sorts of questions about any topic of interest.

What does this mean? ====> Just because you have not seen it does not mean it can't be done.
Most of my time on the HomeSeer forums is / was about reading other people's work. In other words self taught. If I use a plugin and things get complicated I contact the author to direct me in the wright direction.

6. The way I came on this way was to highlight the point that your needs were not near impossible without doing good research.
HomeSeer data base is so huge that most of the questions people ask have been answered before and may still apply! ====> Type a topic of concern in Google and add in the word HomeSeer and see what you get.

Note : That's why the heavy weights here rarely answer questions!

7. I can go on and on until the sun come out..... but for a person who has used MQTT, Node-RED and HomeSeer as the Master controller can explain the images below..... Anything is possible!

TIP : Create a chart or a project book ===> lay out the things you want do in the order you want because no two homes / systems are alike.



Eman.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by Eman; April 24th, 2018 at 07:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 08:29 PM
kideon kideon is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: virginia
Posts: 822
are you integrating plex?

You should take the time and write up a case study on your setup and all of your specific integrations. It may offer inspiration. That esp32 ble scanner supports mqtt figure that one out and be a hero
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 08:32 PM
kideon kideon is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: virginia
Posts: 822
Doing a project book with write ups helped me out tremendously that is great advice - focus on the user experience first then develop
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 09:30 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
Well that's a rather LONG post to follow with a reply. Yet even after reading it many times I'm left with either making my own snarky response or just leaving it be. So I'm just going to leave it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 10:10 PM
mterry63 mterry63 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
Next question in this thread...

Is there support for any IR extenders other than Global Cache?
There is a 3rd party Adicon Ocelot plugin that supports their zoned IR module as well as the Ocelot IR, both recognition and transmit. I use the plugin and the developer is very responsive.

That equipment is old but rock solid.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old April 23rd, 2018, 10:15 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by mterry63 View Post
There is a 3rd party Adicon Ocelot plugin that supports their zoned IR module as well as the Ocelot IR, both recognition and transmit. I use the plugin and the developer is very responsive.

That equipment is old but rock solid.
Thanks for the info on Ocelot. I've seen the name but always in reference to relays and contacts I wasn't aware they also did IR.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old April 24th, 2018, 04:31 AM
billt billt is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 148
What you can take from Eman's post is that most things these days are controllable over your network and hence controllable by HS, with some work.

The only IR controlled device that I use is the projector, and that is controlled by a networked IR blaster (one of these https://www.keene.co.uk/infrared/ir-...le-single.html , but no doubt others are available).

I use HS to switch on the amp/projector/lower the screen and dim the lights, but I've found that media control is much better done with other software, mainly JRiver, but occasionally FireTV. HS used to have a JRiver plugin, but it was totally unusable for me, horrendously slow and never kept up with the pace of JRiver updates.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old April 24th, 2018, 05:38 AM
Eman Eman is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
Well that's a rather LONG post to follow with a reply. Yet even after reading it many times I'm left with either making my own snarky response or just leaving it be. So I'm just going to leave it.


Well,

Likewise here I know when to loose a fight!
Reminds me of this thread here : https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=194736

Tip : If you like a poster's work on the left click on their name then Find all posts by that name ===> Easy Searching HomeSeer forums)

Most of those who answers question are not HomeSeer employees but do it out of help and experience trying to save you time and money. Might as well try this link here : https://forums.homeseer.com/forumdisplay.php?f=990

Adventures : Now to cut a long post short ===> In my the pursuit for perfection before the days of the iPAD, I once spent $3500 including shipping on a


and its base controller the MSC-400 back in the days! ===> These have changed now ====>$$$$$

That was my biggest waste of money on automation ===> Didn't reseach (RF==> US / Canada)
Although I could use it, I could not easily connect it to HomeSeer! ===> Confined to my storage gathering dust!

............................. If Constellation for Kodi were ever to have it be connectable to Home Automation, would have solved my interest trying view and control my media and automation from one app. ====> But the developers are not interested. Now you could also try the likes of Crestron, Savant, Control 4 .......etc.



Eman.

Last edited by Eman; April 24th, 2018 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old April 24th, 2018, 12:19 PM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
So I've dug out an old Roku and it still works... and I just ordered a Flirc to provide an IR receiver to my PC with HS. Lets see if I can capture the IR from the roku remote and make something happen.
If your HS3 PC is running on Windows, this may help: https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=192955
__________________
Jon

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to another PC (and maybe moving back) aj84 HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 0 December 13th, 2017 06:19 PM
Help Moving to HS3 DSteiNeuro HS3/PRO Beta Releases 3 July 26th, 2015 01:19 AM
Moving to a new pc. stevene HS2 / HSPRO 17 October 15th, 2011 05:22 PM
Moving HS2 powerstroke1985 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 2 September 18th, 2010 11:32 PM
Moving! FrankieSatin General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 9 March 11th, 2004 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC