www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 22nd, 2006, 03:21 AM
completelyhis completelyhis is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,691
Trying to use virtual device as thermostat

HS has control over temp in all rooms via mcstemp, ocelot/secu16/DSC motion by cactsbob.

I'd like to create a virtual device for each room that can have a numeric value adjusted. i'd like it to have a plus/minus button, but the slider bar in Maestro may work. This numeric value will be the target temp in each room. i'd like to give some people some control over hotter/colder, ie, guests, wife, etc. I set up the virutal device as a light switch, but the dropdown dim values are in incriments of ten. I'm going to build events that read the value for the virtual tstat and work it into the logic...any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 22nd, 2006, 03:52 AM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,769
There is a scripting method which I think is DeviceValueAdd that allows you to add number/name pairs that appear in the HS device pulldown. You could add 10 values to this such as 60, 61,...69 that will be the target temperature. Reference the Help file for scripting method specifics.

mcsTemperature's DeviceAction will emulate a thermostat to control the temperature. This should simplify your control logic and all you need to do is provide it the setpoint. Look at the manual to set this up. Note that it is formatted for HS1 operation and HS2 removed the abilty to format the device actions and event triggers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 22nd, 2006, 07:24 PM
BrianG
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Would it be useful...

I always wondered whether it would be useful to ask the Homeseer folks to add a "temperature" device that would handle this function. I created an economy mode for my therm that based on a set temp (that I set with events now) runs the whole house fan.

Hmm...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC